We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

The Mediterranean Gourmet
Ranked #18 of 47 Restaurants in Hanalei
Price range: $14 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hanalei Colony Resort
Description: Savor cuisine from across the world without leaving Kauai. A unique, oceanfront dining experience awaits you at Mediterranean Gourmet. Situated at Hanalei Colony Resort, Mediterranean Gourmet has become a North Shore favorite among Kauai residents and worldwide travelers since opening in 2006. Inspired by the cuisine and culture of his native Lebanon, Chef Imad Beydoun and his wife Yarrow have created a relaxed atmosphere and amazing menu selections featuring Lebanese, French, Spanish, Italian and Greek influences. Whether you are looking for a relaxed lunch or a candlelit dinner, Mediterranean Gourmet is the perfect Kauai restaurant for you. Considered by many the be one of the Best restaurants in Hawaii. Visitor's from around the world are invited to make this Kauai restaurant thier favorite Kauai restaurant too.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Our party of 9 had a great experience. From the greeting and seating to enjoy a wonderful view through the end of the evening. Everything we ordered was delicious and the specials were outstanding. The wait staff were friendly, took time to explain the dishes delivered, polite and everything came in a timely way. This was a busy evening, but the staff were completely in their element. The dinner was a final event before we leave for Maui. What a way to celebrate our last night. An absolute must and we will be back when we visit Kauai again next year.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fred A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    240
    148
    57
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good food, great view”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Not cheap, but very good food, mostly middle eastern. There are also lots of fresh seafood items in less exotic preparations. Good breakfasts, also, of the American and Hawaiian variety.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DS_NOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Luau - average”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Have always wanted to go to luau and I guess I have been holding off because I think they might be overpriced and a bit cheesy. Well - the Tuesday night luau at the Mediterranean Gourmet restaurant was fine and exactly what I thought it would be. Everything was good - standard buffet of local food (chicken, pork, veggies, poi etc). Service was fine. The luau dancers, band and fire thrower were great. Obviously some real talent with the dancers but honestly it was exactly what I thought - buffet food, happy dancers and don't need to do it again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
739 reviews
386 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 420 helpful votes
“We were in walking Distance”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

This is in a little cul de sac in a area called the Colony. We rented a home a short walk away.
I had been inside but we never had the chance to come for dinner. We had no reservations, just
the four of us. No problem. Had a nice dinner with appetizers kind of late. Nice crowd. A young lady was playing guitar. We could see into the Kitchen. Just a good feel,
no yelling in there, our waiter was attentive. We will come back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarshallGulch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

My sister-in-law took us to this restaurant in Hanalei - it is right on the water and has a middle eastern/beach decor with big windows. My Ahi wrap was excellent! The fish was done perfectly and the flavors were wonderful! It is a long drive to get there from Lihue but worth it for the food and view!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mediterranean Gourmet also viewed

 
Princeville, Kauai
 

Been to The Mediterranean Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing