We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Grand Vacations, The Big Island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2014

First class accommodations, the staff was very attentive. It is hard to find a combination of staff and quality that exceeds the experience at this location. Built with quality materials and planned for quiet.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
1  Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

672 - 678 of 1,100 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
16
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This was the worst hotel experience we have ever had and, unfortunately, it was our honeymoon. Due to a horribly designed bathtub drain, we had an overflow of our tub (because you couldn't tell if it was on or off and there weren't any instructions posted, nor were we ever shown how to use it). Despite the hotel assuring us "this happens all the time" because THEY put in the wrong size drains, they then RAPED us to pay for the over-inflated charges, alleging we ruined three rooms (which is not true). I have never been so appalled and outraged and will NEVER stay there again or support ANY Hilton after this mistreatment. DO NOT STAY HERE. Do not waste your time, energy, or hard earned money.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

While it is never a pleasure for a resort to levy room damages to a guest, these unfortunate accidents do happen and we have a responsibility to our homeowner’s association to proceed with necessary repairs and restoration. On behalf of the home owner’s association, I am glad that we were able to negotiate a fair invoice as you requested and that payment was fulfilled. We at Hilton Grand Vacations care immensely for our customers and we wish you well in your future travels.

Cheryl L.F. Amsbary
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

This resort is wonderful. We have been coming to the Big Island for years and we always look forward to staying at this location. The grounds are immaculate and the accommodations are well appointed. The front desk staff are very welcoming and friendly. The few concerns we have had were resolved immediately.

We definitely recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vlindsey2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The rooms were beautiful and very spacious with very comfy beds. The pool is small but you have access to the pools at the Waikoloa Village so this was not a big issue. Everything was fantastic except for when we checked out. At 15 minutes to noon (late check out), two different times they knocked on our door and called us twice to tell us to leave even though we were supposed to have until noon. That was very disappointing as the rest of our stay was perfect. Definitely a good place to take the family especially children as the Waikoloa Village Resort was spectacular. Would stay there instead if they had actual suites like this resort.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
Thank Hilary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Hilton Grand Vacation Club Waikoloa Village

On the face of it you might think this is a good offer but you have to look closer to see what you're really getting for the money and you'll soon find out it's not a good deal at all.

Let's start with the "Bonus Points" you are promised if you sign there and then on the day without taking the time to do the calculations. We were told if we buy 1 one bedroom condo deed week in prime time period every other year (4,800 points) it would cost us $16,400 and we would get 10,000 HGVC points as a bonus. So what is 10,000 points worth? Well you can convert the HGVC points into hilton honors points and you will get 250,000 HHP. If you have booked a stay at the Hilton hotel in Waikoloa you will know that the lowest class of room costs 50,000 points per night, equivalent in cash $240. So your bonus is actually worth 5 days in the Hilton Waikoloa Hotel (equivalent to $1,200). Not looking very good! Let's look into this deal further...
This deed gives only 4,800 HGVC points every other year, convert those points to HHP and you get 2.4 nights at the hotel (dollar value $576)

We were also told of the $1,300 maintenance fee per week every other year plus the club fee $136 on the years you are not paying the maintenance fee. Based on ownership for 20 years of enjoyment of this deal would cost you $16,400 down + $13,000 maintenance + $1,360 club fee = $30,760 spent and you will have received 10 weeks vacation accommodation, this makes each vacation stay $3,076 just for a place to stay. If you book a room in the Hilton Waikoloa hotel, it will only cost you $1,680 for the week.

Let's just look at what a rip off the maintenance fee is. HGVC is charging each person $1,300 per week, they sell 50 deeds per condo per year = $65,000 income for hilton just from maintenance. There is no way they spend even 50% of this per year on the upkeep of a 1 bed condo.

Now I hear you say, "but you can sell the deed", well it's not index linked so how much do you think your $16k is worth in 20 years time, maybe you can buy a garden shed with it.

Anyway, needless to say we didn't take up the offer. Once you do the calculations, you will see that the Hilton Team of professional timeshare sellers are simply that, professional con men and women who work on commission and YOU ARE TODAYS TARGET ! DON'T BUY ONE

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
193  Thank goodindiansearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Mahalo nui loa(Thank you very much) for your feedback and insight with purchasing a time share with Hilton. Timeshare has been a successful business for us, and while not the vacation choice for everyone our customers have purchased from us because they love the flexibility that ownership provides them when planning their vacations at locations around the world and others buy to insure a consistently high quality vacation experience year after year. The decision to purchase a timeshare is not an investment that will make you money, it is a prepayment of your future vacation experience. Again, we greatly appreciate your feedback and insight.

Glenn Okamoto
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We visited Hawaii over the Thanksgiving holiday and stayed here for a week. The condos are beautifully furnished ( we had a 2 bedrm premium suite) and ours sat right on the golf course, so the views were great. The beds were very comfortable. Ours had a queen in the master suite with a killer bath and the other had two twins with a nice bath (not attached). The pool(s) are nice and they have happy hour and music most nights at the main pool. You also have access to the nearby Hilton hotel which has a fabulous pool area and some nice restaurants. Upon entering the Waikoloa Beach area there are many shops at the entrance including a nice grocery store at Queens Landing. It stocks everything you will need during your stay and there are many restaurants to choose from when you want to eat out but don't want to drive far. You can also drive into Kona where they have several large grocery stores like Safeway and the prices are better than you would pay at the resort.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DCraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The Road Less Travel Is The BEST . This location is on the Kona side of the Island. Alot of private beach Resorts and a heart beat from the 4 seasons. I Enjoyed my trip here because it was more quiet than Honolulu . Less Tourist and Great Beaches. A rental car is a must to see all of the Big Island

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
3  Thank Glen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
0.8 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
6.7 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
6.2 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
2.2 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations

Address: 69-550 Waikoloa Beach Dr, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5707
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range: $305 - $537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated adjacent to championship golf courses, the premier location of Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations provides an unsurpassed vacation setting. Hotel guests have access and charging privileges to the abundant facilities and amenities of the nearby Hilton Waikoloa Village hotel, including an enticing array of restaurants, boutiques, beaches and water recreation. Complimentary shuttle service is available between Hilton Grand Vacations, the Hilton Waikoloa Village, and area shops. Hawaii visitors staying at Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations will enjoy spacious two bedroom suites which incorporate a casually elegant tropical style, and feature a superb variety of upscale amenities and furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At Waikoloa Beach Hotel Waikoloa
Hilton Hotel Waikoloa Beach
Hilton Waikoloa
Waikoloa Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing