We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lots of space”
other travelers have booked this property
View of Bay/Mountain-facing side of house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of Bay/Mountain-facing side of house
Mountain and Hanalei Bay View Mountain view from lanai - misty day and waterfalls!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
View of Bay/Mountain-facing side of house
Mountain and Hanalei Bay View
Mountain view from lanai - misty day and waterfalls!
View from main entrance
Living Room (Loft area on left)
Kitchen Area and Breakfast Bar; Gas BBQ thru Sliding Glass Door
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Bedroom 3 - Double Bed
Dining Area
lanai
view from lanai
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Hanalei, Kauai, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DonnaleeA...
West Salem, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lots of space”
Reviewed April 6, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Home was very roomy. Appreciated the deck. Lots of space in the living room to sit. Having 2 full bathrooms was great since we had 6 adults. Kitchen had all the needed items, including a dishwasher. It was nice to have a washer and dryer available. It was also nice to have beach towels and snorkeling and other beach equipment available. Chairs on deck look comfy but actually were not if sitting for long periods of time. Table was pretty tight to sit 6 adults.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 7, 2018
Aloha Katherine, I am glad to hear the house worked out for you. I know the weather was not great but I know you still managed alot of beach time since I could never catch up with you to say "aloha". Ya, those lanai chairs look great but comfortable...not so much! Aloha nui, Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda F
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
Reviewed March 8, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

My friend and I really enjoyed our stay here! It is located right by Princeville, which has a nice grocery store, coffee shops, and other restaurants with outside seating. It is also very close to the Napali Coast for fantastic hiking and close to Kapaa, which was our favorite town on the island for shopping and accessible beaches. Wailua shaved ice is a must try!

Jane was very easy to work, very honest, and gave a descriptive breakdown of charges prior to payment. I wish all property owners on Trip Advisor did this!! The rental was clean and very large for 2 people.

I would have liked extra blankets to use at night, because I like to layer and Kauai can cool off at night. More food storage containers would have been helpful too, but no big deal. Thank you!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 9, 2018
Mahalo for taking the time to provide some feedback. I am glad that the house proved to be a good enhancement to your northshore experience. Your suggestions are so appreciated and will be acted upon. Mahalo, Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper S
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Hanalei/Princeville Paradise”
Reviewed January 27, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We had an incredible time in Kauai. The Hanalei Vista House is conveniently located right down the street from Princeville Shopping Center and the Hanalei Outlook spot. The home is beautiful and spacious with a rustic Hawaiian charm. The view from the lanai offers a spectacular view of Hanalei. It tends to rain more in the north side but the lush greenery and stellar views more than makes up for it.

We have been to Poipu, Kauai so this trip was more about relaxing and spending more time in Hanalei and Princeville. If you’re expecting 5 Star amenities and service, stay at the St Regis or Westin down the street, but if you want a true Aloha experience and see how it feels like to live in paradise, stay here!

The Hanalei Vista House is definitely suited for couples and families with children looking for a home away from home. My one suggestion would be to have booked this place sooner and longer! :)

Mahalo Jane. Thank you for your kind hospitality. We hope to return soon!

Ola Ke Aloha

Jasper & Jennifer

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 29, 2018
Aloha Jasper and Jennifer, Mahalo for the kind words. It is always gratifying to learn that the house, as advertized, met or exceeded the expectations of guests and enhanced the magic of their northshore visit. Aloha nui, Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott K
Whitby, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing view, beautiful wood interior, tasteful decor”
Reviewed June 22, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

A spacious, open concept home overlooking natural Hawaii - green and lush, lovely morning, noon, and evening - and even in the rain. Only two drawbacks prevented the rating of Excellent. The traffic noise from the nearby main road/highway was incessant and quite audible indoors - while sitting on the beautiful porch, there was not more than a minute where cars were not loudly whizzing by. A little better in the evening, but never stopped. A smaller point was that a few things were not working (bedroom overhead light) or missing (hand soap, light bulbs), things that the caretaker/cleaner should be aware of. The owner is very pleasant, helpful, and knowledgeable about the area - she gets back to you promptly.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 25, 2017
Aloha Scott, Mahalo for taking the time to provide feedback. It is greatly appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PiiPix
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous house and location - highly recommended”
Reviewed June 7, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Super and welcoming communication from Jane. The home has everything you need and more. 3BR 2BA (plus a loft, though anyone up there had best like warm air). Far exceeded our expectations. Located conveniently between Princeville (good grocery store) and Hanalei (dining, shopping and nightlife). Great embarking point for Na Pali coast, Tunnels and Ke'e Beaches, etc. One caveat - as is common for homes in Hawaii, there's no air conditioning. Essentially that's the trade-off of staying in a home with a magnificent sunset bay view vs. staying in an antiseptic condo. Sad to be back home - wish we were still at Hanalei Vista!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2017
Aloha Matt, Mahalo for the kind words. It is always nice to hear that the house was a good "fit" and that you felt it was accurately represented and helped enhance your north shore visit. Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisha12
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Just made for a lovely, relaxing family holiday!”
Reviewed May 28, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We spent almost a week at Jane's cedar home and we were so pleased we did. The house is wonderful, such character, so large, such a gorgeous lush garden and outlook. We adored the wrap around Verandah's and fully screened doors. The house is equipped with all that you could possibly want for your stay. It's not modern but it is totally perfect for a chilled holiday by the beach and really really good value for the size of the property and location. Much of the furniture inside is antique and although not overly restored, certainly adds to the holiday experience. My children adored the secret access ladder to the loft through a cupboard in the back room they felt like it was there entrance to Narnia (not for small kids or babies though!) The house itself was conveniently located a mere walk to the main Princeville shops and a five or so minute drive down to Hanelai village and beach. It's steep and not really walkable to the beach. The house is infact on the main road in town but because it is set back and surrounded by just wonderful gardens it feels very private (and with the police station practically next door, very safe). As an aside, without question we were so glad we stayed up north. We travelled extensively around Kauai on our stay and this area is the best. It's also the best place to go on the Napali coast trip - being the closest departure point - - leaving from the south seems wrong as the Napali Coast is in the North. And although Waimea Canyon is a bit of a drive , it was so worth it. Aim to get there 8 or 9am or before, you'll miss the traffic and hopefully the incoming clouds! Hannelai Bay was our favourite beach by far- perfect for kids, families and some gentle surfing. Take the car breakin warnings seriously- we had a near miss at Tunnels at dusk! Overall, loved our stay. Ps the house is not air conditioned, so just double check arrangements in mid summer as there are beautiful high ceilings which might be hot.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 29, 2017
Many "mahalos" for the kind words. It is always so nice to learn that guests felt like the house was accurately represented, was good value and enhanced the Kaua'i northshore esperience. Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill R
Fairmont, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Outstanding”
Reviewed March 6, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Absolutely would recommend this house for your Hawaiian vacation. Jane was great to work with and the house was so nice. Spacious rooms and very comfortable beds. Loved the wrap around deck. Will definitely consider staying again if we make it back to Kauai :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing