We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Heaven”

Village Snack and Bake Shop
Ranked #23 of 47 Restaurants in Hanalei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: Enjoy hearty breakfasts, quick snacks, local style boxed picnic lunches, and hearty portions of daily lunch specials at this unique restaurant and bakery where you'll find everything from island style favorite plate meals to juicy hamburgers and homemade pies and cakes on the menu. Also known as the "Home of the Chili Pepper Chicken". Open daily for breakfast and lunch.
San Mateo, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Local Heaven”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

If you want real Hawaiian local food this is the place to go. We always head here after church on Sunday morning, they have great mixed plate, yummy cookies and Haupia and pies. A true local gem!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank NBL94402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    58
    29
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Musubi every morning”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

You'll know what I mean if you know what musubi is. Get there early. Part of the fun is talking with the ladies behind the counter. Hawaii's version of a South Philly bakery. One of our favorite spots.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank keekoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We ate there twice and both meals were delicious. The spicy fried chicken and mahi plates were yummy. And loved the lady behind the counter was just precious. They are only open until 4:00.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jemerson37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Signal Hill, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Place the Locals Eat”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I've been to Village Snack and Bake Shop previously and wanted to show my family members where to get a true Hawaiian breakfast of Spam and Loco Moco. Many local people eat here and not too many tourists know about it. I heard about from a bell man at The Princeville Resort (now St Regis), the last time we were here.

You can't beat the prices and I wonder how they can offer such low prices (by Hawaii standards. $17 for breakfast for my husband and I). We pay that in CA for breakfast.

Owned and operated by Aunties and Uncle the food is not gourmet but hits the spot. My niece was one happy lady when she finished her Loco Moco and wants to go back again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Delicious Loco Moco and mac salad”
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

I had read about Loco Moco being a local specialty on the islands, so I was happy to see it on the menu here where our tour bus driver dropped us for an hour of shopping and lunch after touring Hanalei Bay/Pier. The plates were ready quickly and we loved the Loco Moco with brown rice. They had huge hot dogs for the kids. Everything is pricey on the islands, but for about $40 we fed four people with tasty, well-portioned lunch plates and waters/lemonades. Agree with another reviewer about the banana/mac/choc-chip loaf. This was the perfect dessert. Ours was $5, not $4, but, hey, it was gone in minutes. Should have bought two! Service was nice and yes, they do call your name when it's ready.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Boggybill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Snack and Bake Shop also viewed

 

Been to Village Snack and Bake Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing