We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“I keep going back!”
Beautiful secluded beach across the road
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful secluded beach across the road
Beach at sunset Living/Dining Area - View from Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Beautiful secluded beach across the road
Beach at sunset
Living/Dining Area - View from Kitchen
Living/Dining Area - View from Kitchen
Living/Dining Area
Kitchen - Tiled counter and gas range
Master Bedroom - King Bed
Bedroom - Queen Bed
The Mermaid House!
second bedroom/king bed
second bedroom/king bed
lanai
beach/ 2 minute walk from MH
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Haena, Kauai, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Susan W
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I keep going back!”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 for a stay in August 2013

My family have been to kauai 5 times in the past 12 years. We have chosen to stay at the Mermaid House on the north shore each time. I have also recommended it to many friends who have stayed there. My recommendation is based on the location, close to the best beaches atmosphere, old beach style with comfortable amenities and friendliness of owner, Jane.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie K
Rockford, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Should be called 'lizard house'”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
4
people found this review helpful

The screens were worn so that the lizards could come in and out freely. The door sill was also missing so they could also run in under the door. At night we could hear several clicking in the house. The house listing also states that there is a laundry on site. The laundry is in a lean-to on the back of the house, so you have to carry your clothes outside and sit the basket in the yard while doing laundry. The toilet seat in one of the bathrooms was broken and two of the fan knobs were missing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was close to beaches
Liked least: The lizards which were everywhere in the house.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 14, 2014
It is highly unusual for me to receive negative feedback for the Mermaid House. Guests are usually very pleased and I have an extremely high number of repeat guests as a result. I try very hard to accurately represent the house but clearly there was an extreme mismatch in this instance. A vintage beach house was cetainly not a good "fit" for this guest. I very much regret that. I take a lot of pride in keeping the house well maintained and I provide guests with my personal phone number in the event there is an issue needing to be addressed. I have a network of north shore trades people to help within 24 hours. I received no phone call from this guest. Regarding gechos: they are ubiquitous in houses regardless of price point. Or, as I state in information provided in advance: "consider them as part of the tropical experience". Left unsaid by this guest was the fact that this was a rebook of a June 2013 cancellation. The cancellation occurred 31 days prior to arrival and I was unsuccessful in making an alternate booking resulting in a revenue loss to me. Nevertheless, I worked with the guest to rebook on dates of their choice 12 months later. They were credited with a dollar amount in accordance with my cancellation policy. Apparently the good faith and good will I demonstrated in no way mitigated the guest's dissatisfaction. That is regrettable for all sides. Jane Helmich, owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellaschri...
cali
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Spot for Quite”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We rented this beautiful House for a week and it was amazing. Three Bedrooms and 2 baths and a huge living room. A block from the beach, bring your snorkel gear and your set.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: out of the way
Liked least: Not @ the beach
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minette_L...
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Clean, charming house with lots of space”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I had the pleasure of staying at the Mermaid House in May of 2014 and can't wait to return.

The house was clean, well appointed, and totally charming. The description of the house is very accurate in all respects, but we found it to be larger than anticipated (especially the three bedrooms, all of which are quite large and nicer than they appear in the photographs). We especially appreciated the well-stocked kitchen, the comfortable and functional shared spaces, and the fun and quirky décor that makes this house so special. For the price, it's unbeatable.

The neighborhood is quiet and sweet, and it's a good match for people who like to be tucked in away from it all. It's about a 20-minute drive to the nearest grocery store, but for the right type of traveler that makes it all the better. The sort walk to the beach takes only a couple of minutes and the cove nearest the house is beautiful. We walked there every morning, coffee in hand, to sit in the sand and watch the waves crash on the beach.

I'd heard that the roosters were pretty loud at the house, but we didn't find that to be the case on the dates we were there. We did hear quite a bit of noise from nearby neighbors, which made it difficult to get to sleep some nights...but that's not the Mermaid House's fault.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, attractive decor, well-stocked kitchen
Liked least: Noisy neighbors
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lal K
1 review
“This is a special place, Mermaid House a haven in Ha'ena.”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Clean relaxed very comfortable and everything you need to enjoy the north shore.
Jane is wonderful to deal with. The Mermaid decore is charming, and the book about the designer a woman who sailed there solo and loved the sea is wonderful to read of Hanalei in the fifties and sixties. It rained some but even with all the windows open it never rained in. Living room and kitchen had vaulted ceilings and open space. A quiet peaceful paradise, Had an amazing time with my daughter, granddaughter, son in law and family friends. Mahalo Nui and Aloha to Jane the wonderful owner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful decorations, shells, art and nautical mermaid features.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Reviewed June 1, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ca
Reviewed March 6, 2012 for a stay in November 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing