We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looks can be deceiving” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanalei Taro & Juice Company

Hanalei Taro & Juice Company
Ranked #11 of 47 Restaurants in Hanalei
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast Food, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
United States
Level Contributor
257 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Looks can be deceiving”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

This looks like a simple lunch truck just after the Dolphin Restaurant.
Do not be fooled. They have some of the best 'grinds' (food) in Hanalei.
We can heartily recommend the lau lau.
It is a 'Gotta Go' kinda place.

IHG,

Rube

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TrippingAmerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    79
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maple Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Yummy plate lunch in Hanalei”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We were fighting the endless traffic on Kauai's north shore when we saw the signs and trailers for the Taro company and pulled in. We were tempted by the save ice trailer, but opted instead for the Taro place. Lots of choices, and reasonable prices, but we finally narrowed down to the combo platewith Kalua pork, lau-lau chicken, sticky rice, taro mac salad, a taste of lomi salmon, and a couple of pieces of sweet cake. Three of us shared it and it was wonderful. The kalua was great, as was the lau-lau. The Mac salad was good as well, it the lomi was only OK- lots of fish flavored tomatoes, and only a hint of salmon. Still, a great lunch for only $10!!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnHMapleValley_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best food in Hanalei, great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

The smoothies are excellent, flavorful but not too sweet. The Kahlua pork is delicious, flavorful and simple. And the Pork Laulau, Yummm! Some folks complained about the wandering chickens, but Hey they provide free music and entertainment

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank JKVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Refreshing Coconut water & excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We were walking around the town and decided to stop here to get some coconut water. The best coconut water I've had while in Kauai. Tasty and refreshing and lots of it. After drinking the water they cracked the coconut open for us, she even offer to take the coconut meat off the shell for me.
We will be back for few more!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coco-nut59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best food of our trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Best food, best prices. The shredded kahlua pork tacos with chipotle aioli sauce are awesome! Juicy, flavorful and generous portion. The taro based smoothies are very good too. The chicken wrapped in taro leaves was juicy and good but the leaves taste like the bitter part of an artichoke and there is no seasoning or sauce. Not bad but only get if you really like eating simple, healthy organic type foods.

Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Hanalei Taro & Juice Company also viewed

 

Been to Hanalei Taro & Juice Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing