We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 6:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Holo Holo Charters tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Holo Holo Charters
from $137.60
More Info
from $169.61
More Info
from $229.34
More Info
Reviews (4,223)
Filter reviews
4,181 results
Traveler rating
3,534
432
118
41
56
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,534
432
118
41
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain wendell forbidden island sunset cruise niihau super tour napali coast spinner dolphins great trip monk seal sea turtles continental breakfast snorkel sail port allen pasta salad food and drinks nepali coast beer and wine crew members
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 4,181 reviews
Reviewed today

Staff was great! But the trip was terrible... people were throwing up left and right and it didn’t seem unusual to the staff. We were not able to eat anything!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Dreamer46869667709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed today

On Sunday, November 4th, my wife and I had the pleasure of taking Holo Holo Charter's Nihau and Napali Super Tour out of Port Allen, Kauai. It was an excellent adventure, and, as I have said in the title it may have been the best small boat excursion I have ever taken, and I have done a lot for sightseeing, snorkeling, bird watching, etc. I say this primarily based on the quality of the crew. Led by Captain Drew, and 3 assistants; ( Sorry I only remember Jess by name, but the other two were great as well ). All were professional, friendly, courteous, and very attentive to customers' requests and needs.
The 7 hour cruise, including snorkeltime at Nihau was pretty special. We were lucky ( for November ) to have calm seas, at least in the morning, and the views along the Napali Coast were spectacular. Captain Drew even managed to navigate the catamaran into relatively small sea caves for close up looks at the geology, and wildlife that was in and around these areas.
I may have been the only one on board who was mostly interested in the local seabirds, and there were lots around. My only suggestion in this area would be to have the skipper, ( or other crew members ) spend a bit more time talking about the local birds, although I realize that, for most passengers, there might be limited interest. I did, however, find myself answering questions from fellow passengers about what birds we were seeing. Understandably, most of the passengers were more interested in seeing dolphins, seals, fish and the possibility of seeing Humpback Whales.
Considering the limited amount of space on board, I was impressed by the quality of the food served which was a continental breakfast, and lots of sandwich, and salad possiblities at lunchtime. An open bar, ( after snorkeling of course ), was enjoyed by many.
The snorkeling itself on the lee side Niihau was pretty good. The water was very clear, but, not suprisingly, the coral itself was not in great shape, and, therefore, there were not " tons " of fish. Having said that, I was not expecting anything different. If 40-50 people are heading out to this spot on an almost daily basis all slathered in sun screen, over time there has to be some degredation of the habitat. Still, for Hawaii, based on my snorkeling experience on the islands, it was fine.
Coming back in the afternoon, after the seas have had a chance to build up a bit, was a rougher ride than going out. Captain Drew had informed all about this and, for those prone, to take the necessary precautions. For most of the passengers, it was a fun experience " riding the waves ", on a fast boat, listening to some nice tunes.
All in all, it was a great day, and we would like to thank Holo Holo Charters, and their great crew for a fun, and memorable experience.

1  Thank Odin44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday

Captain Kelly and her mates were the BEST. Safety first, this gracious crew made the day a fabulous one with their attentive service, interesting fun conversations, and terrific sail. Captain Kelly stops for wildlife and thanks to her, we saw tons. Thank you! I'd go again in a heartbeat.

1  Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday

Advertised was the Na Pali coast, but the day we had signed up for the waves were apparently too big on that side of the island. So that part was a big bummer. Nevertheless, our day was super fun! We still saw 20+ dolphins (some that swam right with us for several minutes!) and swam with tropical fish and turtles. Breakfast was eh but lunch was awesome! The crew were all awesome and the boat was BEAUTIFUL. Highly recommend booking with these guys.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank GrandTour04145258709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago

From the moment we got on the boat, until the moment we stepped off , we felt taken care of, safe, and saw dolphins, whales in the far distance, and a lot of fish.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank JohnO3866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We did the na pali tour and snorkel. The surf was a little rough so we were unable to visit some of the normal spots, but Captain Wendell and the crew still made it an excellent trip---they serve their guests really well. They focus on safety first but they were entertaining and really fun to be around. Each crewmember knew different things about diving or marine life which is a bonus and they're all happy to share some knowledge. My wife got a little sea sick toward the end and Jess (crew) even went out of her way to check in every 10 minutes or so to help out. Despite the weather and sea sickness, we would definitely do this again! Mahalo, Holo Holo!

1  Thank Sightsee68192946863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago

We vacationed with our 3 adult children. I have to say this was a great way to spend a day on Kauai. The Napali Coast is definitely something you don't want to miss. The views are amazing. Our Captain Mike and Crew were fantastic, very informative and made the trip a great one. The food was very good as well! Thanks again HoloHolo Charters.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Jeffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We loved our sunset sail in Kauai! The crew @holoholocharters was friendly, funny, and thoroughly professional. From rainbows to spinner dolphins, to a gourmet dinner in a picturesque cove on the south side of the island- our trip could not have been more perfect! #HoloHoloOhana

1  Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoloHoloCharters, Guest Relations Manager at Holo Holo Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

We are loving your review! Thank you so much for joining us and for letting us know what a great time you had! Mahalo and Aloha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago

We were disappointed not to get to see the Napali Coastline due to swells/winds on the northside but loved our cruise along the south side just the same. We say dolphins, sea turtles and even a hump back whale. Crew members were very friendly and gracious in answering questions. We'll have to come again to see Napali!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Seaside18892611040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoloHoloCharters, Guest Relations Manager at Holo Holo Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

We are glad to know that, although weather kept us from our original plan, you still had a great time out on the water with us! Mahalo and Aloha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

This was the best ting we did our whole trip! We went on a boat without a sail so we were able to go inside a few caves. The most beautiful views of the Napali coast, great food and service.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Wanderer50025826641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoloHoloCharters, Guest Relations Manager at Holo Holo Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Your review has got us floored! Thank you so much for joining us and for sharing your review! Mahalo and Aloha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews