We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!”
Review of Shave Ice Paradise

Shave Ice Paradise
Ranked #4 of 7 Dessert in Hanalei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $8
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Description: Shave Ice Paradise offers authentic, soft & fluffy Hawaiian Shave Ice as well as ice cream & milkshakes to our wonderful customers! Many flavor options available! Ask about our special combinations which are shave ice over a scoop of ice cream and add a sno-cap on top to make it even more heavenly! Located in the heart of Historic Hanalei Town right next door to Bubba's Burgers. Stop by for a refreshing, delicious shave ice today! Open Every Day! Hours: 10:30am - 5:30pm Monday thru Saturday, 11:30am - 5:30pm on Sunday.
Saskatoon
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

You can't really go wrong with shave ice. Super sweet and refreshing and awful for the diet. Loved it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 911Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    73
    37
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Really Good!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was the second place we had really good shave ice. Definitely worth the stop. If you love shave ice, this is the place to go on Kauai.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank anotherParamedicGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great treat”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

It would be a mistake to visit Kauai and NOT try the shaved ice. We had the Sunrise special, named mostly for the color. It had the Macadamia Nut ice cream on the bottom. (I strongly recommend you spend the few dollars extra to get one with ice cream on the bottom).

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank kenwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Adequate, expensive”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Adequate shave ice here, but weirdly expensive compared to everywhere else on the island. I think I paid six bucks for a normal-sized with a couple of flavors. It would be one thing if there was something amazing about the product that justified the higher price, but there wasn't -- it was typical sugar-syrupy and lacking in real flavor.

The wait was pretty long. Staff was friendly but a little confused, with the kind of slow pandemonium that unfolds when a place is overstaffed and undertrained.

I guess it was okay. There's a shave ice truck of some kind down the road but I didn't go there, so I have no other basis for comparison in Hanalei. Go here if you're already at Bubba Burger or something and you really want a shave ice -- it'll probably hit the spot.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Most amazing Macadamia Nut shake!!”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Me and husband came here from NYC for our honeymoon and we were told to go here just for the milkshake by our cousin and we're so glad we did!! They're known for it and it's obvious why! It's on the main road in Hanalei so you can't miss it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shave Ice Paradise also viewed

 

Been to Shave Ice Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing