We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK if you want a mega-resort.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“OK if you want a mega-resort.”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

So this place had good facilities, but for me was too big and the internal bars/restaurants were not as good and more expensive than those outside of the resort. If you don't want to leave the resort then this could be for you. Not for me! Two positives: its only a 30 minute walk to Waikoloa beach, the great Island Gourmet deli and the Java Java beach bar.

Room Tip: Do not get a room on the inside of the towers. There are some crazy-noisy birds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debi B, General Manager at Hilton Waikoloa Village, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Danny,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input on our service and property atmosphere and we will use your comments as we continue to evolve our guests' experience. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.

Thank you,
Debi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,995
    2,541
    1,171
    583
    334
See reviews for
2,941
2,849
133
629
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,888)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

As a Hilton Honors Diamond member I was very disappointed in the hotel when comparing it to other Hilton properties in Hawaii. They have completely eliminated the Hilton Honors Lounge for starters. They would give my husband grief every time he asked for more than one towel at the pools. The food is over priced and the quality was low at every restaurant we tried in the property. The trains are extremely slow and it is faster to walk. Our check in was quick and friendly and the lagoon was nice for our daughter to swim and see the turtles. We loved the kids camp too! Our daughter wanted to go every day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debi B, General Manager at Hilton Waikoloa Village, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and loyalty as a rewards member. We regret that the accommodations were unsatisfactory and have shared your feedback with the appropriate members of our team. We've also thanked our front office staff for their speedy and friendly service and are glad to hear that your daughter enjoyed the lagoon and kids camp. We hope we'll have another chance to serve you and your family, during your next vacation.

Kind regards,
Debi
tripadvisor@hiltonwaikoloavillage.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

After reading some of the reviews we were a little worried about our stay. I must say with the helpful hints of other travelers and going in with an open mind we were very pleased with our stay! The grounds are gorgeous and clean! The pools were beautifully kept. The lagoon is fun and safe, the " haze" people mention is from fresh water mixing with the ocean water, not necessarily sunscreen. Every single staff member we came across was friendly and helpful!
I am a clean freak and I found our room to be very clean and comfortable. The birds at ocean tower are very noisy, that being said we knew this from other reviews and came prepared. We ran our circulating fan all night and even brought earplugs( which we didn't have to use) the hum of the fan was enough to drown out the birds.
We enjoyed our lengthy walks around the resort, burn off some of those calories your putting in your body people! You know the size of the resort when you book your trips, you've read, that if you refuse to walk and take the tram, you are going to have a wait!
The beach is literally a ten minute walk from the hotel or a
3 min drive- not bad at all.
You can eat cheap at the resort, and off. We shared pizza and salad. We shared nachos. We had light breakfasts like coffee and muffins and splurged on dinner. There are happy hours you can hit. You can grab sandwiches and fruit from the ABC store. You can get muffins, liquor, sandwich makings, snacks, and fruit from Costco on your way in from the airport. You can make your vacation your own, it just takes some planning! We can't wait to go back and next time we are bringing the kids!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

My husbond and I are the B&B types, so we didn't really like to stay here. It is a huge ressort area with lots of hotels and expensive shopping malls. You want find any local atmosphere in this area.The hotel is well maintained, the room and our wiev was OK. Nice pool area - a lot of kids really enjoyed it. We stayed mostly at the beach, which was nice and calm. The restaurant is quite expensive, large and noisy and not very charming. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western Mass
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Our room was very comfortable, but this place nickels and dimes you at every possible opportunity. We had to wait in line to put our name in for breakfast. Then waited longer to be seated. The breakfast buffet was $30 a head and coffee was $3 a cup! After paying for a room, and parking far away, you are basically a captive audience. Beach chairs with awnings had to be reserved for the day at $50 a pop. Really? I paid for a room and I can't sit in your chair?? The list goes on. One scoop of ice cream is $6. At least they don't charge for towels. We traveled all over Hawaii and yes it's expensive, but it doesn't have to be ridiculous. The only reason I rated them this highly at all is for the snorkeling in the lagoon with the turtles was pretty fun and it's a safe way for little kids to see the fish. And the waterfalls in the pool were kind of cool. There really is no beach there, though. Waiting for the train is a drag - especially if you have to wait for trains in your real life! After checking out but before leaving we checked our bag with the valet and almost missed our transportation to the airport because we couldn't find anyone to retrieve it for us. Ended up going into the "employees only" area and getting it ourselves.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiknLitl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debi B, General Manager at Hilton Waikoloa Village, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. I understand that your stay with us was not all that you expected and for that I am truly sorry. I apologize that there were some additional charges that you did not expect. I can assure you that we never want to intentionally mislead our guests in any way and I sincerely apologize if the charges were not clear when you first arrived to our hotel. Our main priority is for all our guests to feel that they are getting a good value.

Again, I apologize for any inconvenience you went through and would be more than happy to discuss this further with you. Your satisfaction is our main concern and I make myself available for any questions you should have.

Thank you,
Debi
tripadvisor@hiltonwaikoloavillage.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We were disappointed with our 10 stay.
We stayed in the supposedly updated Lagoon Tower. Decent view but a lot of the ocean view is blocked by the palm trees. The room is ok, bed comfortable but you would think hotels in general would provide a couple of decent chairs to sit in. Same for the lanai. I like to sit outside and read in the evening to enjoy the warm weather. The chairs were very uncomfortable. It just didn't seem as if the place was as clean as it could be or maybe the upkeep wasn't as good as it should have been.

Food???
Breakfast buffet was very expensive and mostly a joke for items supplied. We tried it once and never went back. All food areas in the hotel are very expensive. There wasn't a decent place to just grab something simple without jumping into the car and driving somewhere. We did find Lava Java for breakfast which is a 15 minute drive but far better than anything the Hilton had. We overheard a family leaving for the parking lot to drive somewhere for dinner state that if they lowered their prices a bit they would probably make more money instead of driving the guests off the grounds. My wife and I agreed.
We made reservations at KPC for our last dinner on the Island. The front desk host was rude, short and abrupt with her manner. They sat us at a terrible table. The seating hostess asked if the table was ok which my wife replied it would have to do. I wanted to leave but it would have been too late to get a reservation elsewhere. They did come back later after we received our drinks and gave us a good table. The rest of the evening went well.

Parking was expensive.

We will not return to this Hotel and probably won't use a Hilton again due to this experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimbreyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debi B, General Manager at Hilton Waikoloa Village, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
We apologize that you didn't feel that your stay was comfortable. We are addressing the issues you mentioned with our staff and we hope the next time you are in Hawaii you would consider staying with us again.

Thank you,
Debi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
100 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We are just finishing up 5 nights at the Hilton Waikoloa Village. Yes, this place is huge. No, there is no beach on the ocean and yes it's very spendy. Do your research and you'll have a great time. We knew coming here that it was big. We stayed in the ocean tower and it was 1650 steps from the parking lot to our room (yes, I used a pedometer to track). You do need to plan ahead when you leave your room as you don't want to get half way to the parking lot and then half to go back to get something.

Positives - the rooms are very nice size. We had a king size bed and the bed was layed out a bit different so there was lots of room to walk around. The view from our room was great - the ocean and the golf course - very serene and beautiful. It was nice to have a laundry room available to get some clothes washed. We never had a hard time getting a lounge chair at the lagoon or any of the pools. There was always lots of space both to sit and lounge or swim in either. The lagoon is great for kids as there aren't any waves and it's also good for beginner snorkerlers. You don't have to worry about riptides and we saw lots of different fish as well as over 12 turtles one day. I know many people don't care for the dolphin program, but they seemed happy to us and were fun to watch. The resort is well taken care of and is beautiful.

Negatives - There aren't enough plug ins in the room for electronics. We had a laptop, ipad, camera and phones that we wanted to charge and the plug ins were located either on one lamp or behind the dresser. There are ice machines on every floor but depending on where your room is located it can be a hike to get to them. We had a difficult time trying to figure out how to get out of the hotel towards the ocean at first. The layout of the resort is a bit like a maze. The restaurants are very spendy and the closest places to eat outside the resort are in the Queen and Kings marketplaces (not a huge amount of options and they are also spendy). We aren't big foodies so we ate a few lunches at the Gourmet market (they have sandwiches, sushi, salads etc ready to go) and Island fish and chips had great reasonably prices shrimp (coconut are good), fish and crab cakes sliders (yummy). We would have liked to see some early evening entertainment. It would have been nice to just have some local hawaiian musicians or something during happy hour times. They didn't start anything until 8pm.(I know that's not late, but with the change in time and all of the activites and fresh air we were getting every day we just weren't able to stay up late.) It would have been nice to have a hot tub near the Ocean Tower. The closest one is way over by the Lagoon towers and is quite a hike to get to.

Overall, we've had a great stay and I'd recommend this hotel - just make sure you know what to expect.

Room Tip: If you stay in the Ocean Towere beware of the bird noise every day at 6am and 6pm. They didn't b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MNlove2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
1.4 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
6.5 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
20.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
2.6 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
0.6 mi away
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Waikoloa Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Waikoloa Village

Property: Hilton Waikoloa Village
Address: 69-425 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Waikoloa Village 4*
Number of rooms: 1240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the aloha spirit wash over you in one of the world's largest and most beautiful resorts: Hilton Waikoloa Village. Experience the magic of Hawaii at our hotel, an oasis dotted with lagoons, pools, water slides, a wide variety of restaurants and bars, and staffed by a team of accommodating hospitality professionals who are here to make sure you're enjoying your island time. Settle into your well-appointed guest room, explore all that we have to offer, and soak up the Hawaiian sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hilton Waikoloa Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waikoloa Village Hotel Waikoloa
Hawaii Hilton Waikoloa Village
Hilton Village Hotel Waikoloa
Hilton Village Waikoloa
Waikoloa Hilton
Hilton Waikoloa Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing