We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chicken is amazing, sides are ok”

Chicken In A Barrel BBQ
Ranked #6 of 47 Restaurants in Hanalei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Chattanooga, TN
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Chicken is amazing, sides are ok”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We were able to split a chicken plate and there was plenty of food for two! The chicken is delicious and perfectly smoked and juicy.

The rice was plain, but ok, and the beans were good, but not great.

Good value. Delicious chicken!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank chattanoogagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    249
    77
    15
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Union, New Jersey
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food and good prices”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

We went to the one in Hanalei Town. We passed by it and it smells so good! that we had to stop. Delicious food. Banana bread. Burgers. Big portions. Good prices. I do recommend it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandra1336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Chicken in a Barrell”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Very tasty food in very casual surroundings. The road had flooded out in Hanalei-they stayed open while most of the town shut down. Gracious staff-very good BBQ-very reasonably priced.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevin34862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great chicken”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Their chicken is incredibly good!
The location is nothing special, just some benches almost on the road, but it is worth to come to try their food! We had chicken and pork: go for the chicken without dubts.
It is just a litlle more than a food truck so be prepared for a very easy service!
Staff is nice and friendly.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DoctorPlexi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, CO
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The worst meal we had in 10 days”
Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

TERRIBLE doesn't give it justice. We are not that snobby- good food that relates to the price. Mahi tacos- coagulated goo of cheese on the bottom of tortillas ( cheese does NOT belong on a fish taco), few cubes of fish, dry blah rice. Pulled pork- OK taste but very salty, same bad rice. Chicken and ribs too salty and ribs overcooked. Fish burrito - 2 very heavy tortillas, very little fish. Employees carrying on personal conversations. Guy who took our order was disinterested and looked stoned. By the way, this is the first bad review I have ever given. Don't go here thinking it will be a decent cheap meal.

Helpful?
Thank jake306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chicken In A Barrel BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Chicken In A Barrel BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing