We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place for kids”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

The setting is grand. The restaurants are not exceptional, but very convenient for kids. The swimming, activities, shopping, and beach access are all specular. The rooms are not as well lit or modern as someone might wish for, coming to Hawaii.

Room Tip: I would have liked an ocean view. But my kids enjoyed overlooking the dolphin pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BulldozerShadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,950
    2,523
    1,156
    577
    330
See reviews for
2,900
2,816
133
626
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,877)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

This was our first trip to Kona and to this hotel, before we got there we were skeptical due to some bad reviews, but we decided to experience it and make our own opinion... Not a bit of negativenes! Everything was great, location, accomodations, staff, what a pleasure experience!!! I felt like being in Paradise...love it love it love it! and would love to come back. Huge piece of land, so there is a lot of walking to do around, bring comfortable shoes. There are birds everywhere but they didnt bother me because my room was facing the golf ourse, anyways I loved hearring the birds because it gave me the feeling of being in an Island. The luau's are not every night so you need to plan accordingly or attend the Luau's at any of the other hotels nearby. Great experience, great hotel.

Room Tip: Lots of walking, so bring comfortable flat shoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RYTravels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

The condo we were staying at came with a weekly pass to enjoy the amenities of the Hilton Waikoloa. I was pretty excited to check it out as the photos online showed a very beautiful property. And I wasn't disappointed. It was quite awe inspiring upon walking into the open air lobby and seeing a monorail tram pull up!

What wasn't quite so awe inspiring was the hundreds of little flies that beset everyone sitting by the main pool. White towels became covered in black specks within seconds, and rash guards and swimsuits too. All the guests were commenting on it. It was so bad that we decamped from our spot by the pool and got back on the tram to visit the children's pool with its "interconnecting water slides". Big disappointment there too. This area is really for very young kids (I'd say age 6 and under). My 9 and 12 year olds looked ridiculous coming down the tiny water slides and were bored in about 5 seconds flat. The "river" isn't a loop and it doesn't have any current, nor any water rings. So if you were expecting a lazy river you'll be disappointed.

So we decamped again and found a spot on the grass by the lagoon. This was a much bigger hit with the kids, especially when we splurged on a paddle board ($50 for an hour). We also snorkeled (very murky water) and saw different fish and lots of turtles.

A couple of recommendations for this property include balancing the audio in the monorail tram so that stop announcements can be heard above the noise of the train itself. Also better maps of the properties both inside the trams and outside would be helpful. We got lost looking for the kids pool first time. Also, there is a lack of shade at the pools. Chairs with some shelter were at a premium. For a resort of this caliber more umbrellas for its guests should be a given.

I am glad that I had the opportunity to visit the Hilton. The grounds and the landscaping were very gorgeous, but I wouldn't pay $160 + taxes for the day pass for a family of four.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank MustangLippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Debi Bishop is extremely nice and very welcoming. Crystal Bach and Andrew Hoffman are in my opinion the two best people that work in the Guest Transportation department. Crystal and Andrew always do more than they need or are required to do. They are both very welcoming. They take pride in what they do. They are EXCELLENT EMPLOYEES. Stayed in the Makai room and was nice. We were there during Hurricane Iselle and we were well taken care of and we felt very safe. We were provided with a flash light, updated at least once a day of what the hotel was going to do via TV, Twitter, Facebook, and paper handouts. Extra bottles of water were placed in our room in case we had to stay in the room for a long period of time. We had a great time and can't wait to go back a visit again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st charles
Level Contributor
115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Hilton Waikoloa is beautiful. It has the ocean and its man made lagoon. The resort is huge but has a tram or a boat to take you to one end to the other. Its clean well maintained and the room in the Lagoon tower was beautiful. The restaurants inside HWV were convenient and delicious. It does not have beach access but there are plenty of beaches nearby that you can drive too if you prefer the sand. Wonderful wonderful place in Hawaii.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mattbrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

This is a 5 star resort from the outside view. The grounds/hotel common areas are absolutely beautiful. However, I was very disappointed that the grandiose hotel did not have a beach (like some other 5 star resorts had). They had a 'lagoon', which did have fish and other ocean creatures in it (like turtles). However, the water temp of the lagoon was COLD --- not sure how they managed that since the water off the beaches we drove to and visited were fine.

PROs: beautiful grounds. Had little 'fun' things like a tram and boat for transportation around their very large property (more for fun than to get anywhere quickly, the tram & boat are extremely slow). Great pools/slides. Very comfy beds (though the rooms themselves are plain).

CONs: everything(food, drinks, etc) is super expensive, even by 5 star standards. 'Resort fee' doesn't include parking, you have to pay extra daily for that. No beach -- the lagoon is a very poor substitute. SHRIEKING BIRDS in the echoing center regions of the Ocean Tower in the evening & early morning hours, we're talking like 4am-5am (no 5 star hotel should be having this problem. They got rid of this problem in their Palace tower by cutting down the trees they live in. Their solution: they can give guests earplugs. Yeah, that doesn't work). Hotel is somewhat isolated, need a car to get to the beach or anywhere. Front desk is maddeningly slow. Sure to increase blood pressure. Employees I encountered (other than timeshare salespeople) weren't really that interested in helping you. Takes a while to walk to/from rooms to anywhere because the property is so large. Not a horrible con, but it's a pain at times. Rooms are plain/old. Dolphin pond is waaay too small for the number of dolphins they have (but they are such beautiful creatures to look at).

Oh, this is to show the old/poor condition of the rooms. My daughter closed the latch thing on the door while we were in the room. My husband came back to the room and opened the door w/ the latch thing closed. The latch thing caught the door and prevented it from opening, and then BROKE OFF in the middle of the metal latch. My husband wasn't kicking the door in or anything, he just pushed the door to open it normally. They did replace the latch right away, but the latch shouldn't have broken like that.

Room Tip: Don't get an ocean tower room because of the shrieking birds who will disrupt your quality of sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WishIWereOnVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2014

I love Waikoloa !! If u check out spa services, try Tonia she was amazing and it was definitely one of my favorite spa experiences to date !!! I always have the most fun at Waikoloa due to its location and spacious facilities !! Escaping the city life and experiencing inner peace and outer beauty is what makes this an annual destination. Have some Longboard drafts, kiss the Buddha, & watch some amazing sunsets on the big island. I'm Waikoloa's biggest fan !!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Autumntiffany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
1.4 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
6.5 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
20.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
2.6 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
9.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Waikoloa Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Waikoloa Village

Property: Hilton Waikoloa Village
Address: 69-425 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Waikoloa Village 4*
Number of rooms: 1240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the aloha spirit wash over you in one of the world's largest and most beautiful resorts: Hilton Waikoloa Village. Experience the magic of Hawaii at our hotel, an oasis dotted with lagoons, pools, water slides, a wide variety of restaurants and bars, and staffed by a team of accommodating hospitality professionals who are here to make sure you're enjoying your island time. Settle into your well-appointed guest room, explore all that we have to offer, and soak up the Hawaiian sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Waikoloa Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waikoloa Village Hotel Waikoloa
Hawaii Hilton Waikoloa Village
Hilton Village Hotel Waikoloa
Hilton Village Waikoloa
Waikoloa Hilton
Hilton Waikoloa Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing