We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pizza doesn't match the hype!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hanalei Pizza - CLOSED

Hanalei Pizza
Price range: $5 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Takeout
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pizza doesn't match the hype!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Very disappointed with our pizza after hearing this was the best pizza on the entire island. The whole pizza had an odd taste, and we went with your standard pepperoni, mushroom and green pepper, nothing fancy. Enjoyed the pizza we picked up at the market at the Westin Princeville Ocean Resort a hundred times more.

Helpful?
1 Thank Carolee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    76
    38
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
172 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“outstanding pizza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Excellent pizza. while waiting, we did a little souvenir shopping in the mall stores; bought beer at the market & had a lovely outdoor lunch. Pizza was cooked perfectly, and flavors were wonderful.
We had 2 pizzas for 4 adults; that was just about right.
I highly recommend this for a nice lunch break after a morning on the water.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
127 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Good pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The crust is crunchy and good for you! We ordered the veggie and it was chock-full of veggies, not greasy, but yummy crunchy veggies on top. Very good.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank CCRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best pizza on the island.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

They offer a wide variety of organic vegetables and great pizza dough. I had the vegetarian pizza which was great!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bernadine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
791 reviews
522 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 359 helpful votes
“A little disappointed with all the hype.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Let me start by saying I've seen their #1 in Hanalei rating, and we went solely based on the idea that they were the best restaurant in Hanalei. We had pretty high expectations and thought the pizza would be something very memorable and good. Not that it wasn't good, it just wasn't memorable and for the price, I was definitely disappointed.
First, for a large pizza and a couple of drinks, it'll set you back about $40. They use coconut water in the pizza dough, which was something I'd hoped would come through and give the pizza dough a really great flavor, but honestly I didn't even notice it.
There's nothing really more to say. We went with such high hopes for this pizza place, and it just didn't deliver. The service was fine, the pizza was good, not great, and that was about it.
A couple of other notes, they are open until 8:30pm, where most places in Hanalei are closed up by then, and it's a bit hard to find. It's located across the street from Bubba's burgers in a strip mall. You can't see it from the street.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jrobba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanalei Pizza also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing