We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enormous resort with Disneyworld like atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Except for the lack of a beautiful beach, this resort has everything a family with young kids could want-- on site family friendly restaurants, swimming lagoon with fish and turtles, pedal boats, snorkeling equipment, dolphin lagoon. Could conceivably never leave the resort.

The place is huge. I mean huge. Really, really big. Like it took 30+ minutes to walk from one end to the other. Like it has a tram, and a "boat" (which is on a track and functions like a tram) to take you from one resort to the other. I mean it is just enormous.

Several pools, all looked inviting, but the lure of beaches for us was greater than any pool (e.g. Hapuna beach).

Restaurants were okay. On par with what we found elsewhere on the island. They were fine if a bit expensive, but more a mass market experience than fine dining. We liked the mediterranean place and the Thai place in the King and Queen's shopping areas better than any of the restaurants in the resort. The buffet breakfast was perhaps an exception, though still on the expensive side.

There are numerous shops, nice, but touristy.

The collection of art and artifacts is truly exceptional. I've not seen such in other resorts before, I found something new to look at every day.

The room was generously sized, modern, nicely furnished, and clean. However it was not exactly easy to get to as we had to go up a fight of stairs (or walk even further to an elevator), over a walkway, and down an elevator or flight of stairs to get to our room (in the Dolphin tower).

If this hotel had a better beach would stay here again without reservation. As it is, I'd consider it. With younger children (<12) it looks like it would be hard to beat. If you like to explore then its probably excessive for your needs. The proximity to the shopping malls is a plus as there is little in the area otherwise.

Did I mention it was really, really big?

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank Zedd97511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,247 - 4,253 of 8,119 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

We have only been to Maui in the past and were referred by friends who became Hilton owners (timeshare). I saw the beach photos and description of the lagoon and had low expectations. We weren't guaranteed an ocean view or even double beds for the kids but were given both. The property is very expansive but I liked it, never felt like guests were crowded. We walked everywhere- 5-10 minutes to most anything on the property but my kids are older and can carry their own beach stuff and keep up with us. We really only left the property for some meals, shopping and snorkel cruise. The lagoon was perfect for my kids to learn snorkeling, we saw 10 turtles in one morning. The kids swam with the dolphins which was great. Ocean Sports associated with the hotel provided a great snorkel cruise. The luau was a disappointment, the food was good and actually the dancers were great but the amphitheater atmosphere really diminished the experience. You really can't even tell you are outside, seating awkward for viewing, especially for the kids. The food is expensive and the room has a mini fridge but no microwave. The whole property is extremely clean and nonsmoking. My kids have done a lot of travel and they want to go back next year.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Runmom42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Having missed out connecting flight, we spend night #1 in LAX, starting our 12 year anni off to a bad start. But Manager Jennifer greeted us upon arrival, with vouchers abundant, and she comped late checkout.. We requested upgrade prior to arrival, and she graciously accommodated us. Was happily shocked to find swanned towels, rose petals and Happy Anniversary shaped out of pebbles in room, without having requested them. Stunning location, room and property. Spa staff exceptional. Not a bad word to say about Ocean Tower. Didnt swim with the dolphins, but lounged around enormous property instead for the duration of our trip. If its the big Island you want, we cant think of a better hotel. Wifey & I will remember forever.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ari J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Overall, a very enjoyable stay. We had previously stayed here 10 years earlier. The place is very large and you best not mind walking. The tram and boat shuttles were generally slow and the wait times for them could be lengthy. Our room in the Ocean Tower had a nice ocean view but the room itself was nothing special - in need of an update and very few plugs around. It was, however, very roomy, had a safe, and the fridge in the room was a very nice touch and the room was always very clean. Noise was an issue - the birds that are very noisy from about 515 to 630 am, the doors are heavy and bang shut loudly, and the tile floors are very noisy as people pull their luggage across it. Feral cats and mongooses are everywhere. We stayed the first week of March and the resort was not very full (and the water was a bit chilly!). The grounds are beautiful and very well kept up. The incredible sunsets and the constant whale activity were the highlights. Food pricing was rather high but that's what you get at a resort in Hawaii. For gold and diamond members, they give you a $10 food/beverage credit per day certificate that you can use just about anywhere on the resort (in lieu of a lounge or free breakfast - they gave me 2 certificates for each day since I was traveling with my wife) The fridge in the room helped that as we were able to buy food, snacks, and beer and wine nearby for reasonable prices. There is a nice market in the Queens Shopping Center nearby that has just about everything you would need. Prices at the market in Waikoloa Village about 6 miles away were a little cheaper but not worth the additional drive to me. There is a shuttle from the hotel to the Queens Shopping Center which costs $2 per person each way. Service at the Waikoloa Coffee Co. located at the Ocean Tower was hit and miss - sometimes ok and they forgot about me on 2 other occasions. Had lunch at the Lagoon Grill and the views were amazing - eating on the water's edge with dolphins on one side and watching the whales on the other. Had a great dinner at the Kamuela Provision Company - dinner on the lanai watching the amazing sunset and the whales play. Service and food were very good but it is pricey - entrees generally $40 - $70 with salads running around $15. Unless you want to pay an extra $25 per person fee to guarantee sitting on the lanai (includes champagne and an appetizer and the best seats), seating on the lanai is first come first serve so they suggested a reservation time of one hour before sunset and that worked out great. Had lunch once in the Orchid Marketplace - good pizza but it was expensive but at least you got free refills with your $4 coke :) . Best sunset spot we found was near Budda point - the cabanas that you can rent for $50 per day are usually open by then so you can enjoy for free while you watch the sun set. Overall an enjoyable stay at a beautiful place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jkren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Here are 14 things we learnt that we’d pass onto you as helpful information. In general I gave the resort just three stars when compared to others as I felt the general level of service, property maintenance and accommodations had room for improvement. There is however a lot to do and keep you occupied.


1. There is NO oceanfront beach on the property. They are pretty clear about this on the website, but don’t let it be a surprise. There are many superb beaches within a 15 minute car or taxi ride.

2. There is an internal seawater lagoon populated with fish and turtles. Great for introductory snorkeling.

3. The resort is big. It’s a healthy 10 minute walk from the Ocean Tower through the Palace Tower to the Lagoon Tower.

4. They do provide both tram and boat transport end-to-end. You should still expect to walk quite a bit wherever you are going and always add 5-10 minutes onto a meeting time to account fir transportation.

5. You have only 2 on-premise breakfast choices. #1 is the Big Hawaiian Breakfast. It’s expensive at $29 for a buffet or $10-20 for an a la carte order. Great selection of food, both western and Asian style. #2 is a couple of coffee shops which will serve muffins, pastries and breakfast sausages. Try Lava Java up in Waikoloa Village for a big and cheap breakfast.

6. If staying for more than a couple of days get the $29.95 food/drink discount card. It gets you 10% off all food and drink (including alcohol) plus you immediately get two $10 coupons to use. It’s a good deal.

7. On the subject of drinks, you can, for $25, get a refillable shaker full or your favorite tropical drink. It holds about four glasses (say $40 worth) and is refilled for $19. Another good deal – but you have to ask for it.

8. When you check in – make them show you on the resort map where your room is and what view you will have. There are some good rooms and some not so good rooms. In general you want a water view on a high floor. If they tell you it’s a wonderful mountain/island/golf course view – that translates to “not water”.

9. When you check in – ask if there are any large business/convention groups. Plan accordingly.

10. You can get free coffee/snacks in the Mahalo Lounge at 8am. In return you have to sit through an island briefing from the Grand Vacations Team. Just don’t give them any personal info or they’ll want you to take a timeshare tour.

11. Pick up supplies like water, soda and snacks at an outside shop. There is a market about a five minute walk or minute drive up the road. You can save a bundle. Anything you buy on the resort is at least twice normal price. And Hawaiian normal price isn’t cheap unless you are from Manhattan.

12. Rent a car or take a guided tour of the island – don’t stay on the resort. I’d strongly recommend viewing the volcano after sunset as the #1 attraction.

13. (personal opinion) the Luau is an expensive waste of time and money.

14. Instead – spend that money on a Dolphin encounter or go whale watching.

Enjoy your stay. If you found these points helpful please click the helpful button!

Room Tip: An Ocean or Lagoon View is best. High Floor. Choose Ocean or Lagoon Tower over the Palace Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
67  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Beautiful hotel and room. Excellent with children. Resort charge in addition to parking fee is a bit high. Myriad hotel activities offered and restaurants is a plus. Waiting for tram from hotel room to lobby is a minus. Unless one pays addition for valet parking, it is a walk to the parking lot. The policy for checking out beach towel has also changed recently. Be sure to return the towel charge-out card at checkout to avoid the $10 charge per card.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ken K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

My husband is a member of the Hilton Honors and we received a call from Hilton to come hear a presentation of their Vacation Club. We had booked our room Aug. 2013 and when we arrived we were put in the middle tower area; very poor condition, horrible view and not a single amenity in that section other than ice. On the plus side the vacation planner, Marsha, was very nice and got us a deal on attending the Luau. If our room had been nicer, our patio( 1st floor level) overlooking trucks and delivery carts had NOT been explained as a "garden view", we would have been very pleased.

Room Tip: Get a room that is NOT in the center section!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jsmoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debi B, General Manager at Hilton Waikoloa Village, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input on the comfort and appointment of our guestroom and we will use your comments as we continue to evolve our guests' experience moving forward. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.

Thank you,
Debi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
1.4 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
6.4 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
6.9 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
0.7 mi away
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Waikoloa Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Waikoloa Village

Address: 69-425 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5799
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range: $250 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Waikoloa Village 4*
Number of rooms: 1113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the aloha spirit wash over you in one of the world's most beautiful resorts: Hilton Waikoloa Village - Lagoon Tower and Palace Tower. Experience the magic of Hawaii at our hotel, an oasis dotted with lagoons, pools, water slides, a wide variety of restaurants and bars, and staffed by a team of accommodating hospitality professionals who are here to make sure you're enjoying your island time. Settle into your well-appointed guest room, explore all that we have to offer, and soak up the Hawaiian sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Waikoloa Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waikoloa Village Hotel Waikoloa
Hawaii Hilton Waikoloa Village
Hilton Village Hotel Waikoloa
Hilton Village Waikoloa
Waikoloa Hilton
Hilton Waikoloa Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing