We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty dinner and nice atmosphere”

The Mediterranean Gourmet
Ranked #18 of 47 Restaurants in Hanalei
Price range: $14 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hanalei Colony Resort
Description: Savor cuisine from across the world without leaving Kauai. A unique, oceanfront dining experience awaits you at Mediterranean Gourmet. Situated at Hanalei Colony Resort, Mediterranean Gourmet has become a North Shore favorite among Kauai residents and worldwide travelers since opening in 2006. Inspired by the cuisine and culture of his native Lebanon, Chef Imad Beydoun and his wife Yarrow have created a relaxed atmosphere and amazing menu selections featuring Lebanese, French, Spanish, Italian and Greek influences. Whether you are looking for a relaxed lunch or a candlelit dinner, Mediterranean Gourmet is the perfect Kauai restaurant for you. Considered by many the be one of the Best restaurants in Hawaii. Visitor's from around the world are invited to make this Kauai restaurant thier favorite Kauai restaurant too.
Langley, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tasty dinner and nice atmosphere”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

This is probably the nicest restaurant on the north shore. It's a little ways away from Hanalei but it is definitely worth the drive. My wife and I came in for a midweek dinner and we had a great experience - the food, service and atmosphere were fantastic. It can get expensive, it was for us. That's because we were there to go "all out", this is the only place that you can go all out at on the north shore.

On Wednesday's they have a promotion on wine - 50% off - this is what drew us in for a midweek meal. We had come in on Tuesday as well but they were having a luau and it was packed. The owner offered to seat us at the bar but that's not what we were in for. When we were there, they also had live music - not sure if this happens every night, but it definitely added to the experience.

If you are on the north shore and looking for a nice dinner, this is the place to go.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Prezman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    240
    148
    57
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Poor”
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Not Mediterranean food by any stretch of imagination. Luke warm dishes. Obviously partially reheated.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jake G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiawah Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Average lunch with nice view”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

If there were a way for this restaurant to keep their windows clear, the view would be even more spectacular, but looking out salty windows with screens somewhat obscurred the view. Food was average quality and very expensive. I had the gyro, which I enjoyed, and ordered the side salad rather than fries for a $3 upcharge. I assumed I would get a decent size side salad. What I got was a few greens with a little feta cheese & some chopped tomatoes. Definitely not worth $3. They do offer a delicious mango/strawberry margarita.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 79BHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
97 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Ate here 4 times”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

It was attached to our resort so it was an easy trip over, but I'd recommend it even if you drive. The food was consistently good and the setting nice - I especially liked the weekday luau.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Geoviki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron Park, CA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome food, service and view”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We've been here many times over the years and have always had an excellent meal and terrific service - same for this trip, when we ate there twice for lunch. The location is away from it all next to the Hanalei Colony Resort with beautiful ocean views, going past Hanalei toward the end of road on the north shore. I usually go for a couple of appetizers instead of the full meal - had a small Greek Salad with the Margarita Pizza on thin flatbread for one and the Spanakopita with the Mediterranean Flat Bread (pesto, pine nuts, feta cheese, arugula on very thin and tasty bread) for the second one. My husband had the fresh fish lettuce wrap and then Garlic Chicken Wrap. Missed out on the marinated grilled artichoke this time (darn! it's pricey but oh so good!) as they don't always have it. All our meals were yummy and perfectly prepared. The owner is such a great, kind man and brought our meal out the second time. Love the meals and staff at this restaurant. We were happy to see they were very busy for a weekday afternoon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kauai4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mediterranean Gourmet also viewed

 
Princeville, Kauai
 

Been to The Mediterranean Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing