We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Review Highlights
Highlight of our KAUAI trip!

We had an excellent time a board catamaran Kahanu. The captain was very experienced and made sure... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Mfprice
via mobile
Best boat tour you will ever go on

I have done several boat tours in Maui and Oahu but nothing compares to the Catamaran Kahanu in... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed yesterday
Passport05818244628
,
Portland, Oregon
Read all 1,041 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Eleele
from $91.90
More Info
from $160.22
More Info
from $129.73
More Info
from $145.95
More Info
Reviews (1,041)
Filter reviews
854 results
Traveler rating
755
56
15
11
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
755
56
15
11
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain lani smaller boat family owned business hawaiian family larger companies big companies intimate experience marine biologist smaller size smaller group napali coast perfect size no alcohol hour whale watching tour sea turtles experienced captain knowledgeable captain
Filter
Updating list...
235 - 240 of 854 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2017 via mobile

We had a fabulous time with Captain and Emma! If you want to experience a trip with a captain and folks who have all of the knowledge of Kauai and the coastline, in addition to a great tour and lunch-go with Catamaran Kahanu-hands down. They are not a commercial out of state or out of area company-Capt has been on the ocean here all of his life and knows his stuff! Not a packed boat of people-perfect trip!

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Kristy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2017

Very kind people and fun time hope that I can do it again soon! The caves and waterfall were super cool:)

Date of experience: September 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank annageist02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2017

The good.
The boat was small but that's what we wanted.

The not so good.
We did not get a chance to snorkel when other boats did.
The captain had almost no humor and sounded like a broken record.
The seats were terrible and uncomfortable.
Even with the bad waves, I managed to still fall asleep because the tour was so boring.

Date of experience: November 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Joshua T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan L, Guest Relations Manager at Catamaran Kahanu, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2017

Aloha Joshua, On behalf of everyone at Catamaran Kahanu I apologize that your trip did not live up to your expectations. I want to be sure to address the things you brought up in your review. We are a local family business and pride ourselves on sharing our knowledge and aloha with our guests. Safety is our number one priority onboard. Captain has decades of experience on the water around Kauai and we won't take unnecessary risks like letting guests snorkel in rough ocean conditions. Captain also makes it a priority to repeat important pieces of information to avoid any dangerous situations. As for seat comfort, we have multiple sitting areas and allow our guests to move around the boat to make themselves comfortable. We hope you will give us another chance the next time you visit.

Best,
Jordan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2017

I have been on 3 Napali Coast boat tours and Kahanu is hands down the best! Their small boat made for a personal and intimate experience and it was just perfect for our 5 and 7 year old. Catamaran Kahanu felt like we were out on the ocean on a friends boat exploring and experiencing what the coast has to offer. Captain Lani had a special kindness towards the kids and was excited to show them the porpoises and get them in the water to snorkel. We are so glad we chose Kahanu!

Date of experience: November 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank sroskowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip. The sights were wonderful. This smaller, family-owned catamaran made for a fun day and the captain was able to take us places the larger catamarans could not have gone. Would travel with them again and recommend them to friends.

Date of experience: October 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Myatime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews