We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!”
Review of River Estate

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hanalei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
River Estate
Ranked #3 of 5 Hanalei B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I have been staying at River Estate since 2002 at least once and some times several times a year...and it just keeps getting better. I never wonder if I'm missing something by not trying a different place because why mess with paradise? The house is beautiful, spotless and has everything you could want in a home away from home. The setting couldn't be more tranquil, private and beautiful - it is like staying in your own private botanical garden. I defy you to not get a fabulous night's sleep listening to the breeze in the bamboo and the sound of the river. It's the perfect mix of secluded and close to what you want - the beaches and the pleasure of Hanalei Town. Mark is the perfect host and makes sure everything is taken care of - if you want something you don't see (highly unlikely), just ask! As far as I'm concerned, River Estate is the best deal on Kauai...I'm already plotting my next trip.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OCIslandGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
There are newer reviews for River Estate
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 47 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2012

Our family of 5 adults stayed here over Christmas and just loved it. It's in a secluded spot so it's quiet and private with easy access to Haena beach and others, and the house is on stilts so it feels like a treehouse perched in the canopy. There are no direct beach views but it overlooks a great little river and the beach is just a 5 minute float away. The grounds have a lot of fruit trees, including all-you-can-pick delicious grapefruit!

The rooms are well-kept and very new, with a fully furnished kitchen, screened lanai with hot tub and bbq grill, excellent showers, and just overall very comfortable. Little details are all provided, like a cooler for your day at the beach, bbq grilling tools, beach and bath towels, extra boogey boards and snorkel gear. The bed sheets are super smooth, some of the best sleep we've had in awhile.

Some of our party went hiking the Kalalau Trail for a few days and when they came back, the hot tub was a godsend. The proprietor Mark was really helpful and responsive, he even helped us get a good deal on a car rental, and you can tell he takes care of the place. The hot tub didn't warm up as fast as we would have liked, so give it at least a 4-6 hours, also it only sits 2, maybe 3 people at a time.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

River Estate is set back from the main road in a beautifully lush garden and perfectly situated to enjoy what must be one of the most beautiful coastlines in the world. We were a family of four and the River House was just what we were looking for. Its location was perfect for us - far away from the hustle and bustle of tourist-land and surrounded by greenery and tropical flowers and fruit-trees. It overlooks a picturesque river (in which we swam) and is within easy reach of Hanelei (shops), Tunnels and Ke'e beaches, not to mention the Kalalau trail.

The house was very clean and well-maintained. Both bathrooms were provided with soap, tissues and fresh towels. The kitchen was well-equipped and easy to use so we were able to eat in when we felt like it. The barbecue was great for grilling fresh fish and the hot-tub on the lanai was a nice touch. The ipod docker was of high quality and the flatscreen TV was huge! The house has beautiful wooden floors and screens on all the windows for protection against mosquitoes - it also has air-conditioning and fans if needed.

We had a very enjoyable stay here. Mark, the owner, was very helpful and informative and was kind enough to allow us to stay extra time the last day as our flight left in the evening. We wouldn´t hesitate to recommend it and plan on coming back soon!! (If only it weren´t so far away)....

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
1  Thank tintorettoGranada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

This is the best house / deal on the island, all others pale in comparison. This house was immaculate! Absolutely beautiful! Possessed all the amenities you needed to be comfortable. All that you need to bring is your clothes. Perfect size for a group of 6. The hot tub was fabulous to have on hand after hiking the nearby Kalalau Trail.The property was stunning and very quiet. Loved being here! Planning on coming back many times.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank 1Nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Sorry for the delay Mark,

The river estate was a great find.
The house was immaculate and had all immenities.
Mark was so helpful with his local knowledge of dining and things to see and do,we felt that we had an advantage over other tourists that are at the mercy of brochures.
Kauai is the best island hands down. The beaches are large and uncrowded and amazing.
There is so much to see and do we were experiencing as much as possible in 5 days and still there is plenty more for next time.
I would recommend hiking the kalalau trail near the end of your stay so you are not sore your whole trip, the first 2 miles are not bad but the next 2.5 to the falls is very rugged and slow but worth it.
After our stay we both know why Mark never left.
It would be a great place to live.
So much better than a hotel or condo unless you like crowds and noise.
Thank You
Andy & Karin

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Superwelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2010

I regret posting this because it will probably mean the schedule will fill up even more now :)

River Estate is our favorite place to stay on Kauai, and its owner, Mark, is one of the most helpful, nicest guys you could ever meet.

I will try to describe our style and that will indicate if it's right for you:
- We went to the Kapa'a and Hanalei Sunshine (Farmers) markets, Hoku foods, and bought all our groceries for the week. We did all our cooking ourselves, except for the last night. The appliances are modern, the kitchen is clean and well-maintained, and the utensils are diverse and well-organized.
- We spent most of our time vegging on the beaches, taking day-trips out around the island, and going for hikes.
- On the rainier days, we were happy to sit out on the porch or inside in the living room and just read for a while. River Estate is a great place for this. Very comfortable environment.
- The stereo has an iPod dock. NICE.
- The house has A/C, even though you probably won't want to use it

The master bedroom is all windows, but the location and privacy from trees mean you don't have to worry about neighbors looking in.

I think what makes River Estate different from a lot of places is the amount of detail and care put into its presentation. We've stayed other places where everything just felt cheap and temporary, the owners knowing that the customers were going to trash it. River Estate is not this way. You treat it like your own home because it's kept clean and maintained so well.

Just so I can provide some comments about who this isn't right for:

I would say this is not the right location for someone who can't buy their own groceries or cook. Not the river estate in particular, but Haena/Eastern Hanalei. You're 15 minutes from food at all times by car (there's a little shop nearby but it's a convenience store).

It's also not the right spot for someone who can't take a little rain here and there. The north shore is beautiful because of the rainfall. We didn't mind at all, and had no problem hanging out on the beach while rain clouds passed by, knowing they'd be followed with sunshine.

Overall, A++, our favorite place on the island so far, and Mark is super helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

I had been looking at different housing options for our honeymoon and was really hoping to find someplace that was private and secluded but was also close enough to the things that we wanted to do/see. I also was looking for a house that was in beautiful surrounding... I found that and more with the River Estate!

We stayed in the red house which has just been remodeled. The place was immaculate and had everything we could want... full kitchen, hot tub, A/C in all the rooms! The bed in the master bedroom was the most comfortable bed I have EVER slept on. We spent almost every morning eating breakfast on the lanai watching the river flow by... I wish we were back there right now!

I've been to Kauai as well as Maui, Oahu and the Big Island before and this was the best place I've stayed by far and was exactly what we needed to relax and feel at home.\

The owner was wonderful to talk to and was very helpful over the phone!

We had a wonderful time exploring the island and always looked forward to coming back to the house at the end of the day. We also spent a few days sleeping in, walking to the beach or around Hanalei town and watching a DVD while eating dinner.

The north shore of Kauai is probably my favorite area in the world and the River Estate is now my favorite place.

Thanks to Mark for making our time in Kauai such a dream honeymoon and for offering such a wonderful place for travelers to experience the majestic island of Kauai!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanalei
4.9 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
21.3 mi away
Garden Island Inn Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hanalei Colony Resort
Hanalei Colony Resort
#1 of 1 in Hanalei
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
St. Regis Princeville Resort
3.2 mi away
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Princeville
1,792 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Estate

Address: 5-6691 Kuhio Highway, Hanalei, Kauai, HI 96714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Hanalei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hanalei
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Estate is one of the first Kauai vacation properties on the internet and we are still here. I provide complimentary concierge services to all my guests from the moment you book. 45 years here helps in that regard. So please feel free to ask me about all Kauai has to offer and let me help you make the most of your vacation time here. There are two homes at River Estate (One 2 bedroom 2 bath called the Guest House and one 3 bedroom 2 bath called the Riverhouse) Please google River Estate to see all the details for both homes on the River Estate website. Both homes are on the estate grounds next to the river in the same proximity to the water yet far apart. The property location is centrally located in the middle of the prime North shore area. You’ll feel comfortable and relaxed the moment you arrive. Privacy and peace. On Site Staff and Owner Available 24/7 Top Quality Accommodations Affordably Priced A Completely Unique Central North Kauai Location Tastefully Furnished Homes. Quality Furniture Air Conditioning. Each Room Controlled Individually A Romantic and Spiritually Rejuvenating Experience Ultra Privacy in a Completely Unique Natural Setting Two Acres of Pristine Riverfront Botanical Gardens Comfortable Living Spaces With Many Deluxe Amenities Allergy Free Zones. No Mold or Mildew Inside or Out Very Close to World Famous Beaches and Landmarks Float to Beach and Back From the Property Easily Fully Equipped Large Kitchens With New Appliances In House Travel Agency. Multi Island Vacation Packages Complimentary Beach Gear and Quality Beach Towels Hotel Grade Bath Towels, Hand Towels, Wash Cloths Quality Bedding, Mattresses. High Thread Count Sheets Tile or Chinese Slate Floors in Kitchen and Bathrooms Quality Brazilian Cherry Hardwood Floors (Living Areas) Well Ventilated Homes Cooled By the Trade Winds Flat Panel TVs, DVD Players, Cd Players With iPod Docks Large Master Bedroom Suites with Flat Panel TV's Free Long Distance, WiFi Internet, Wireless Phones Large Collection of DVD's and CD's in each Home Washer/Dryer, Gas BBQ, Quality Lanai Furniture Selection of Kauai Guidebooks and Books on Hawaii ... more   less 
Also Known As:
River Estate Hanalei, Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing