We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touching”

Mc Master Slack Key Concerts
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since 1999, Doug and Sandy McMaster have been presenting authentic, award winning traditional Hawaiian slack key guitar and ukulele concerts. Fridays 4pm and Sundays 3pm at the Hanalei Community Center. Concerts are also now offered in Princeville at the Princeville Community Center (4334 Emmalani Rd. 6pm Saturdays) and at All Saints' Church (Kapaa 6pm Wednesdays). Their 2000th concert will be held the first week of April 2017. They've been voted Best Live Show by Hawaii Magazine Readers several times. They're a key attraction and an excellent way for visitors to experience the beautiful family music tradition of Hawaiian slack key guitar and ukulele while learning its history, cultural significance, and inspirations behind the songs. Their mission is to ho'omau (continue the tradition) as directed by Raymond and Elodia Kane (Oahu) and Keli'i Mawae (Molokai). The soothing sounds of traditional slack key music relax the audience into 'Hawaii time' bringing peace and Aloha to heart and soul. Concerts are one of the most affordable things to do on Kauai and appeal to both the individual visitor as well as to groups or families. The venues are family friendly and accessible.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
New Westminster, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Touching”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I had never heard this kind of music before. Seriously! Doug is flawless in his playing of the guitar. Very laid back performance. Wife Sandy is an amazing historian and story teller. If you have the opportunity to take in one of their shows, please do so - you will not regret it. We bought 2 CDs - one for sleeping to, and the other to set the ambience at home. Oh so wonderful.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mystic2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    18
    7
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Old style seems best”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This show is also in Kapaa on Saturday evenings, which is where we saw it. Very easy going and laid back performance. Sandy is an amazing historian and story teller. Doug is an extraordinary guitarist - I'm not sure I have seen anyone better, particularly in this genre. If you have the opportunity to take in one of their shows, please do so - you will not regret it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 404HappyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“No better way to spend a Sunday afternoon!”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We've been to Doug and Sandy McMaster's Slack Key concerts on 3 of our Kauai visits and will definitely go again! I just can't think of a better way to spend a Sunday afternoon than sitting in the Hanalei Community centre listening to Doug's wonderful slack key guitar playing and Sandy's tales of the ancestors. This music is just so peaceful relaxing and is the icing on the cake for a memorable visit to beautiful Kauai.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“So wonderful!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Went to see/hear the McMasters in their Kapa'a location. While the setting left a lot to be desired (distracting noises from next door and the parking lot), the music and talk story and history was so enjoyable! Bought 3 of their CDs and have spent several evenings listening to it with the surf in the background. Once we return to the mainland, I expect we will listen many times more whenever we are missing the island and need a sweet reminder of our lovely Kaua'i.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank suzanne721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A wonderful afternoon”
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Magnificent music by two very talented and passionate musicians. Small intimate setting to enjoy a true Hawaiian music style.

Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Mc Master Slack Key Concerts also viewed

 

Been to Mc Master Slack Key Concerts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing