We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic time along the Napili Coast”
Review of Holo Holo Charters

Holo Holo Charters
Book In Advance
More Info
$137.60*
and up
Na Pali Sunset Dinner Cruise
More Info
$90.67*
and up
Aloha Sunset Sail
More Info
$169.61*
and up
Na Pali Coast Kauai Snorkel and Sail
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Eleele
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Get to the Fun Faster! The memories will last a lifetime... Our four boats, Leila, Holo Holo, and Adventurer II & III, get you to the action quicker than anybody else, so you have more time to snorkel, sightsee, relax and enjoy the pristine waters and spectacular cliffs of the Napali Coast & Niihau. We are the only Kauai boat tours company that offers daily trips to the "forbidden island" of Niihau.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband and I just came back from a 5 hour trip on the Leila with Holo Holo. This is a 50 ft catamaran and they only allow 37 people on it. We lucked out and there was only 21 people on our trip. The entire trip was awesome, starting with the weather, and also the crew. Our captain, Glen is a salty old (sorry Glen, you're not that old... ha ha) sea captain with a cranky but fun attitude. Loved it and him. Kelly and Abraham were the other two members of our crew and they were fantastic as well. Couldn't have asked for better service, knowledge and attention to our safety and comfort. The vibe on the boat was very relaxed with awesome music. They started off with the theme from Gilligan's Island (you know, 3 hour cruise). Had a blast lying on the trampolines at the front and getting soaked. Saw so many dolphins, racing along the boat with us and spinning in the air. So amazing! We have done two of these catamaran sailing trips in Maui and this was as good or better. Breakfast was good with bagels with cream cheese, some pastries and fruit. Lunch was good as well, with everything to build your own sandwich and a nice pasta salad, vegies and fresh fruit. After snorkelling we were offered beer and wine. They aren't stingy on refills either. Snorkelling was really good and the water is so clear and so blue. The snorkelling equipment was in great shape and everything on the boat was spotless.
The coastline along the Napili is out of this world, and words can't even describe it. If you're hesitating to do this trip, don't. It was an awesome day that we won't soon forget.

Thank Duncan6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kit F, Guest Relations Manager at Holo Holo Charters, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Guest,
Mahalo for this informative and glowing review! We always appreciate when guests share their honest feedback with us and other readers. We are so pleased the Captain and crew took good care of you, they are truly passionate about what they do and that always shows. Thanks for joining us, we hope you try one of our other tours during your next Kauai visit. Mahalo and aloha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,045)
There are newer reviews for Holo Holo Charters
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,559 - 2,563 of 3,047 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

We set sail for the Nihau cruise and it was amazing. We have done other boat tours previously and we enjoyed this cruise along the Napali Coast much more. Snorkeling was amazing, even though we did not get to meet the friendly Sandy the sealion, we enjoyed the views. There was so much food the entire trip, no reason for anyone to go hungry. The ride back to Port Allen was like an exciting roller coaster ride, which lasted longer that a whole day at an amusement park. So worth every penny. We had Captain Wendall and I do have to say Matt and the rest of the crew was attentive to everyones needs. A+
We enjoyed it so much we added in a sunset cruise, which was equally amazing. Being able to see the Napali Coast in the evening is so worth it. Plus the sunset is breath taking.!

1  Thank SharonBG416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kit F, Guest Relations Manager at Holo Holo Charters, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thanks for the perfect mark, we love receiving an A+ and five stars! We are so happy to know you thoroughly enjoyed the trip; the views, snorkeling and adventure are not to be missed while on Kauai. Thanks for joining us, twice! Love to hear that you also took the sunset tour; the Napali Coast is incredibly beautiful and looks dramatically different in the morning versus afternoon sunlight. We hope to see you again soon as you have earned your “repeat offender” status! Mahalo and aloha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We took the Napali / Niihau Super Trip. This trip was approx. 7 hours long and most of that time was spent in extremely rough open seas with not much to see except large waves. The snorkeling portion is also for experienced snorkelers only. The crew issued warnings prior to the snorkeling portion, stressing that anyone who was not a strong swimmer and strong snorkeler should not attempt it. This is one of the main reasons we went (and 2 of our party of four did not even dare to go in the water)! There was a portion of the trip (1 – 2 hours) cruising down the Napali Coast which was very scenic and enjoyable – but not worth the ride back and forth to Niihau, which was so rough that we were not even allowed to get out of our seats. We were warned about the rough conditions by the crew, although this did not come until we had already paid our money and were ready to board the boat at 6:00 a.m.

2  Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kit F, Guest Relations Manager at Holo Holo Charters, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts and concerns with us. We apologize that weather did not allow you to fully enjoy the tour that day. Unfortunately we are subject to weather and ocean conditions at all times, and conditions can often change quickly. We cannot always predict what the day will be like on the open ocean, and safety is our number one priority. We will always make our tour expectations known to guests before boarding the vessel if we anticipate weather to change or alter the tour. Our Captain understands the ocean and currents, they experience it daily, so they issue warnings as they see fit in regards to snorkeling. Thanks for joining us, next time you may prefer to try a Sunset Sightsee Tour, a shorter trip without the snorkeling. Mahalo and aloha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We took the morning ride including the coast and the snorkeling for a total of 7 hours trip.

The boat is clean, comfortable and the staff is attentive to passengers.

In the morning when you cruise along the Na apali coast, the sun is in the background not facing the coast. The colors are probably not as spectacular but the landscape remains impressive.

Then we went snorkeing close to Nihau. Crystal clear water, depth of 20-30 feet with the exception of "the wall" where it drops to 120 feet plus deep. Bottom is nice to see and, if you're lucky (I was)' you can get a kiss from an Hawaiian seal !

Going back to Kauaï was an "exciting" ride if you love jumping waves and being rocked from side to side. The captain had told us before we left, so we were warned. When he put the music on (Born to be wild)' we knew it was going to be...mmmmm.....exciting. Ans it was. If you are sensible to motion sickness, it is not the best part of the trip for you. But if you like challenging ride then you'll be served.

I do recommand it.

5  Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kit F, Guest Relations Manager at Holo Holo Charters, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thanks for your vivid description of your adventure! The Napali Coast is majestic, and truly looks different in all the various lights, we recommend doing a morning and afternoon tour to experience it all. Thanks for joining us and we hope you choose another adventure with Holo on your next visit to Kauai! Mahalo and aloha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

we had a small group snorkel adventure up the Napoli coast, lively crew and safety first. water is cool so wear a rash guard or light wet suit and use plenty of sunscreen

Thank pirateis48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kit F, Guest Relations Manager at Holo Holo Charters, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thanks for sharing your quick observations about your recent tour; we always appreciate hearing from our guests. Glad you had an enjoyable tour and we hope you join us again soon. Mahalo and aloha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holo Holo Charters also viewed

 

Been to Holo Holo Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing