We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Napali Coast Upfront & Personal”
Review of Catamaran Kahanu

Catamaran Kahanu
Book In Advance
More Info
$156.03*
and up
5-Hour Na Pali Coast Morning Tour
Ranked #4 of 14 things to do in Eleele
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Na Pali Coast Tour experience the majestic cliffs, sea caves, and marine animals. Enjoy swim and snorkel. Best day on your vacation with Captain Lani Tours.
Orland Park, Illinois
1 review
“Napali Coast Upfront & Personal”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Imagine a Napali Coast charter & snorkel tour. Imagine the choice between a catamaran of 50 + strangers or a gathering of 15 or 20 of what might become intimate friends. Imagine cruising into the mouth of a cave or being showered with fresh water cascading from the mountaintop. Imagine tying your bow to the rocks below conscienciously avoiding a heavy anchor that could rip or tear a century of coral development. Imagine fitting your feet with fins and flapping about with the marine life that acknowledges you are guests. Imagine being able to stop on a dime in a rather small catamaran to allow the sea turtles and surfacing porpoises their right of way. Imagine that porpoise surfacing the water only to blink at your colorfully suited girl. This is not the experience I had on Captain Andy or the Holo Holo Tour but rather Catamaran Kahanu with Capt. Lani and his deckmate Paige. Skip, Judy, Sarah & Jon thank you for a great day!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Skip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    620
    43
    11
    10
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magnificent Tour of Na Pali!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is our 5th trip to Kauai. We have previously seen Na Pali by helicopter and catamaran and hiked to Hanakapiai Beach several times, but the trip today with Catamaran Kahanu was our most fabulous Na Pali visit. Captain Lani is native to Kauai and his first trip to Na Pali was with his grandfather in 1957! His respect for Na Pali is evident. He knows where to find marine life--we had a close up encounter with 200 spinner porpoise! They actually followed in front of and along side the Kahanu. This catamaran is small and able to navigate into sea caves and areas that larger boats cannot access. Captain Lani and Paige gave us info on the history of Hawaiians in this area, formation of lava tubes and sea caves, and seasonal changes in the ocean. Only 20 people so there was plenty of room to move about and avoid the sea spray. A very personal and professional tour.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SmithFamilySLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenpasadena
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Thank you trip advisor reviewers”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I wanted to do a catamaran and snorkeling tour and couldn't get on one of the bigger boats because they were booked. Thanks to my fellow Trip Advisor reviewers, I found Catamaran Kahanu. Family-owned and operated, you get a trip with a personal touch and hear about the island from the viewpoint of a native Kauaian. Great trip, good weather and a great time. I agree with those who vote to support the smaller, family-owned tour companies - not the bigger "McDonalds" and WalMart" tours. Also, I can't believe all of the comments about the rough sea and food on catamaran trips. If you want fine dining and want to stay dry, then stay in your hotel and go to a restaurant. If you want an adventure, don't mind getting wet and want a memorable experience, then book this trip. Even in the middle of summer on calm seas, we all got wet and hit some good waves. But everyone had fun.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kenpasadena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great time and lots to see”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We made our reservations through the resort and therefore when we arrived at the "little blue hut" we were a little wary. The others have big offices and big boats. SOOO glad we were booked on this trip. The others have big boats, lots of people and from what I hear they are not as personal. Captain and Eric made our trip very special.
There were about 18 people on board (plus the crew of three). We were given special treatment and lunch went very smoothly. The snorkeling was wonderful and we saw LOTS of fish. On the way up we saw turtles and porpoises, caves and beaches, etc. The trip was well worth it and very glad we booked with a local family.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank tschell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“One short of 60 trips!!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have been with Catamaran Kahanu 59 times and have never had a bad trip...never! This year was no exception. I love the Na Pali coast and sailing with Captain Lani is the only way to see the coast. It is a small boat (in comparison) and only takes 20 passengers MAX!. This is important because you can get closer to the coastline, back into sea caves and see lots of wildlife. He can dock at Nuolo'lo (a Hawaiian fishing village) where you will snorkel with turtles, an occasional shark and lots of fish but few other snorkelers. Deli lunch always tastes good, especially the cookies. My husband and I can't wait to return to Kauai and our first stop will be Catamaran Kahanu....hope to see you on board!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ahuihao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catamaran Kahanu also viewed

 

Been to Catamaran Kahanu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing