We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Aloha! Great Hawaiian Home”
Beautiful secluded beach across the road
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful secluded beach across the road
Beach at sunset Living/Dining Area - View from Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Beautiful secluded beach across the road
Beach at sunset
Living/Dining Area - View from Kitchen
Living/Dining Area - View from Kitchen
Living/Dining Area
Kitchen - Tiled counter and gas range
Master Bedroom - King Bed
Bedroom - Queen Bed
The Mermaid House!
second bedroom/king bed
second bedroom/king bed
lanai
beach/ 2 minute walk from MH
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Haena, Kauai, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chandra R
San Anselmo, California
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Aloha! Great Hawaiian Home”
Reviewed August 12, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We are a family of 5 and we all enjoyed this house. It has a ton of character and is very comfortable. The living room has 2 extra couch type beds that everyone loved to lounge on. The beds in the rooms were large and comfortable. The kitchen is totally functional and easy to cook in. Basically the house had everything we needed. The location is also fantastic only 2 miles from beautiful Ke'e Beach and the Napali Coast hike. It's right across the street from a gorgeous beach that was good for boogie boarding, swimming and star gazing. Loved it!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldGray
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful North Shore Vacation House”
Reviewed July 2, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our two week stay at Mermaid House. The house is a 5 minute walk from a beautiful uncrowded beach, and an easy walk on the beach or road to Tunnels Beach to the west and Kepuhi Beach to the east, both offering spectacular snorkeling. The house itself felt spacious and comfortable, even for seven of us (5 adults and 2 young kids). We found the house clean and well furnished and the fascinating decor is full of charm and nostalgia. There is a large and private yard and large lanai. We enjoyed outdoor barbecues almost every night. There is adequate space off the road to park two cars. The house is on a dirt road with little traffic that runs parallel to the Kuhio highway, far enough off the highway that you don't hear any traffic. There don't seem to be as many red jungle fowl (chickens) on the north shore, so you won't hear as much crowing as you might elsewhere on Kauai. But you will frequently hear the beautiful songs of the white-rumped shama, of which there are a large number in the area. The house is not new, and you may encounter a sticky door or two, but in general we found everything well equipped and maintained. The owner was very responsive to emails and all our interactions with her were great. We'll definitely return to the Mermaid House in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor, location, size, style.
Liked least: Neighbors could occasionally be noisy.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Reviewed August 12, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewed August 6, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Susan W
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I keep going back!”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 for a stay in August 2013

My family have been to kauai 5 times in the past 12 years. We have chosen to stay at the Mermaid House on the north shore each time. I have also recommended it to many friends who have stayed there. My recommendation is based on the location, close to the best beaches atmosphere, old beach style with comfortable amenities and friendliness of owner, Jane.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie K
Rockford, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Should be called 'lizard house'”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
4
people found this review helpful

The screens were worn so that the lizards could come in and out freely. The door sill was also missing so they could also run in under the door. At night we could hear several clicking in the house. The house listing also states that there is a laundry on site. The laundry is in a lean-to on the back of the house, so you have to carry your clothes outside and sit the basket in the yard while doing laundry. The toilet seat in one of the bathrooms was broken and two of the fan knobs were missing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was close to beaches
Liked least: The lizards which were everywhere in the house.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 14, 2014
It is highly unusual for me to receive negative feedback for the Mermaid House. Guests are usually very pleased and I have an extremely high number of repeat guests as a result. I try very hard to accurately represent the house but clearly there was an extreme mismatch in this instance. A vintage beach house was cetainly not a good "fit" for this guest. I very much regret that. I take a lot of pride in keeping the house well maintained and I provide guests with my personal phone number in the event there is an issue needing to be addressed. I have a network of north shore trades people to help within 24 hours. I received no phone call from this guest. Regarding gechos: they are ubiquitous in houses regardless of price point. Or, as I state in information provided in advance: "consider them as part of the tropical experience". Left unsaid by this guest was the fact that this was a rebook of a June 2013 cancellation. The cancellation occurred 31 days prior to arrival and I was unsuccessful in making an alternate booking resulting in a revenue loss to me. Nevertheless, I worked with the guest to rebook on dates of their choice 12 months later. They were credited with a dollar amount in accordance with my cancellation policy. Apparently the good faith and good will I demonstrated in no way mitigated the guest's dissatisfaction. That is regrettable for all sides. Jane Helmich, owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellaschri...
cali
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Spot for Quite”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We rented this beautiful House for a week and it was amazing. Three Bedrooms and 2 baths and a huge living room. A block from the beach, bring your snorkel gear and your set.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: out of the way
Liked least: Not @ the beach
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing