We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Na Pali coast tour on the small boat!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Napali Raft Adventure by Holo Holo Charters

Napali Raft Adventure by Holo Holo Charters
Book In Advance
More Info
$129.00*
and up
Na Pali Sunset Dinner Cruise
Ranked #3 of 18 Tours in Hanalei
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Napali Raft AdventureDeparting out of Hanalei Bay, this is the most fun and efficient way to see the Napali coastline.Check in at Tahiti Nui Restaurant in Hanalei town. From there we shuttle you to the water, where you board a dinghy that takes you to your rigid-hull inflatable raft which is anchored just offshore in the famous Hanalei Bay and the adventure begins! The Napali Coast comes into view just minutes after leaving Hanalei Bay. The dramatic cliffs, caves, waterfalls, and white-sand beaches will have you in awe from the start. Your knowledgeable Captain and crew will share the history and legends of this enchanting area, which was once home to hundreds of Hawaiians.Along the way we will be looking for sea life, including dolphins, turtles, whales (in season), seabirds, and even mountain goats can often be spotted high up on the cliffs. Your Captain will anchor at one of several protected shallow reef areas that are teeming with tropical fish. We provide all of your snorkel gear and instruction so you can get the most out of your adventure.After snorkeling we will take some time to relax and enjoy the magnificent coastline. We provide a tasty sandwich lunch, with chips, soft drinks, juices, water, and cookies for dessert. When you have had your fill, we will make our way back to Hanalei Bay.Both Adventurer II & III are super-fast, modern, rigid-hull inflatable rafts. These comfortable vessels should not be confused with a Zodiac-type rubber raft, they’re made with channeled fiberglass hulls that cut through the waves. The efficient design and twin 225hp outboard motors allow for top speeds up to 30 knots.Both of our Napali rafts are fast and comfortable with forward facing padded seats. Dive ladders and fresh water showers offer the perfect platform for snorkeling. These vessels offer stadium-style, cushioned seating and even an enclosed marine toilet. They are designed for comfort as well as speed and safety.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Loved the Na Pali coast tour on the small boat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Dodging in and out of caves? Hugging the coast as you speed along? What could be better. We really enjoyed our tour with them! A ton of fun!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KG702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kit F, Guest Relations Manager at Napali Raft Adventure by Holo Holo Charters, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thanks for sharing your thoughts, sounds like you had a fun and memorable trip! Thanks for joining us, hope you can visit us again soon! Mahalo and aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    29
    5
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
So CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Only with good weather”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Sometimes the charters fill quickly and as soon as you book, you can't cancel. Do yourself a BIG Favor and check the weather leading up to and on the day you are going. They go out on rainy days and when you get to the snorkel location they may tell you that the tide is too high to anchor and you have just spent a lot of money for a very choppy boat ride.( With people who are on the boat throwing up).
The company, hotel activities directors, vans, caterers all have an investment in filling the boats and I don't really think they care if you have a great trip or not. There job is to take you there.
It is up to you to find a clear sky, low surf, sunny day to go and on a good day. I would rate it 5 stars for an amazing trip, only on a good day.
It is a snorkeling adventure that cost about $169.00 and you could be buying a cold and bumpy ride to nowhere. They said they would refund 15%... so what!
I think they took the boat full of people out knowing full well no one would not be able to snorkel.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Marhea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kit F, Guest Relations Manager at Napali Raft Adventure by Holo Holo Charters, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are very disappointed to hear your experience was less than satisfactory. We do apologize for any miscommunication on the part of our staff. We make our weather and cancellation policies very clear at the time of reservation: you are able to cancel for any reason without any penalties up to 24 hours prior to your tour and you may reschedule for any reason without any penalties up to 3 hours prior to your tour. Our Captains have made the seas a part of their life; they diligently check the weather every day. We always want to provide a great trip for all guests, if we are aware of weather concerns prior to departure we will always make that known to guests. However, all of our tours are subject to all sea and weather conditions, and because conditions can change rapidly on the ocean we cannot always predict what it will be like at the snorkel location. We are confident that the decisions the Captains make are based on the safety and comfort of all on board. Thank you for joining us, we hope you had a memorable stay on Kauai. Mahalo and aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great crew, beautiful views of Na Pali coast and a nice simple lunch.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We took the boat out of Hanalei Bay. The boat is very comfortable and clean. Sit on the left side (when seated facing forward) for the best views. Sit in the back for a calm ride or if you get sea sick and the front for an adventure. We explored a few shallow caves, went under a small waterfall, stopped to look at some huge sea turtles, stopped to snorkel, had a sandwich, chips and cookies and then sped home. You will get wet from ocean spray. In total it is about 4.5 hours, of which 3 are the tour. The rest is shuttling, checking in, etc. The crew is great! The price is higher than the value but it is what it costs to do things in Hawaii. The best price this directly through Holo Holo vs an agent and ask for their web rate. They will give you a wet bag to protect your things. No shoes allowed. They will take your shoes and return them at the end.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kit F, Guest Relations Manager at Napali Raft Adventure by Holo Holo Charters, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us and other readers. Your feedback is valued and you offered some great tips and advice for future travelers. Mahalo for joining us for this beautiful adventure! We hope you will join us again on your next Kauai visit. Mahalo and aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“perfection!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Just what we wanted, a awesome guided boat tour of the Na Pali Coast, we went in lava tubes and saw waterfalls, a pod of spinner dolphins with a couple of babies, and turtles. We stopped to snorkle for a while, and then had lunch, which was sandwiches, chips, cookies and water. On the was back it was awesome too, going fast and the boat bouncing when it hit the whitecaps. The kids were screaming with joy in the from of the boat. Captain Billy and Caludia were friendly, knowledgable and gracious, we had a lovely time and will definately be back the next time we visit Kauai!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank katmac99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kit F, Guest Relations Manager at Napali Raft Adventure by Holo Holo Charters, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Mahalo for your kind review of our 4hr Napali Snorkel Adventure out of Hanalei, we are so happy your whole family enjoyed themselves. This is a fabulous way to see the coast, the vessels are perfect for exploring the caves and getting up close to the magnificent cliffs and waterfalls. Thank you so much for joining us, we will pass on the praises to the crew, they love sharing their passion for the ocean. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are on Kauai, perhaps to try one of our catamaran tours out of Port Allen! Mahalo and aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Adrenaline filled day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

4 of us took the zodiac boat tour leaving from Hanalei Bay. We managed to score seats up front in the bow of the boat, and it was awesome. Heaps of adrenaline up front especially on the way back - according to the crew it was pretty rough however all 4 of us are pretty good with big waves so we loved it.

The boat wasn't packed (like some of the other ones that you see out there!). Plenty of space and room to move around when we were stationary.

Spencer & Dale (the crew) were helpful, knowledgeable and funny. Was a great way to see the Napali coast and to go into some of the grottos and under waterfalls. One of the highlights of my trip definitely.

You will get a lot of sun so be prepared to wear long cool clothing if you're intolerant. Food & drinks are supplied, there were plenty of them.

No, this is NOT a budget tour but it was definitely worth it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Halfie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kit F, Guest Relations Manager at Napali Raft Adventure by Holo Holo Charters, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your validation; we strive to offer exceptional tours at the best possible price. This is a unique tour because we are one of the few companies permitted to leave out of Hanalei, and our vessels are brand new and one of a kind. The raft allows for speed and comfort, plus agility to get close to the caves and cliffs along the Napali coast. Thanks for joining us and hope you try one of our catamaran tours out of Port Allen next time. Mahalo and aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Napali Raft Adventure by Holo Holo Charters also viewed

 

Been to Napali Raft Adventure by Holo Holo Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing