We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island Girl & onion rings”

Duane's Ono Char-Burger
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Anahola
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Island Girl & onion rings”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

This place is a tiny place with no real eating space, except a patio, or bathrooms. The best way to do it is to call in your order and pick it up since the wait can be 30-45 minutes. The Island Girl is a burger with pineapple, Swiss cheese and teriyaki sauce and is delish! Their onion rings are the best I've had, fries are so-so though. Service can be hit or miss. Sometimes it's great, sometimes they act like they would rather be serving only locals and not dumb tourists. Either way, it's a great place to stop after a day on the beach!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kara w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    151
    58
    27
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
130 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“OMB!!! (Oh my burger)”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

The bomb diggity bomb of burgers. It is flavorful, it is fresh, it is juicy and unique....it's the island girl burger at Duane's!!!!! This features teriyaki, pineapple, & swiss. The teriyaki burger is the most popular, I got that one, too. The onion rings are crispy perfection.
It's pretty much a stand in the middle of the highway. Don't expect frills or friendly service....nor a bathroom. DO expect one of the most gratifying burger experiences of your life. FREAKIN YUM!!!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jovitarocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramona, CA/Lake Havasu City,AZ
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Reasonable price, okay food”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Duane's was recommended by an employee at a local attraction. We stopped for lunch and had an average meal. The burgers were just okay and the fries were a little soggy. The teriyaki burger was better than average but not spectacular. I would eat there again if I was in the area and hungry but wouldn't make a special trip.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Riverpoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, United States
Level Contributor
143 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

The burgers live up to their reputation on the island as the best. They are generous with the toppings and the burgers are charred to perfection. We had Duane's special and the Local Girl. The marionberry milk shake was also super-tasty. The rumor is true that you will wait a long time at this place even if it doesn't look too busy. Check out their menu online and call your order if you you can to avoid the 20-30 minute wait.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good, but not like I remember”
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, good burgers, fries and onion rings.
Although I lost my appetite when the chef came out in a filthy apron. Looks exactly the same after stopping by 20 years ago. Great if you are driving by, but definitely wouldn't drive from the south end for a burger here. Good but had better.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duane's Ono Char-Burger also viewed

 

Been to Duane's Ono Char-Burger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing