We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally awesome!”
Review of Postcards Cafe

Postcards Cafe
Ranked #13 of 47 Restaurants in Hanalei
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Totally awesome!”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We just had an amazing dinner at a very cute little cafe in Hanalei, Kaua'i. Postcard Cafe served up some of the most amazing fish dinners we have ever had! I had the Wasabi-crusted Ahi and my wife, son and niece had Mong Chong, a local fish. All were prepared superbly with delicate sauces and delicious sides. Our server, Megan was delightful, prompt and her recommendations were spot on - we couldn't have been happier with our selections. It was modestly priced, but the prices were completely in line with the superb quality of our dinners. If you are visiting Kaua'i, particularly the north shore, this should be your first choice for dining. Make a reservation because it is quite popular!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 993daveb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    177
    85
    33
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Loved the postcard appetizer platter!”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful, fresh, local ingredients and young, cheerful wait staff make postcards a must enjoy culinary experience while visiting hanalei. Come early or make a reservation ahead as the restaurant is quite small (maybe 30-40 seats).

Pros //
Postcard platter - their signature
Great, lively atmosphere
Friendly, accommodating service
Lobster + asparagus is delicious. Beet salad was decent, not amazing.

Cons //
Bread is $3 (found it strange to be charged for bread)
No bottled, still water (only sparkling or tap)
Loud if you're looking for romantic

We'd definitely return! Good meal.

Helpful?
Thank PassionDrivesSuccess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great choice in quiet little Hanalei”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

If you are in this area for dinner, please give this place a try. The only downside to this place is the location (it's in Hanalei) but if you are coming to Hanalei in the late afternoon/evening, I highly recommend this place. Very good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheEveningPaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unique a great surprise fish and vegan!”
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

The tuna was excellent and vegan dish with shrimp yummy! The coconut curry was so delicious. Good value for an excellent meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
188 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Picture perfect”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

This restaurant is aptly named and is perfect in every way. Courteous, friendly service, cheery airy decor and creative tasty dishes, pleasing visually and to the palate. I rarely go back to the same restaurant when on vacation, but I did for Postcards. For starters we had the tara fritters (awesome) one evening, and the sampler platter another. Both were good, but I'd probably just stick with the taro fritters the next time. They were that good. Had the wasabi crusted ahi one evening and it was delicious, and had the Sombrero dinner another. Others in our group had the Tandoori dish and the fresh fish and everyone was pleased with the meal and the experience. You can find the menu online: http://postcardscafe.com/lundin.html. They're only open for dinner and fill up quickly, so reservations are a good idea.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MHCSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Postcards Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Postcards Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing