We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary Dinner by the Sea Memorable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mediterranean Gourmet

The Mediterranean Gourmet
Reserve with OpenTable
The Mediterranean Gourmet is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 47 Restaurants in Hanalei
Price range: $14 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hanalei Colony Resort
Description: Savor cuisine from across the world without leaving Kauai. A unique, oceanfront dining experience awaits you at Mediterranean Gourmet. Situated at Hanalei Colony Resort, Mediterranean Gourmet has become a North Shore favorite among Kauai residents and worldwide travelers since opening in 2006. Inspired by the cuisine and culture of his native Lebanon, Chef Imad Beydoun and his wife Yarrow have created a relaxed atmosphere and amazing menu selections featuring Lebanese, French, Spanish, Italian and Greek influences. Whether you are looking for a relaxed lunch or a candlelit dinner, Mediterranean Gourmet is the perfect Kauai restaurant for you. Considered by many the be one of the Best restaurants in Hawaii. Visitor's from around the world are invited to make this Kauai restaurant thier favorite Kauai restaurant too.
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Anniversary Dinner by the Sea Memorable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

During a 2 week vacation on Kaua'i, spent our anniversary eve with another couple seated overlooking the beautiful ocean just past Hanalei.
Food was beyond delicious; view was great even after sundown when 7 foot torches were lit all around the shore by the windows.
Our server was attentive and helpful and the female guitar player in the adjacent open bar added a nice live music touch.
Will go again on our next visit to Kaua'i.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mermaid6973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarrow B, Owner at The Mediterranean Gourmet, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Aloha, Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review about us and thank you for choosing us to spend your anniversary dinner with. It is always our goal to make sure that guest love their food service and the ambiance. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Kauai. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    229
    142
    53
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
112 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Hanalei”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Friends who live in Princeville invited us to dinner at the Mediterranean Grourmet restaurant and my wife and I are so glad they did. We had a table by the window overlooking Hanalei Bay. Spectacluar view. The service was good. The wine selection better than i expected. And all of our meals were excellent. If you're on the North Shore, I'd highly recommend a dinner at the Mediterranenan Gourmet. But be sure to get directions. We drove by the small street twice before we found it. Aloha !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
103 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice dining overlooking the ocean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a nice meal at the Mediterranean Gourmet. It is located on the road leading to the NaPali Coast. It is a couple of miles from the center of Hanalei and thus a little less crowded and active. On the night was ate there, a singer was providing entertainment that was pleasant background music, that didn't overpower our conversation. My wife had the kabob, which was freshly prepared and nicely seasoned. I had the chicken marsala, which was also very tasty. The Greek salad was a nice starter. The service was pleasant and efficient.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
“Great food Great service, Ocean included!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were amazed that the North Shore would have such an amazing place! By this, I mean this place is very rural, there's really nothing else around, and yet there's this beautiful restaurant, with a five star atmosphere on the ocean with all the trimmings of a top notch New York's finest experience place. A1 wine list, first rate menu, and wonderful atmosphere. From the moment my husband and I walked in, we knew we were going to enjoy the full dinning experience. It's a lot more than just a restaurant! Thanks for being there, and we'll make it our habit when we come back!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I had dinner there with a large group of folks and the food, service and staff were excellent. The restaurant is perfect for a nice relaxed dinner overlooking the pacific ocean. The food was great, full of flavor and perfectly cooked. The drinks from the bar looked beautiful and tasted amazing. I would definately recommend going there if you are ever on Kauai.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rica603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mediterranean Gourmet also viewed

 
Princeville, Kauai
 

Been to The Mediterranean Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing