We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
$724
$700
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$542
$420
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$319
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plantation Hale Suites(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
$210
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$544
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveler rating
174
27
14
16
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
27
14
16
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspineapple roombed and breakfastb bgreat hostsother guestsgreat roomgranolahot tubkalalau trailfresh fruitthe kitchenevery morningtunnels beachnorth shoremacadamia nut pancakesamazing storieshost and hostess
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 232 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Traveled last year April 2010 to celebrated my birthday hiking the Kalalau Trail and this place was perfect. Short drive to the trail, bay and town. We especially liked the access to use the kitchen. Some folks complain about Toby, but to us he is the "Salty Dog" character. Toby has great stories and always gave us good suggestions about Kauai. We would return.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dee2852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

Stayed here fOr 2 nights. Amazing. Just 1 min walk from the ocean. Private, clean, comfortable and fun! It's like your own house in North Hawaii. They have everything for you. Toby and Kirby cook great meals (ask for the Blueberry Mac Nut Waffles one day, they are the best) that will get your action packed day going. We stayed there to go home the Napali Coast a bit to start the vacation. After a long day hiking it's great coming back "home" to relax in paradise. It's cheaper than the St Regis or Grand Hyatt and a lot nicer In my opinion. I will reccomend this to everyone going to Kauai looking for something new to experience. Timeshares and Mega Resorts are great but this place is much better. After 2 nights we did a week in Poipu. Its lovely up there but I. The winter (and summer) expect more clouds and rain. Go south for the sunshine.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lloydpalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

A wonderful, homey place to spend a vacation. Toby and Kirby are the ultimate hosts, and Toby's breakfasts can't be beat! No need for an alarm clock, the roosters are well "trained" - but they are all over the island, not just at the B&B.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mango Suite, with the beautiful king-sized bed & carved headboard. Wake up in the morning to the sun bouncing off the mountains, and possibly a rainbow within reach. Window in the show is a nice touch.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank koya65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

My husband and I spent two weeks celebrating our 35th anniversary in Hawaii. After just a couple of days on the island of Oahu, we stayed for 6 days and nights on the north shore of Kauai, where we stayed at Kirby and Toby's B&B, Hale Ho'o Maha. We then spent another 6 days visiting the south shore where we stayed in a cottage. Hale Ho'o Maha had come recommended to us by my daughter-in-law's friends, and we were not disappointed. It was a great spot. It was very clean and comfortable. Kirby and Toby are very nice hosts with just the right balance of friendliness while respecting your privacy. They were very knowledgable about the island also, which was very helpful. Everything you could possibly need was made available to you........snorkeling equipment, beach chairs, use of the washer and dryer, boogie boards, sunscreen..........you name it, they thought of it. Our bedroom and bath were very nice, and the common area was great. You could leave anything you wanted in the frig. and cook for yourselves also........being on vacation, we didn't really want to do any cooking, but making a cup of tea before bed was nice sometimes........and of course, they had a beautiful spread for breakfast every morning. We would highly recommend the Hale Ho'o Maha to anyone visiting the north shore of Kauai, and would stay there again if we are fortunate enough to travel that way ever again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CMCLongIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We stayed for two weeks.The location is absolutely beautiful and tranquil.If you like peace and quiet this is for you.Comfortable,spacious,spotless room with lovely view of countryside,Great interiors nicely decorated.Dig the breakfast - always plenty of fresh tropical,superb kona coffee and changing from day to day pancakes,bacon and eggs,egg benedict....Kirby an Toby are great hosts - Kirby is a sweet lady and Toby we do like your sense of humour and your amazing stories.Please do not change!We hope our paths will meet again some sunny day.Thanks a lot for a wonderful time - we surely miss you.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank derlampenkoenig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews