We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely locals dining”

The Mediterranean Gourmet
Ranked #18 of 47 Restaurants in Hanalei
Price range: $14 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hanalei Colony Resort
Description: Savor cuisine from across the world without leaving Kauai. A unique, oceanfront dining experience awaits you at Mediterranean Gourmet. Situated at Hanalei Colony Resort, Mediterranean Gourmet has become a North Shore favorite among Kauai residents and worldwide travelers since opening in 2006. Inspired by the cuisine and culture of his native Lebanon, Chef Imad Beydoun and his wife Yarrow have created a relaxed atmosphere and amazing menu selections featuring Lebanese, French, Spanish, Italian and Greek influences. Whether you are looking for a relaxed lunch or a candlelit dinner, Mediterranean Gourmet is the perfect Kauai restaurant for you. Considered by many the be one of the Best restaurants in Hawaii. Visitor's from around the world are invited to make this Kauai restaurant thier favorite Kauai restaurant too.
The Dalles, OR
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely locals dining”
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely meal here then came back the next time for pupus in the bar. Pretty spot. A average decor. Really nice Hawaiian fish dinner. Great waiter from BC. Entertainment both nights - the first a wonderful belly dance and the second a super young woman singing with acoustic guitar. Highly memorable nights. We had a macadamia tart for desert that was fab. Didn't try the Mediterranean grub but would have if it wasn't Hawaii. Bar scene was big TV with sports but we clapped for the entertainer in the next room we enjoyed.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LweinsTheDalles_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    241
    149
    57
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mediterranean in Hanalei? YES!!!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

This food is awesome. Everything is homemade and very authentic. You definitely would not expect this type of restaurant to be good in such an isolated location. But it was very very good! Last but not least, it is right on the ocean with great views.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tomh2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanalei, HI
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This was my first time here, came in for lunch. Beautiful day outside, we sat next to the window with a lovely view. Waitress was really nice and gave us some time to look over the menu (im so indecisive!) We started off with the watermelon bruschetta for a appetizer SO GOOD! For lunch my mom got the fresh fish lettuce wraps, she loved them and the hummus was great. I got the chicken wrap, i was in love! Pita bread, chicken, tomatoes, cucumbers, greens and tzatziki sauce!! Finished with the baklava and the taro bread pudding! Perfect lunch!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theREALgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
“Mahalo Mediterranean Gourmet Restaurant”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Before traveling to Hawaii for a destination wedding, you do a lot of research, hoping to find the perfect venue for the wedding and meals. As the groom’s parents, we wanted to do something special for our 33 guests at the rehearsal dinner on March 2, 2013. After all, they were coming a very long way to be part of our son’s wedding. We chose the Mediterranean Gourmet Restaurant, and it was the best decision we could have made. We worked with manager-owner Yarrow Beydoun who accommodated all our requests and changes with ease and grace. The menu included a watermelon bruschetta, Greek salad, an entry of either a 12 oz. NY steak with a brandy mushroom demi-glace and gorgonzola habanero cheese (my favorite), chicken marsala, or pan seared fresh island fish, and a dessert of either chocolate-Kahlua mousse or coconut baklava (my favorite), and wines. Yarrow and her staff deftly paired each course with a wine from France, Italy or Spain, as well as delicious champagne for the toast. The results were phenomenal. Absolutely everyone raved about the meal, from the wine parings through the desserts, and they are still talking about how amazing everything was. Yarrow’s husband, Imad Beydoun, is co-owner and executive chef, and what he created in the kitchen was beyond our expectations: everything was done to perfection. People were raving about the main course and desserts and insisted on sharing samples because it was all so very tasty. The timing of the wines and meal courses was also perfect. No one felt rushed or was left wondering when the next course would come. The staff provided the best possible service that night and did the restaurant proud. Our guests are still praising the entire evening’s gourmet feast. We had the best time and can’t say enough about the professionalism, organization, food, and service at the Mediterranean Gourmet Restaurant – FABULOUS!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SharonK712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastvale, California
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Luau ..........”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Went to the Luau. Nice show . The food was really really good. What turned us off some was the people that were talking and / or letting their kids talk during the show. At one point even the host of the show looked like he wanted to say .... " Shut up " But of course he cant do that. It was like someone talking the whole time during a movie. This is not really the restaurants fault. Just some people let their kids do whatever they want and have no manners or thoughts about the people around them. I would go again , and hope that the people around me are not rude.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Countrydude4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mediterranean Gourmet also viewed

 
Princeville, Kauai
 

Been to The Mediterranean Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing