We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luau ..........”
Review of The Mediterranean Gourmet - CLOSED

The Mediterranean Gourmet
Price range: $14 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hanalei Colony Resort
Description: Savor cuisine from across the world without leaving Kauai. A unique, oceanfront dining experience awaits you at Mediterranean Gourmet. Situated at Hanalei Colony Resort, Mediterranean Gourmet has become a North Shore favorite among Kauai residents and worldwide travelers since opening in 2006. Inspired by the cuisine and culture of his native Lebanon, Chef Imad Beydoun and his wife Yarrow have created a relaxed atmosphere and amazing menu selections featuring Lebanese, French, Spanish, Italian and Greek influences. Whether you are looking for a relaxed lunch or a candlelit dinner, Mediterranean Gourmet is the perfect Kauai restaurant for you. Considered by many the be one of the Best restaurants in Hawaii. Visitor's from around the world are invited to make this Kauai restaurant thier favorite Kauai restaurant too.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Went to the Luau. Nice show . The food was really really good. What turned us off some was the people that were talking and / or letting their kids talk during the show. At one point even the host of the show looked like he wanted to say .... " Shut up " But of course he cant do that. It was like someone talking the whole time during a movie. This is not really the restaurants fault. Just some people let their kids do whatever they want and have no manners or thoughts about the people around them. I would go again , and hope that the people around me are not rude.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Countrydude4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (814)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

516 - 520 of 814 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

We were at the March 26th LUA also and were stranded in the area until 2:30 pm the next day but because of this we have a Wonderful opinion of this resaurant and staff!! During the LUA the staff regularly kept us updated regarding if the bridge was opening or not. When it was evident we might be stranded for awhile the restaurant agreed to remain open and the Hawaiian Band (Coppin Coburn, family and all) agreed to continue entertaiing us until the bridge opened. By 10 pm it looked like we could be stranded for the night so Mr Coburn offered all families who had remained a place to sleep at his church. The band then made breakfast for all in the morning, provided entertainment and food all day, and even wanted to entertain our two 13 year old girls with hula lessons!! The resaurant called the church and offered free lunch and dinner to anyone who was at the lua the night before and stranded as well. Truely genuine hospitality at its finest!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We attended a Luau on Tuesday March 26. The food was good. The Luau show was good. My main issue is that they let us all come up there with the knowledge of a flash flood watch. We were in the restaurant for 15 minutes when they told us the bridge was closed. There were no hotel rooms. No real insistence for us to stay. We drive back to the last one lane bridge going south where the road is closed. We were stuck there for 17 hours. We had a large party who all felt that they put money ahead of out safety.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank IndianaBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarrow B, Owner at The Mediterranean Gourmet, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Aloha,
We are so sorry that you were stuck here and honestly we are horrified that you think we knew that they bridge was going to flood. We had no idea that was going to happen. The bridge does not close frequently and in times past we have always received a call from the resort next store who in turn always gets a call from the county letting them know that it is going to happen. The resort never received that call and so we in turn were also not informed.

We got a couple of calls from guest just before the Luau was starting, asking if we had water, as apparently Hanalei did not have water.As we are on a different water system we let them know we were fine, we had water. Hanalei frequently has problems with their water system, so this was not an unusual thing to cause us to feel that there was a situation to worry about. It had not rained in Haena more than a slight drizzle for several hours, but it rains in this area all the time, so of course there was no reason for it to even cross our minds that there was a chance of being flooding. Most of our employees were here with us most of the day preparing for the Luau and were not exposed to the so called “coconut wireless” in Hanalei that was going around that the bridge might close. We would have without question called guest and advised them not to come if we had known that the bridge was going to close, even if we were unsure we would have called guest and advised that it was best for them to stay close to there hotels. We were receiving phone calls from hotels up until the start of the Luau looking for open seats to join us, so we obviously were not the only ones that were not aware of what was happening the in the neighbor area of Hanalei. We would never do something so awful for any amount of money. I wish that you had thought to call and speak with us before saying something so awful and untrue about us. We wish with all of our hearts that we had known and had been able to prevent this situation that Mother Nature threw us into. In over eight years in business and many a bridge closure we have never had this happen.

We are so sorry that this happened, but I can assure you we did not know that it was going to happen. If you had stayed longer with us and waited to hear news you would have been invited by Coppin to join him at his local church for the night once we felt hope was lost for the evening. He was so wonderful taking the remaining guest there for the evening. There breakfast was prepared, and we invited everyone back for complimentary lunch and dinner. As I said before, there is no amount of money that would make us do something so selfish to any of our guest. We are sorry that there was a flood and that it had such a devastating effect on your visit here, I truly wish that we had been better informed of the situation. We have meet with the GM of the resort next store to discuss what steps we can take to make sure that the county keeps us better informed in the future. From information that we have received from the county was that it was a flash food, and it happened to quickly for anyone to be notified in time. We can only hope that this is t he only time it ever happens.
With warmest aloha,
Yarrow Beydoun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had a good lunch and a table at the seaside. Food was good, but $15 for an appetizer artichoke....really? It was a good artichoke, but WOW, surprise. Otherwise nice lunch

Thank Barbara Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The View was awesome & the food we didn't try. They were between lunch and dinner & not serving food when we stopped in so we just enjoyed a glass of wine. We'd like to return for dinner as the menu looked interesting and the view was just awesome.

Thank DuvallDesdemona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mediterranean Gourmet also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing