We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great trip to north shore, lots of whales in march”
Review of Holo Holo Charters

Holo Holo Charters
Book In Advance
More Info
$129.00*
and up
Na Pali Sunset Dinner Cruise
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Eleele
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Get to the Fun Faster! The memories will last a lifetime... Our four boats, Leila, Holo Holo, and Adventurer II & III, get you to the action quicker than anybody else, so you have more time to snorkel, sightsee, relax and enjoy the pristine waters and spectacular cliffs of the Napali Coast & Niihau. We are the only Kauai boat tours company that offers daily trips to the "forbidden island" of Niihau.
rhode island
Level Contributor
137 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“great trip to north shore, lots of whales in march”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Great trip in March 2014, The outfit is professional and well organized.
The boat was comfortable, a large sailing cat (though never put up the sails... it didn't matter)
Stopped for one hour of snorkeling, they say it's weather dependant, but perhaps they always stop at the same place(?) just outside of the harbor, it was "oK", nothing special to see, some fish, sickly coral, breaking waves... but the majority of the people on the boat had never snorkeled before, and they thought it was terrific.
After that, brunch was served, and then we headed along the coast, a fabulous ride and view of the entire Napali coast area. The crew members were well informed about local biology and history, and took comfortable turns sharing info.The captain didn't say much, and wasn't particularly friendly, but he seemed to do a good job. probably better that he wasn't distracted, and the crew handled the customers.
It was whale season, we saw literally, at least 100 whales. Also, spinner dolphins jumping and spinning and riding the bow-wave, and turtles mating!
They also served lunch and drinks.

It was a great way to spend the day, very relaxed. They did allow us to sit on the trampolines, in the bow area, perhaps because the water was really flat and beautiful that day.

I am very happy that I did this trip!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank rhodeygem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kit F, Guest Relations Manager at Holo Holo Charters, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Its a pleasure to hear that you were happy with your trip aboard our 50' ft sailing catamaran.
Snorkeling is always ocean and weather permitting, our Captains choose where to snorkel based on the conditions for the day. We apologize that the snorkeling did not meet your expectations and hope that you join us again on another snorkel excursion. Until then Aloha from Kaua'i!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,131
    309
    82
    28
    43
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Sunset Tour!!”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We(group of 5 adults) took the 3 hr sunset tour, everything about the experience was great! Capt and 2 crew were always on the ball, safety conscious, polite, knowledgeable. My sister started feeling very 'green' during the trip and the guys went out of their way to help her feel better. The Napali Coast was amazing, we saw lots of whales, some sea turtles, 3 dolphins and even a flying fish! And the sunset was beautiful on top of it all, accompanied by a glass of champagne.
Boat was clean, the food--what they call 'heavy appetizers'--was hamburgers, salad, wraps, crackers and dip, and good. All in all highly recommend this company. The ride was somewhat rough at times, but they warned everyone of what to expect prior to boarding the boat, with the option of rescheduling or cancelling if so desired. Strongly suggest taking some ginger pills or gravol prior to the trip if you are prone to seasickness. Be realistic, you will be traversing open ocean, not a lake! Conditions probably calmer during the 'summer' months, we went in mid March.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kit F, Guest Relations Manager at Holo Holo Charters, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Awesome! Looks like you folks enjoyed yourselves while viewing the breathtaking Napali coast. We always recommend that our guest take some type of motion sickness preventive if they're prone to motion sickness or if they have not been on the open ocean (cannot be compared to a lake). On a day like yours, though unable to guarantee sea conditions our Captains are skilled, take into consideration safety and comfort and access daily weather reports to determine what may be expected at sea. To brave the adventure is indeed left up to you! We'd like to thank you for choosing Holo Holo Charters and a special Mahalo nui loa for such positive feedback, it is greatly appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“I can't say enough about our wonderful day!”
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

I love boating, water and the sun. This 7 hour trip on a fast catamaran was perfect for me. We started out on a slow tour of the Napali coast, then headed across the way to the Forbidden Island for some snorkeling. The food (breakfast and lunch) was really good. The service was excellent. The 4 crew members were so attentive to all the needs of the guests. No way your cup could possibly run dry! I would highly recommend this tour (unless you have a tendency towards sea sickness).

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank LynnW4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kit F, Guest Relations Manager at Holo Holo Charters, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
We're thrilled to hear that you had a great time aboard our 7 hour Ni'ihau and Napali super tour! Sounds like this was the perfect tour for you. Not only did you get to enjoy boating aboard Holo Holo but also got to see the Beautiful Napali coast. Can't forget to mention snorkeling out at Ni'ihau, it is definitely a treat in itself and to be able to see so much different marine life and stunning coral reefs. It is always a pleasure to hear such good feedback about our Captains and crew. They really do their utmost to make sure everyone is having a good time! Mahalo for your positive feedback it is very much appreciated! If your ever visiting the Garden Isle again, we'd love for you to join us aboard one of our other Napali tours we offer! Mahalo Nui Loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
649 reviews
362 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Great adventure”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We took the afternoon cruise because we did not want to get up so early to drive the Eleele from our hotel extra early. We are happy that we did. The cruise was fantastic. The sights on the far side of Kauai are spectacular. The cruise was cool. It was one of the highlights of our stay in Kauai.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kit F, Guest Relations Manager at Holo Holo Charters, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. The 3.5 hour Napali Sunset & Sightsee tour is one of the best ways to experience the Napali coast in a short period of time and without an early morning ;) and there is nothing like a Napali sunset from the water! We do hope you will join us again on a return trip to Kaua'i.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody, Wyoming
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Six Hour Adventure to Napali and Nihau!”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Be prepared to get up early because call time is 6 a.m. for this adventure to the Napali Coast where the captain will, weather permitting, drive the boat into cave waterfalls! The boat is clean, organized and fast! The crew is extremely friendly, well trained, safety conscious and work hard to make your experience is pleasant! They serve a continental breakfast and lunch and cocktails after snorkeling. We has the pleasure of seeing turtles and many, many whales! During our trip, the captain spotted a whale who had been trapped in a fishermen's net and was able to report and photograph his condition for rescue. (The net was identified as an Alaskan fishing net which the whale may have drug all they way to Kauai.) The snorkeling site, a crater near Nihau, was so clear and nick named "Sammy's Cove" due to the friendly monk seal who was also a delight for us! This is the longest of the boat tours available with only an hour of snorkeling but it truly is a great adventure and tons of fun! My family enjoyed getting to know and laughing with the crew! Sean and Chellen were great! Mahalo!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeannak60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kit F, Guest Relations Manager at Holo Holo Charters, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Sounds like you folks had a amazing time while visiting the Napali coast and Ni'ihau. It is definitely a treat to see so much in just 7 hours. Our Captain and Crew strive to adhere to legal requirements and guidelines as well best viewing practices to ensure the safety of marine life we encounter. We're so happy to hear that your family got to see so many different types of marine life. We hope to have your family join us again if you're ever visiting Kaua'i. Mahalo nui loa, thank you for choosing Holo Holo Charters!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holo Holo Charters also viewed

 

Been to Holo Holo Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing