We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family vacation spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Family vacation spot”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Nice property, condo convenience with access to resort activities. The shuttle was a little inconvenient, taking a long time to make the full circle, you could walk to many places quicker than waiting of the shuttle.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momalamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    304
    74
    21
    9
See reviews for
589
237
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I would recommend this place if you are a family with children and you don't want to stay at a hotel. The units are very nice and super convenient with full kitchens, dining room and living room to make for an easier vacation on parents. The pool was very nice, though small. The bonus is that you can use the Hiton Hotel pool, which is huge and has all the services you would want. They do not have many kids activities and they don't have a restaurant at this location. THey share services with the adjacent Bay Club whcih does have a cafe and other facilities but we didn't use them.

Room Tip: Golf course views away from the street are obviously better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAMomof3Cali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Rooms and amenities are nice. Beds, sheets and pillows are very comfy. However, we had several sleepless nights as we heard the guests above us walking around during the early morning. Not sure if it is thin insulation between floors or heavy walkers, but it sure was frustrating not being able to rest on vacation. We called front desk and they did give the room above us a call. It was quiet for 2 days, but then started up again. Perhaps a new guest arrived...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank Camille A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We appreciate your great feedback on our suite amenities and the noise issue you had experience during your stay, we will continue to take steps in resolving this concern. We thank you for choosing to stay at HGVC Waikoloa and hope that we can host you again in the near future.

Cheryl L.F. Amsbary
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
77 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We visited the big Island of Hawaii in January. We spent 10 days at the Hilton. Overall, it was very nice. Our Wi-Fi wasn't so great, but if that isn't an issue for you, the rest of the resort was absolutely terrific.

The layout was spread out. And we enjoyed the extra "space" and walking the grounds. Very nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KronyTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, British Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent a week at this property in building 19 on 2nd floor unit. Nice view of the golf course and sunset. All the staff we encountered were very friendly and professional. Our unit included a full kitchen, washer/dryer, 2 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms and a pull out sofa. We were travelling with 4 adults and 2 teenagers and we all fit very comfortably into the unit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We accepted an invitation to hear a timeshare presentation in exchange for a great rate at this property. Our 2-bedroom condo was very nice. We did quite a bit of sightseeing and explored 3 island beaches. We didn't use the pool in King's Island until the last day, and only walked around the larger hotel amenities and shops. All very nice and comfortable. Would definitely recommend staying there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MWFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was our first timeshare experience. We bought the HGVC Wakiloa Beach Resort timeshare on ebay for much less than I have seen them advertised elsewhere. As such, we didnt know what to expect when we got there. What we found was a pristine condo that looked like it was brand new. The 2 bed/2 bath unit was perfect in every regard. The layout was perfect ...one King bed master suite + another bedroom with two full beds plus a fully equipped kitchen, seating area for 6, and separate "family room" and washer/dryer in room, the finishes (furniture, carpet, kitchen, kitchen appliances, bathroom tile work, etc.) were very well designed and used high end materials. The beds/pillows were extremely comfortable. We were there for a week but didn't turn the TV on even once but there were nice flat screen TVs as well as Bose stereo systems in the rooms. There is also a shuttle that comes by every 30 minutes that will take you to the Hilton hotel (great pool/lagoon) as well as the two shopping areas that have multiple restaurants. One you get there you really don't need to drive anywhere which is nice if you want to a have a couple tasty beverages at dinner! If you do have a car (or call a cab), make a reservation at the Lava Lava beach club (which in not part of Hilton) for a sunset dinner. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itsEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
0.8 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
6.2 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
6.7 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
1.8 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations

Property: Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations
Address: 69-550 Waikoloa Beach Dr, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5707
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated adjacent to championship golf courses, the premier location of Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations provides an unsurpassed vacation setting. Hotel guests have access and charging privileges to the abundant facilities and amenities of the nearby Hilton Waikoloa Village hotel, including an enticing array of restaurants, boutiques, beaches and water recreation. Complimentary shuttle service is available between Hilton Grand Vacations, the Hilton Waikoloa Village, and area shops. Hawaii visitors staying at Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations will enjoy spacious two bedroom suites which incorporate a casually elegant tropical style, and feature a superb variety of upscale amenities and furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels Direct, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At Waikoloa Beach Hotel Waikoloa
Hilton Hotel Waikoloa Beach
Hilton Waikoloa
Waikoloa Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing