We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mediterranean Gourmet

The Mediterranean Gourmet
Reserve with OpenTable
The Mediterranean Gourmet is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 47 Restaurants in Hanalei
Price range: $14 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hanalei Colony Resort
Description: Savor cuisine from across the world without leaving Kauai. A unique, oceanfront dining experience awaits you at Mediterranean Gourmet. Situated at Hanalei Colony Resort, Mediterranean Gourmet has become a North Shore favorite among Kauai residents and worldwide travelers since opening in 2006. Inspired by the cuisine and culture of his native Lebanon, Chef Imad Beydoun and his wife Yarrow have created a relaxed atmosphere and amazing menu selections featuring Lebanese, French, Spanish, Italian and Greek influences. Whether you are looking for a relaxed lunch or a candlelit dinner, Mediterranean Gourmet is the perfect Kauai restaurant for you. Considered by many the be one of the Best restaurants in Hawaii. Visitor's from around the world are invited to make this Kauai restaurant thier favorite Kauai restaurant too.
Sherman Oaks, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We were staying at the Hanalei Colony Resort, which is where the Mediterranean Gourmet is located. From the outside, the restaurant looks so-so. It could use some updating and fresh paint. But, once you're inside, it's very nice and it has lovely views of the ocean and is perfect for rainbow watching, we saw several from our table. It has a rather eclectic menu, obviously it tends to focus on Lebanese dishes, but the night we ate there, we all had different fish dishes that were more island-inspired and they were excellent. They had fresh ahi that just melted in your mouth, whether you had it as sushi or had it grilled. Their desserts were just as good, particularly their coconut baklava -- very creative. And they have a solid wine list although we stuck to the tried and true Mai Tais and they hit the spot. Very nice staff, too. Definitely should make the effort to go there if you are on the North Shore in Kauai.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    228
    142
    53
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful, low-key restaurant on Kauai's north Shore.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

We dined here twice in July. Once, my husband and I cam for dinner in the evening. The menu is comprised of Lebanese items such as Bab Ganoush (a bit sour, but good), pita bread (delicious, warm and soft), gyros, and various chicken and fish dishes. Desserts include ice cream and a rich, delicious macadamia-nut tart. The setting was romantic and mellow, which is what we prefer, so it was a lovely evening out.
We returned the following week for lunch with our 11-year old son during the day, and the sheeting and meal were just as great. In daylight we had a beautiful 180-degree view of the beach, which gave the restaurant an airy feel. We ate the ahi tuna (delicious) and our son was happy with the French fries and grilled chicken. He is gluten-intolerant, so this place was perfect for him. Mediterranean Gourmet is delicious food in an elegant but not pretentious setting. It is the perfect fusion of local Hawaiian fare with Mediterranean food in a beautiful setting on Kauai's North Shore. You will need a car to get here, but it is worth the trip. Highly recommend.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank irenepug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Sunset with good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

We had a reservation for 8pm, but they were able to accommodate us an hour early (with a smile). We just got done with a photo session near by for a wedding wit Kent from Coconut Coast Weddings (kauaiwedding.com). He recommended this place and it was great. The Felafelsare awesome as are the staff. Highly recommended, especially for a quiet evening watching the sun go down while you eat.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TeshyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“No so great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

I'm sorry, but the food was not very good. The steak had varying temps through out, the potatoes on both entrees were scooped out with an ice cream scoop and not hot. Food bland. Service was good, wine was good, atmosphere was good. Too bad about the food though.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jamfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Our party of 9 had a great experience. From the greeting and seating to enjoy a wonderful view through the end of the evening. Everything we ordered was delicious and the specials were outstanding. The wait staff were friendly, took time to explain the dishes delivered, polite and everything came in a timely way. This was a busy evening, but the staff were completely in their element. The dinner was a final event before we leave for Maui. What a way to celebrate our last night. An absolute must and we will be back when we visit Kauai again next year.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fred A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mediterranean Gourmet also viewed

 

Been to The Mediterranean Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing