We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Food in Hanalei” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Postcards Cafe

Postcards Cafe
Ranked #12 of 47 Restaurants in Hanalei
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Food in Hanalei”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I've stayed in Hanalei several times and driven by the Postcard Cafe too many times to count before finally, on the last night of my last trip there, convincing my friends to try it. What a revelation! The atmosphere, service,wine list, and menu were all exceptional! If I go back to Hanalai any time soon it will be because I want to enjoy another meal like the one I had last summer at the Postcard Cafe.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HawaiiBound1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    172
    81
    32
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our best dinner in Hanalei”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

From the moment we arrived the service was impeccable. We didn't have a reservation and the restaurant was full, however we were served drinks on the balcony and asked to wait 15 mins and sure enough 15 mins later we were seated.

The building is a beautiful old house converted into a restaurant. It has huge amounts of character.

The food was delicious, 3 of us had fish dishes, I had the wasabi crusted ahi, the wasabi was subtle and perfectly completed the ahi.

Sadly we went there on our last night or we would have gone back again

Great place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan1980809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
140 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Mostly Seafood”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

This was an okay restaurant - the seafood eaters were the most happy; although my fish would have be dry without the butter poured over it. No view - converted house, cozy. Not much of a selection if you are a meat eater. Adequate wine list - nothing spectacular at all.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CAKarenOrangeCounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best place to go after paddling the Napali coast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We went to Postcards for dinner after an outstanding trip kayaking the coast with Napal Kayak, it was a short walk from the kayak Co to Postcards. This restaurant was recommended by a fellow paddler, who raved about the quality of the food.
They were soooo right! We were happily surprised with the short 5 min wait for a table. We were seated at a nice table in the enclosed porch - an intimate setting. The waitress was professional and had a great upbeat attitude and sophisticated demeanor. The appetizer platter for two was a delight - and our Ono and Opah were perfectly cooked and arrived just as we finished the appetizers. We enjoyed reminiscing about our day while eating the best food we have ever had before or since on Kuaui! Postcards is truly a hidden gem in an otherwise pedantic food scene in Hanalei!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Zirum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Homemade, organic, fresh fish... What's not to love? Try the wasabi crusted ahi! It's incredible and a generous portion. Also delicious was the tandoori mahi mahi. My wife and I split those two and the winner is still being debated. Appetizer sampler is great too. Crab cake yummy, seafood rockets and the biggest surprise, the POI fritters! Yes, you read that right... DELICIOUS poi with pineapple chutney. For dessert we had the chocolate lava cake and coconut caramel sundae, coconut crusted fried ice cream with caramel. Fab! Kids choices minimal with only two items, but the quesadilla was solid and the cheesy pasta was fantastic. Wine list solid and not overpriced. Great special meal for your trip. A little pricey for some but worth every penny!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Soysauced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Postcards Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Postcards Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing