We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for the faint of heart...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain Sundown

Captain Sundown
Ranked #7 of 18 Tours in Hanalei
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Family operated Na Pali Sailing Catamaran Company. Offering North Shore departures from Hanalei Pier Beach. Enjoy white sandy beaches, ancient volcanic cliffs, waterfalls and pristine blue ocean waters. Captain Sundown welcomes you aboard 40' Catamaran Ku'uipo for 360 degree views of Na Pali cliffs and personalized (15-17 passenger) Na Pali Snorkel tour (Nu'alolo Kai) or romantic Bali Hai Sunset Sail in Hanalei Bay. Seating choices include: fully shaded cushioned cabin seating or wrap-around open deck seating. For more fun, try our wet and splashy trampoline nets for a wet and wild adventure ride. Come face to face with marine life including Bottle-nose Dolphins, Hawaiian Spinner Dolphins, Honu the Green Sea Turtles, Flying Fish and Rare Marine Birds. Troll Fishing lines for Tuna, Mahi Mahi or Ono. Let the young ones hand line in Papio, Rainbow Runners and Aku! Snorkel Sail inc: Snorkel gear, deli meal and bottled water, sodas. Sunset Sail inc: Light Snacks and bottled water, sodas History Established in 1971. Born and reared in Hawaii, Capt. Sundown honed his ocean skills as a young man surfing and sailing Hawaiian waters. His passions include his faith in God, love of family and spirit of Aloha. Sailing on deck with a small group of people is the core principal of this company. Returning passengers who share our love of sailing off the beaten path, are the epicenter of our success. From your first telephone call until we shuttle you back to your car from your sailing adventure, you will always be in the tender care of a Capt. Sundown family member. We love people and it shows in every aspect of our jobs.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not for the faint of heart...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

You will love this cruise if you enjoy a wild ride! I would not recommend for anyone with smaller children. This is not a smooth sailing pleasure cruise, but one with beautiful scenery! Be warned--the recommendation for a windbreaker is an understatement--bring a water proof jacket with a hood and make sure you re-apply sunscreen before you start the return trip back. Crew member Larry was great--very knowledgeable about the area. Food was not as good as we have had on other cruises, but sufficient. No head on board, which could be a deal killer for some.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank pameladerice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    13
    7
    9
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The NaPali Coast is beautiful.....don't miss it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We went with Captain Sundown to the NaPali Coast on a catamaran. It was beautiful. The boat was very nice, the crew was attentive, lunch was good......overall, great tour. It was really nice that this company leaves from the North Coast (Hanalei), otherwise we would have had to drive 2 hours in the early morning to take the tour from the south coast of Kauai. I definitely recommend this tour. It is expensive, but still worth it in my opinion.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank TorontoCanuck76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
“Exceeded all expectations and more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Our Snorkel Sail with Captain Sundown was the highlight of our trip to Kauai....and it was our honeymoon, so that means a lot. The tour guide, Larry, was wonderful and answered everyone's typical questions as if he hadn't answered them a million times before. He was full of information. I also enjoyed our conversations with Nicole, Stephanie and the rest of the crew. What a great bunch of people! No detail was left untouched, from the delicious lunch, snacks and sodas to a raincoat when it started to sprinkle. The snorkeling and scenery were amazing. Larry showed us exactly where to sit to take the best photo of the dolphins and pointed out sea turtles too. Go with Captain Sundown--you won't regret it!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank acaills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“World Class Scenery and Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Amazing place!!!! Don't go to Kauai and not see this from the water or the trail. We saw the Na Pali Coast from Captain Sundown's Catamaran Cruise and it was ideal. The views are stunning, the water is amazing, and the Larry tells stories about the geology, the native Hawaiians, the history, and all the movie sites. It was great.

The day cruise is 6 hours and starts in Hanalei, which a slice of paradise. When the weather and conditions permit, at the end of the coast there is a snorkeling stop. It's a great experience-- we saw sea turtles at a "cleaning station" where the fish nibble away at the turtles. That said, the snorkeling is really second to seeing this amazing place.

There are other choices that bring one "closer to Nature", such as kayaks and Zodiac boats, but this sailboat felt plenty close yet we had some protection from the weather or waves. It was COLD on the ride home from the wet bathing suits, the waves and spray and the rain. Bring towels and jackets!

Oh yes, they run fishing lines off the back of the boat. And we caught some!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Chodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great day on the Na Pali coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Highlight of the week on Kauai and worth the money. Like the other reviewers have said: right number of passengers, family-run business that cares, good lunches and, most important, concerned with your safety.
Bring a rain jacket/ parka or a fleece. It is cold on the way back when you're wet. And chances are you will get wetter!
Maholo to Capt. Bob, Stephanie, Larry and Nicole for a great day on the water!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Sundown also viewed

 

Been to Captain Sundown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing