We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Ingredients and Friendly Service”
Review of Postcards Cafe

Postcards Cafe
Ranked #13 of 47 Restaurants in Hanalei
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fresh Ingredients and Friendly Service”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Postcards Cafe uses the freshest ingredients found on the island of Kauai. The Caesar Salad was excellent, as was the Kauai Green Organic Salad with roasted beets and goat cheese. The fresh fish of the day was also excellent, though I didn't particularly care for the Herb Citrus sauce--next time I'll try a different sauce. The fresh organic bread with macadamia nut butter is a must order--it was delicious! We enjoyed our meal, though it was a little on the pricey side. The service is the BEST on Kauai--friendly hostess, waitress, and our waters never reached empty! Gluten free and vegan entrees are plentiful on their menu. Postcards is a must try when visiting Kauai!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TigerFam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    177
    84
    33
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, service and atmosphere”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

My husband and I ate there recently while staying in Hanalei. Postcards café is a really quaint little cottage with great atmosphere. It is mainly vegetarian, with the exception that they serve seafood. We had the latter, and had two different kinds of fish. Both delicious. We just had room for dessert - delicious! The service was very attentive and friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wynnis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We really enjoyed our meal at Postcards Cafe. The food here is fresh and flavorful. They have good options for vegetarians as well. The staff was professional and polite. I would return on my next visit to Kauai.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SL1NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
84 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Delicious seafood, a must try”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had dinner with some friends who had previously eaten here. I must say that the food was very good.
I ordered a Caesar salad and the Seafood Sorrento, a seafood pasta with fish, shrimp and scallops, oven-dried tomatoes, braised organic greens, goat cheese, red onions and garlic, sauteed in a light chardonnay sauce, it was delicious. Everyone else also commented on how good their food was while we dined.
We had arrived early to avoid any crowds but it soon became very busy, however,
the service remained good through out our meal.
There is some road traffic noise if you dine outside, something to consider.
Inside, the atmosphere in the dining room was festive, we will definitely eat here again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scenicpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great seafood and service!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The wait staff were really professional -- two cuts above most other places in Hanalei. Our dishes were inventive and tasty.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TLStiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Postcards Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Postcards Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing