We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! It's actually gotten much better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bainbridge Island WA
Level Contributor
224 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Wow! It's actually gotten much better”
Reviewed January 19, 2010

It had been two years since our last stay and when I reviewed the resort in Dec of 2007. Since my last review I have noticed several improvements:

Staff: A much better attitude overall. In speaking with an employee who we have grown to know during our four visits over the last eight years, he remarked that there was a well needed management change that created much more of a focus and a more positive atmosphere. Everyone we encountered was quite friendly and actually seemed pleased to serve.

Grounds: The renovation of the dolphin area is completed and this place is the cleanest that I have seen it. Twice in the early morning, I witnessed staff using a power floor cleaner on the paver stone walk ways. The spa/locker rooms are remodeled.

Food service: -Yeah, I know, it's expensive. Welcome to Hawai'i... However, they did add some options to take the bite off of families through the addition of a cereal bar open in the AM next to the dolphin pond and kiddie lunches at the grill. Also, the italian restaurant is open and renamed during busy periods serving more modestly priced dinners (think Olive Garden.)

Lagoon Area: Again the waterfront staff seems to have undergone an amazing attitude improvement; they used to be kind of nasty and now they are fun. They added several of the paddle surf boards that are kind of fun.

Tram: Brand new trains!! They have three, two in service and one backup. Best of all they were working the entire time we were there!!

For the many folks who are here via HHonors Diamond 175K Award, the free breakfast bar in the Ocean tower is closed and I say 'good riddance.' The place was inconvienent for those in Lagoon or Palace towers, crowded and you don't have to guard a stale dry muffin from the flocks of birds. The best part is that it was replaced by $10 chits (coupons $10/night X 2 for double occ.) meaning that you have $20/ day per room to spend whereever you'd like. While this doesn't cover a full breakfast, it does cover some food, drinks at most bars, coffee etc. It is not nearly as complicated as one previous reviewer remarked. Just read the coupon for where it can be used and pretend it's a $10 bill. The water bottle coupons are just as simple: There are two bottles of hideously overprice Fiji water in your room, take a bottle, leave a coupon and it's all good. Two bottles per day per room. Also to my fellow diamond friends, room upgrades are much easier if you are a friendly, charming guest who would be willing to provide the front desk clerk with a small token of appreciation. $20 got us an upgrade to an ocean facing 2 room suite in Palace. (Just please be discrete, check out a website called "thetwentydollartrick" ) A small price to pay for a very nice room for six nights.

We were there before Christmas and it was kind of quiet. The Ocean tower restaurant was closed as was the Italian place. As we got closer to the holiday, they opened the italian place, added a few more taxi boats that matched the occupancy of the hotel. Again, this just seems like smart management.

Some of our favorite things to do... Happy hour on the boats: We mix up a cocktail or two and ride the boats for a couple of laps, nice and relaxing. Sunset at Buddah Point: uncap a bottle of vino and enjoy the show that God puts on every night. Time your visit around sunset and you'll get to see the final stop on the tiki-torch lighter's run. Lagoon: This is the best chance you'll have to snorkle up close and personal with turtles as well as some tropical fish. Go early in the morning before the kiddies get the water all stirred up and murky. Boatlanding Pavillion: On the weekends they have live guitar music and some very good sushi.

There is no beach on site, however Hapuna Beach is just six miles north and repeatedly listed in the top ten American beaches.

This is a great hotel for kids young and old, romantic couples and anyone with a sense of fun. Not a good place for people who don't like to walk, don't have money, are freaked out by dolphins or are expecting a Four Seasons level of resort.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kat&John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,950
    2,523
    1,156
    577
    330
See reviews for
2,900
2,816
133
626
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,877)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2010

Great great great hotel... just expensive (that's why we went just before Christmas new years... specially the restaurants... there is a food court close by--eat there! You really can't go wrong staying here we had an amazing time.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SaharS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2010

We stayed here just before the Christmas holiday and really enjoyed ourselves here. We stayed here 3 nights after staying in Maui for 10 nights. We were sorry we did not stay here longer.

Getting to the hotel is easy- only 20min drive to the hotel. The airport is so small, getting in and out is so easy!

Check-in was also very easy and took 5 mins. We had an oceaview AND Dolphin lagoon view room on the 4th floor of the Lagoon Tower. My three year old son and I just loved hanging out on our balcony watching the dolphins play! The pools are really nice- for those of you with small children, you will love the pool section with the sandy beach. The water came up to my son's waist only and he loved playing in the water. Also, next to the sandy pool, is a water fountain that sprouts water from the floor that the kids loved.

The pool I highly recommend for those of you with young children is near the Ocean Tower section of the resort. There were small/kiddie sized waterslides there where you could spend your entire day. My three year old had no problem going down the slide by himself. You must go there- such a blast!!!

One other thing we enjoyed about the hotel was the great service- you always bumped into someone who asked you if they could help you find a part of the resort or any other general question. We enjoyed eating at the resort - Lagoon Grill was our favorite- most nights they have a dinner special and you can get 50% off your bill if you are there before 6pm to eat. Breakfast at Water's Edge was good- the made to order omelets were great and they had good selection of eggs, fruits, cereals, etc (even small smoothies). During the day, the Orchid Marketplace was good for things like hot dogs, pizza, ice cream, sushi, and panini sandwiches.

Housekeeping gave us extra towels without us asking and also kept the room so clean and well stocked with the shampoo and conditioners from the spa (coco-mango).

We went to see the volcano by driving to the Hilo airport (1 hr 45 mins) and your must go with Blue Hawaii Helicopters! What an experience... Also, there is a macademia nut factory nearby about 25 min drive from the hotel that we enjoyed- the concierge had some info about that. It beats the drive to the other side of the island to the Mauna Loa one.

So, like other reviews note- the resort is huge and on 62 acres. The train and boat come every 5 minutes and that was never a problem for us. There is a $15 per day self park fee at the hotel. If I had one negative to say, it is that the pools are ice cold- it takes time to get used to the pools. You NEVER see anyone in the pool until the hot sun comes up around noon.

Otherwise, we really loved this place and will go back next time we are in Hawaii.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennifer1975_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2010

First of all if you’re going to travel to this resort and don't want to hire a bell-man pack light, as this resort is huge and getting your bags from the reception desk to your room is a major feat. You will need to drag them for miles, or wait for the extremely slow and busy tram, or the boat.
After checking in we spent hours wandering the grounds to explore the resort and only saw a small portion of it. After all that work we got back to our room for the first time after check in to get ready for dinner. That was when my wife found the toilet full of urine and cigarette buts... :( The bathroom had obviously not been cleaned upon the last check out, and overall it was very dirty.
After two calls to the front desk housekeeping came and swished the bathroom. We asked to talk to a manager about our displeasure that night and again the next day and it never happened. It is obvious that these people just don't care...
We were so mad we lugged our four large suitcases to the parking lot ourselves, and it seemed a mile away. After we checked out we left for Kona Village Resort down the road. Now that's a place to stay if you want clean rooms and good service...

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alberta-Hotrodder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2010

Just got back from Hawaii this morning and miss the Hilton at Waikoloa Village already. The parents, kids and teenagers had lots of fun. The lagoon was the best. Lots of water activities to choose from. Plan on spending lots of $$. It was well worth it however. We plan on going back there this summer.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LMMPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, GA
Level Contributor
137 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2010

This resort is like no resort I have ever seen or imagined. Everything is here. The staff is very helpful, friendly, and courteous. The natural and archetural beauty is unmatched. This resort is by far the nicest resort my wife and I have ever stayed at and we take at least four leisure trips a year together and travel at least 200 days out of the year.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
Level Contributor
122 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2010

This was our 4th trip to the Hilton. My husband is HHonors Diamond, so we stay here because we use points. I love this hotel. Yes it is large, but it feels so wonderful once you walk in the lobby. Check-in was great. We seem to always stay in the Ocean Tower, which is the farthest tower away. We always use Valet parking, and the valets are the best. Since they closed the Executive Lounge a couple of years ago (still a BIG disappointment), they offer $10 vouchers for each adult to be used at ANY restaurant/café. The vouchers can also be used for alcohol beverages. Since we were there for 7 days, we received 14 vouchers and they were kind enough to include 7 more for our teenage son. We also received complimentary bottled water vouchers, which you trade out daily for Fiji water. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised how well the vouchers worked. Most items for lunch were about $10-$12 for a sandwich, so the voucher was applied and you paid the difference. It was the same all over the resort. I recommend the Lagoon Grill (by the Dolphins) for lunch. The Orchid Market Place next to the pool was terrible! I do not recommend it.

Our room was a king bed with sofa sleeper. We received an upgrade, which was the view of the Ocean and golf course. We saw whales everyday. We noticed that there were new trams and they were slow. Personally, I LOVE the walk through the lagoon area. I have no idea why people complain about the walk! This is a beautiful resort! I was at the Waldorf Astoria in Maui which is also a Hilton, and the only difference is the Waldorf has a beach! The Hilton in Waikoloa is much more beautiful, and if you have kids, this is definitely the place to stay. The Service and Staff were impeccable.

We only spent 2 days at the resort (we call it “resort day”), while the rest of our trip was rooming the island. Now that the Queen Shops are open, it has one of the best ABC stores to purchase items. You can take a shuttle from the Hilton for $1.00 each way which runs until 9:30pm daily. The King Shops are right across the street. The location of the Hilton is ideal and I really hope to return again in the very near future! Aloha!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susie6505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
1.4 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
6.5 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
20.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
2.6 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
9.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Waikoloa Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Waikoloa Village

Property: Hilton Waikoloa Village
Address: 69-425 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Waikoloa Village 4*
Number of rooms: 1240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the aloha spirit wash over you in one of the world's largest and most beautiful resorts: Hilton Waikoloa Village. Experience the magic of Hawaii at our hotel, an oasis dotted with lagoons, pools, water slides, a wide variety of restaurants and bars, and staffed by a team of accommodating hospitality professionals who are here to make sure you're enjoying your island time. Settle into your well-appointed guest room, explore all that we have to offer, and soak up the Hawaiian sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Waikoloa Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waikoloa Village Hotel Waikoloa
Hawaii Hilton Waikoloa Village
Hilton Village Hotel Waikoloa
Hilton Village Waikoloa
Waikoloa Hilton
Hilton Waikoloa Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing