We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite in Kauai”

The Mediterranean Gourmet
Ranked #19 of 47 Restaurants in Hanalei
Price range: $14 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hanalei Colony Resort
Description: Savor cuisine from across the world without leaving Kauai. A unique, oceanfront dining experience awaits you at Mediterranean Gourmet. Situated at Hanalei Colony Resort, Mediterranean Gourmet has become a North Shore favorite among Kauai residents and worldwide travelers since opening in 2006. Inspired by the cuisine and culture of his native Lebanon, Chef Imad Beydoun and his wife Yarrow have created a relaxed atmosphere and amazing menu selections featuring Lebanese, French, Spanish, Italian and Greek influences. Whether you are looking for a relaxed lunch or a candlelit dinner, Mediterranean Gourmet is the perfect Kauai restaurant for you. Considered by many the be one of the Best restaurants in Hawaii. Visitor's from around the world are invited to make this Kauai restaurant thier favorite Kauai restaurant too.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Our Favorite in Kauai”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Imad and Yarrow are the most gracious hospitable hosts on the island. The MG value proposition is the best the location, the food & the ambiance were memorable. We live at the Colony so we're biased. But we regularly eat here about 3 times a week

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Limahuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    242
    149
    58
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice place! Awesome view! Great food!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Worth the drive (and who wouldn't want to drive here in a red convertible -- stars overhead as we drove back to Princeville -- amazing!). Food was very good (after I had to send mine back because the Ono was raw -- not medium well -- but they fixed it perfectly). Can't beat the view. Very romantic. It'll cost you ($100 for 2 people, 2 drinks) but it is Kauai, ya know! Enjoy!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JMSPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“We're local and eat lunch here once a week at the bar.”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Food and service are good. Luau looks to be good. Have seen it set up but never took part. Gyros are great. Only real restaurant in Haena.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PJWuebker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

If you get tired of Hawaiian food (my husband got sick from a 4th of July festival--eating at a stand so we were looking for something other than Luau Pork!) try this place. Good Mediterranean style food. Service was excellent, and kids loved the place. Had a live musician and she was super. My only beef is they overcooked my fish, but everyone else's dinner was great.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kristi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorpark, California
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“You will not be disappointed!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our family loves this restaurant. It did not disappoint! We were seated at a lovely table with a fantastic view of Princeville. We were greated quickly by our waiter, Johno who explained the specials and took our drink orders. We ordered the fresh sashimi and hummus with pita for appetizers. For dinner, my husband had the fresh fish special (Ahi), my son had the NY Steak and I had the Med. Gyros. Wonderful dinner!!! For dessert, we ordered the bread pudding, cheesecake, and baklava, all excellent! I will recommend this restaurant to anyone staying on Kauai! If you are on the south shore and do want to drive after dinner, please try this place for lunch for Sunday brunch (we had lunch there as well). They also have an excellent luau on Tuesdays (we went in 2009). You will NOT be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank martik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mediterranean Gourmet also viewed

 
Princeville, Kauai
 

Been to The Mediterranean Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing