We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveler rating
29
11
7
5
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
29
11
7
5
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot shower great ocean hear the waves every morning bed was comfortable great camping yurt electricity twin garrett hawaii kappa island stove beaches roosters sunrise
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

An inconspicuous but wonderful place. It felt like home. Just to feel good. A very harmonious atmosphere and always an open ear. If you love the sea and the peace, is just right in the Kumu Camp. Absolutely recommended for everyone. Beautiful Time! Mahalo ❤️

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Nathalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2019 via mobile

Garrett is awesome!! There were 3 of us camping, the first night we stayed in a tentalow. It was beachfront and had its own private shower, although, no electricity. Regardless, it was exactly what we expected. The 2nd and 3rd nights we stayed in the sunrise hale yurt. WOW!! So much room, electricity with 2 fans, a king size bed with a bunk on top, and another twin bed on the floor. The beds are very comfortable and linens and towels are provided. Although the yurt did not have a private shower, the restrooms had a hot shower for each women’s and men’s bathrooms. The deck at the yurt was awesome for sunrise, sunset, and stargazing! We will be back for sure!! Also, no need for check-in or check-out, just find your tentalow or yurt and enjoy! Btw, they do not lock, so we kept most of our belongings in the car that we were able to park right outside the yurt! Mahalo Garrett!!!

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank amy513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2019

Really not bad at all. Yes, there were dirt bikes but only two and they didn't run them constantly or even past 6pm. I stayed Monday through Wednesday and all I heard at night was the ocean. There was a group of teens one night talking loudly and laughing but they departed around 6:30 or 7pm.
For some reason the roosters don't seem to go off at this place like they do everywhere else.
Maybe the weekends are different. I can't say.
Lovely beach and the water was wonderful! People, both campers and staff, were friendly.
They could use another shower though.

Date of stay: August 2019
Thank Cat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2019

We actually extended our one week camping here into two weeks because we liked it so much. The campground is right by the ocean and shaded with large pine trees. There are warm showers, grills, a pavilion and great dishwashing facilities. The staff is warm and friendly and makes coffee every morning for the campers. The beach in this location offers gentle boogie board waves in some parts and calm water in others. The location is an easy drive to many many beaches and to all commercial necessities in Kapa’a. Be sure to check out the tiny town of Anahola especially on Wednesdays and weekends Because the beach is also used by locals who drive their cars on the beach late at night , we recommend you take the usual precautions necessary on all of Kawai. That is: don’t leave your valuable items laying out in the open or even in your tent. Lock things in your car. Always keep in mind that there is poverty and where there is poverty there is envy of the things you have.
We loved Kumu Camp!

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank consue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2019

We enjoyed our stay (van camping) at Kumu Camp a lot. The host was really nice and kind, she offered us free tea and coffee every morning and was always around to help. We had booked campsite #3 which is a beachfront campsite that is also close to the amenities. There are two toilettes and one shower with warm water which are cleaned regularly on a daily basis. I think it’s not the host’s fault if some guests don’t know how to use a bathroom properly (in case someone said it wasn’t clean enough). All in all we cannot say anything negative about Kumu Camp, we really liked our time there!

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank StephanieK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews