We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day on the Na Pali coast”
Review of Captain Sundown

Captain Sundown
Ranked #8 of 19 Tours in Hanalei
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Family operated Na Pali Sailing Catamaran Company. Offering North Shore departures from Hanalei Pier Beach. Enjoy white sandy beaches, ancient volcanic cliffs, waterfalls and pristine blue ocean waters. Captain Sundown welcomes you aboard 40' Catamaran Ku'uipo for 360 degree views of Na Pali cliffs and personalized (15-17 passenger) Na Pali Snorkel tour (Nu'alolo Kai) or romantic Bali Hai Sunset Sail in Hanalei Bay. Seating choices include: fully shaded cushioned cabin seating or wrap-around open deck seating. For more fun, try our wet and splashy trampoline nets for a wet and wild adventure ride. Come face to face with marine life including Bottle-nose Dolphins, Hawaiian Spinner Dolphins, Honu the Green Sea Turtles, Flying Fish and Rare Marine Birds. Troll Fishing lines for Tuna, Mahi Mahi or Ono. Let the young ones hand line in Papio, Rainbow Runners and Aku! Snorkel Sail inc: Snorkel gear, deli meal and bottled water, sodas. Sunset Sail inc: Light Snacks and bottled water, sodas History Established in 1971. Born and reared in Hawaii, Capt. Sundown honed his ocean skills as a young man surfing and sailing Hawaiian waters. His passions include his faith in God, love of family and spirit of Aloha. Sailing on deck with a small group of people is the core principal of this company. Returning passengers who share our love of sailing off the beaten path, are the epicenter of our success. From your first telephone call until we shuttle you back to your car from your sailing adventure, you will always be in the tender care of a Capt. Sundown family member. We love people and it shows in every aspect of our jobs.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great day on the Na Pali coast”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Highlight of the week on Kauai and worth the money. Like the other reviewers have said: right number of passengers, family-run business that cares, good lunches and, most important, concerned with your safety.
Bring a rain jacket/ parka or a fleece. It is cold on the way back when you're wet. And chances are you will get wetter!
Maholo to Capt. Bob, Stephanie, Larry and Nicole for a great day on the water!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    14
    8
    9
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth every penny!”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

What an amazing adventure! The sail down the Napali coast is like none other. Great views of the beautiful cliffs, waterfalls and beaches. Larry, the Captain's son, knows a lot about the history of the island and will tell you anything you want to know. Captain bob is great and you feel very safe on his boat. The snorkeling was also great but went by quickly but I dont think I could have done more even if i wanted to. The ride back was close to the cliffs and you got to see a lot more....except for when the waves were crashing up on the boat. It was a wet ride back to hanalei but it was the best rollercoaster ever! Lots of fun all around! It is worth every penny for this trip!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jhelleloid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great day with Captain Sundown.”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We recently went to Kauai on our honeymoon and went on Captain Sundowns 6 hour snorkeing cruise. We had an amazing time. The captain and tour guide Larry were great. We had a ton of fun and saw the beautiful Na Palu coast. Lunch was great; we loved the sandwiches. We would definantly recommend this tour to anyone!

Helpful?
Thank Annetaann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Enjoyable trip to the coast”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I really enjoyed this catamaran snorkel/sail tour of the Napali Coast. I chose this tour for several reasons. Among them was the location - leaving from this side of the island allows you to see more of the Napali. We got up way too early for vacation and drove up from Poipu, and it was completely worth it. The setting in Hanalei bay is lovely. I also liked the idea of a sailboat, though we did not get to sail. Lastly, the small number of passengers was a huge draw to me. I am not always a great sailor on the water, and have a tendency to get motion sick, so the idea of having some space to breathe was welcome. The boat was a good size for the number of people on board. The crew was small - just three people. It is clearly a family run operation that takes a lot of pride in the coast and the island. Larry was great - very entertaining and informative. You can tell he really enjoys his job. The Captain did indeed talk during the tour, and piloted the boat well. The boat was designed by him, and custom-made, so it speaks to his experience on the water. The all cash thing was a little shady, but hey, whatever floats your boat. I was made well aware of it in advance, and was prepared. They meet you at the courthouse, take you to the bay in a pick up, then shuttle you via a small boat out the the catamaran in the bay. Loading and unloading take a little bit of time due to the shuttling. Once on the water, we saw dolphins. The coast was amazing. It rained on and off on our way to the snorkel spot. Once we got to the snorkel spot, it cleared up. Snorkel gear was provided, and it was in good shape and clean. This was my first time snorkeling, so I was a little worried about that. We got to see some reef sharks while snorkeling, so that was exciting! Lunch was good. There were plenty of drink choices, from water to sodas of all types. There was also an area on the boat for storage and shade if you really must. The website tells you to bring a waterproof jacket and I 100% support that. Wind and a light drizzle can be very cold when you are on the water. Also, bring a change of clothes to keep in your car. We were absolutely soaked from the snorkel and ride back to the bay. Slipping into clothes that were warm from your trunk was heaven! Lastly, be brave and tough it out on the way back in. You will get wet - there are NO dry spots. Listen to Larry when he tells you. Seriously. Be prepared, and embrace it. And don't bring anything that can't get wet. That DSLR you have - leave it at your hotel or invest in a waterproof case or camera for this trip, and you will not be sorry.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank nowaytobegin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Aloha spirit and stunning views”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

What an incredible evening! We choose the 3-hour sunset sail from Hanalei Bay on May 17th. From start to finish, the experience was wonderful. Portia in the front office gave top-notch customer service and an overview of the tour. The directions on where to meet were very clear. Larry provided incredible insight to the culture and folklore of the island along the Na Pali coast. His hospitality and genuine aloha spirit made our trip extra special. Captain Bob navigated us down the coast providing spectacular views and photo opportunities of this special island. The catamaran was just the right size for us, room to get around with a more intimate feel. This family run business cares about your experience and leaves you wanting more. Thank you Captain and crew for a spectacular evening, and a treasured memory. We will be back. Highly recommended!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Captain Sundown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing