We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice Property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Waikoloa Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice Property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has it all. So many dining options on the property and surrounding it as well. Property is very large but very well maintained. There is a tram that you can use. The biggest downfall is not really a beach but Kona is not like the other islands. Taking a drive around to Hilo is a great way to see everything. Had a ground floor room which was very nice. The luau is worth the money great show.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DCchick77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,556
    2,214
    964
    507
    271
See reviews for
2,520
2,386
111
539
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,651)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We spent a week there with our 2 kids, and the kids loved the pools, slide, lagoon activities, and snorkeling with the turtles in the lagoon.
The property is gigantic, but tram and boat made it not that hard to move around.
While pricey, the breakfast buffet is extensive; we tried a few other restaurants there, which were all find, except for Kirin!! Stay away from Kirin: food is greasy, tastes bad and with low quality ingredients, they mis-represent fish as well, we were told fish was sea bass, but it actually was tilapia (or some similar cheap fish filet), the restaurant is also old and in need of a facelift to get rid of the greasy smell.
The hotel's room service is VERY slow. We went for a night manta snorkel, and back to the hotel at 9:00pm, so we ordered some chicken noodle soup. It took over 1 hour for them to deliver, by the time the food came, the kids were already asleep.

Room Tip: Ask for the Lagoon Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanjingren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here several times and have never been disappointed. This last time we splurged for a suite and it was worth it. Spacious living area. Walk in door less shower. Huge bath tub. Separate sinks in separate parts of the bathroom. Upgraded bath products. Bath robes. Mini matter which rooms we stay in they are always very clean. Great staff. Great food. Lots for everyone to do. Love the breakfast buffet.
Beautiful property. We didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelwithlysol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escanaba, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This place is HUGE. It's a nice hotel but it's too huge. The rooms have a smell from the AC and it is really humid in the rooms. It is kinda far from the airport in Kona. The breakfast buffet is ok. There are PLENTY of restaurants inside the hotel. The tram or boat is the best way of transportation around the hotel. If you wake up before 6am, don't expect the tram to be there anytime soon. The boats don't operate until 2pm. The pools are also HUGE. There are 3 pools and 1 adult pool.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoganCaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My husband and I traveled here in June for our 20th anniversary. The property is beautiful, but it is too large, with a tram that takes you to the different buildings. I felt like I was on a Disney property, instead of Hawaii. What really disappointed me was that the day after we checked out I called lost and found because I left a blouse hanging on the bathroom hook. After several days of back and forth through emails and phone calls, they told me that the blouse was not located. I know for certain that I left the blouse in the room, so either the housekeeper kept it or she threw it away. I understand that it is my fault for leaving it, but it is policy for hotel personnel to send any item left in the room to lost and found, regardless of the item/cost. I was promised a credit for the cost of the blouse, but never received it; which really doesn't matter much to me, because the blouse was what I wanted back since it was given to me by my son on Mother's Day.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MiamiMomloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debi B, General Manager at Hilton Waikoloa Village, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
I sincerely apologize for the unfortunate experience regarding your blouse. I appreciate your speed in bringing this issue to me and allowing me to follow up with our security department, ensuring that you and future guests are taken care of. If I can assist you further, certainly let me know. Thank you.

Kind Regards,
Debi
tripadvisor@hiltonwaikoloavillage.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Hilton Waikoloa offers pools, atmosphere and restaurants that make it easy to fill a relaxing day within the resort. Pools are clean. Tram requires a little patience, but it saves a tired person from a long walk! Complimentary fitness facilities could be improved, but they work ok for someone wanting to work out on vacation. Jogging from Ocean Tower to the spa/fitness center is fun. Restaurants, drinks, etc are a little pricey, but that is to be expected. Overall great experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Monica & Amber O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Great resort. A lot of things to do with kids. They have a boat that can carry you around the grounds and a nice lagoon to relax on. A huge down side for me is no actual beach. The lagoon is fed from the ocean but there is no ocean front beach. It's a great hotel and worth visiting. Just be aware no beach on this property.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sc-berk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
1.4 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
7.0 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
6.5 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
2.0 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
2.6 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Waikoloa Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Waikoloa Village

Property: Hilton Waikoloa Village
Address: 69-425 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5799
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Waikoloa Village 4*
Number of rooms: 1240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Waikoloa Village is located within the Waikoloa Beach Resort area on the sunny Kohala Coast on Hawaii's Big Island - just 18 miles from the Kona International Airport. It is a unique 62 acre oceanfront resort with trams and canal boats transporting you throughout the resort. Enjoy a serene snorkeling lagoon, interactive dolphin encounters, spectacular pools with waterslides, the Kohala Spa, exciting shopping and dining, and golf at one of two championship golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Waikoloa Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waikoloa Village Hotel Waikoloa
Hawaii Hilton Waikoloa Village
Hilton Village Hotel Waikoloa
Hilton Village Waikoloa
Waikoloa Hilton
Hilton Waikoloa Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing