We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed Our Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Waikoloa Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rainier, Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Our Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Everything was wonderful that was in their control, other than the a/c which didn't want to pump out cold air as efficiently as it should, however, we weren't uncomfortable. Restaurant prices are a bit pricey, but that's been observed before so we expected that. We bought drinks and snacks at Waikoloa Village Market BEFORE checking in so we didn't have to walk to the lounge for drinks. More ice machines each floor would be wonderful. LOVED the Ocean Tower myna birds! Ask for partial ocean view, 5th floor & up. Don't pay extra for ocean front as it's not necessary to see the ocean. But we don't need it perfectly quiet to sleep. Our room faced the ocean on the golf course side; VERY quiet (human noise speaking). Best food: KPC Best pool: Kohala (not so many brats running around unsupervised as at Kona pool). LOVED the salt water lagoon for snorkel, although it can be a bit 'cloudy' (but not murky). The size of the resort was not an issue for us so walking here and there wasn't a bother (53 yrs old). We did use the valet ($5 per night more than self) and was WORTH IT! NICE gentlemen! We took the tram on the days we didn't feel we wanted to walk. Must say there is too much Asian 'art'. Would much prefer more Hawaiian inspired or historical art and decor. Overall, we'd return if we go to Hawaii Island again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank TCK1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,860
    2,464
    1,110
    564
    316
See reviews for
2,791
2,734
131
618
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,825)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Everyone else has already commented on how big the resort is. My review is to give tips on how to enjoy this large resort. First off, we booked through Costco which in my opinion was the best way to go. Lots of extra little perks!! Next, pay the upgrade to the Lagoon Tower partial ocean view!! It is close to all the best parts of the resort and we were right over the Dolphins. This is the best tip I can give you as it is the best tower by far!!! DO not pay for the breakfast buffet!! It is average at best and no variety after the first visit. Use the resort happy hours for drinks. Happy hours start at 2 and go all the way to 8. Write down every locations happy hour time and keep it with you. Drinks are $6 during happy hour!!! Go to oceans sports Sunday Aloha hour on the beach at the Marriott next door. $25 per person for unlimited use of beach toys for 4 hours including glass bottom boat!! Go to the grocery store at Queens Marketpalce for snacks and beverages. Great store and a great wine selection too with lots of snack/food options for the room! Also tryCafe PEsto about 25 minutes from the resort, great restaurant!! Eat off site at the local marketpalce..many good and less expensive restaurants. Also try the Marriott next door for food, half price entrees on Monday nights!!! Off site we did the Flume da ditch kayak tour on kohala coast. A very cool kayak adventure about 40 minutes away!! Right next to ziplines too!! FYI, the resort Monorail schedule can be found on a channel on your rooms televsion, lets you know current location to time leaving your room! Eat the Kobe burger at the Lagoon Grill, very good!! If you have kids, they will love this place!! It is big but enjoyable if you prepare and plan for the resort ahead of time, remember... LAGOON TOWER!!

Room Tip: Lagoon Tower is a must!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank moulderkeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

The grounds of the Hilton are beautiful but too spread out. The tram and boat are a nice touch but if you miss one it takes about twenty minutes before it makes the round and is back to you in the direction you want to go. We found that most people if they miss the tram or boat they walk as it is quicker than waiting. The boat stops at 10PM and the tram at either 11 or 12. After that have anice walk. They have a nice salt water pool that is actually fed from the ocean and has some tropical fish and green turtles living in the pool. You can snorkle, paddle board, peddle boat in the pool. The beach is minimal and we did not see anyone actually on the beach because of how small and rocky it is. They have a nice adult pool but doesn't open until 10AM and closes at 10PM. The majority of the resturants on site are expensive, or you can take the trolley ( not free) to the shops where there are some good resturants at reasonable prices. There are alot of steps and sharply angled ramps so we do not consider this to be senior or handicapped friendily hotel.

Room Tip: If you don't get an ocean view room you will be looking at the loghts of the shops and the volca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed here during July 4th holiday. Because of my Hilton status we were upgraded to a Ocean View room facing the ocean directly. We were able to enjoy the sunset over the ocean right from the balcony of our room. Resort is HUGE. They have train inside the resort to take you to places. The only thing is this is a family resort with lots of small kids, so it can get crowded and loud sometime.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lintravis2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Mixed reviews I have of this resort. We spent several days at another resort and moved over to this resort for the last 3 days of our vacation.

It's a beautiful resort with lots and lots of space. But, just too big. You can wear yourself out walking around the resort or wait and take the shuttles to move you around. No such thing as a quick trip to the lobby, can be an hour plus round trip. Had occasions to interact with the concierge located in the towers and overall, I'd say he doesn't enjoy his job. Kinda funny, he does great greeting people as they come off the tram, but don't ask him questions, he comes across as not wanting to help.

No real beach, so have to use the pools and the lagoon area, which not bad and we knew that going in, but missed the beach feel for staying in Hawaii.

The room was a bit more dated as an older hotel and not as clean as we would like. An example, limited plug-ins, unless you count the powerstrip I found behind the nightstand. Not the easiest to get to for camera batteries, cell phones, etc.

Probably a good hotel had we brought our kids with us, but not as much of a romantic hotel that many couples would be looking for as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennislee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

From the time we arrived at the hotel, we loved every minute. We got in late so we couldn't see the view that awaited us the next morning! Breathtaking, crisp blue water and beautiful well maintained grounds. We stayed in the lagoon tower and on the first floor. Our room opened up so u could just walk out onto the grass! The KPC restaurant was great. We ate there 2 nights. They light the tiki torches about 530 pm and everyone sits and watches the sunset! Gorgeous! The breakfast buffet was also good but expensive! We loved every part of this vacation and will go back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amarillogirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

As a seasoned traveller and Hilton honours member we decided to stay here after the Hapuna beach hotel stint on the big island and b&breakfast stay in Volcano, all on our honeymoon.
Unfortunatey as a very large resort there is a definite downgrading feel to your holiday unless you stay in the cheapest room and get a bargain you will feel like you have paid a high price for essentially a campsite feel.
The plus:
Great food in the restaurants, good value food and the staff at the Mexican cantina were so friendly and attentive. The lagoon has a lot of turtles and fish so great fun for snorkelling.
The minus:
Most staff innatentive as there are so many staff and customers it is impersonal.
NO shade outside anywhere! Unless you are lucky enough to get up at 6am to bag one of the 8 straw parasols in the lagoon there is nowhere to sit in the shade outside so you will burn or be banished to your room, we felt this was unacceptable for such a resort. We complained but were told tough cookies stop complaining does it look like we can do anything? We are not the boss! So I complained to the boss and got zero response, great service guys! Even just a few HH points which are free for them would have eased the basic absence of service a little.
The train was badly run and often took 20 minutes to do a 5 minute journey as they were getting stuck in front/behind each other, you could be sitting on one with the doors open hoping for it to go and find it isnt going anywhere and no one tells you to get off!
The cocktails are cheapish, yes, but are basically alcohol free as they are so watered down. Shame, I would rather pay an extra couple of bucks and get something that is not just basically water and tastes like it too.
The time share is ridiculous, they tried to sell it to us, from the UK! Yes of course a timeshare in hawaii is a great idea, get real. Very pushy but at least we got some more HH points for it, they say its 1.5 hours but we were quick in saying no and it still look nearly 3 hours! We did not appreciate being lied to on timing as everyone we spoke to said it took over 2.5 hours to say no.

I have emailed the manger of the hotel regarding these issues and received no reply, this on top of the problems has made me even more sure that this is a hotel where noone cares about the guests as there are just too many of them and they know they will get business from Americans and Japanese due to it being a Hilton and the lowish price.

I most highly recommend the Hapuna Beach Hotel for couples or families looking for a relaxing holiday on a beautiful beach (one of the best in the world) with great service, food, golf, location and a lovely little cafe where you can buy breakfasts, lunch sandwiches, evening pizzas etc for a bargain compared to a normal hotel restaurant. There are also some fantastic restaurants just up the road from Hapuna at the local port. It is a far superior resort in our opinion, but also is such due to the fact that it is less busy, there are less young families with kids running around making noise etc, for those families perhaps a Hilton large resort is better as you won't feel you are bothering other customers as much.

Green Features: This hotel uses about 25% of the islands power apparently.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christinatink88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonWaikoloa, General Manager at Hilton Waikoloa Village, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for selecting our hotel when staying here on Hawaii Island. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the food, Boat Landing Cantina and the sea life in our lagoon. Please accept my apologies for the lack of response you received when requesting shade at the beach, as well as your email communication. Please contact me at my email address below if you would like to discuss your stay further. As a Hilton Honors member we strive to make your experience the best possible and we apologize that we have failed to meet your expectations. Guest feedback is incredibly important to us and we are taking your comments into consideration as we work to improve our on-property experience. We hope you will give us another try so we may demonstrate our commitment to your loyalty to the Hilton Brand.

Best Regards,
Debi
tripadvisor@hiltonwaikoloavillage.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
1.4 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
6.5 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
7.0 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
2.6 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
9.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Waikoloa Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Waikoloa Village

Property: Hilton Waikoloa Village
Address: 69-425 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5799
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Waikoloa Village 4*
Number of rooms: 1240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Waikoloa Village is located within the Waikoloa Beach Resort area on the sunny Kohala Coast on Hawaii's Big Island - just 18 miles from the Kona International Airport. It is a unique 62 acre oceanfront resort with trams and canal boats transporting you throughout the resort. Enjoy a serene snorkeling lagoon, interactive dolphin encounters, spectacular pools with waterslides, the Kohala Spa, exciting shopping and dining, and golf at one of two championship golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Waikoloa Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waikoloa Village Hotel Waikoloa
Hawaii Hilton Waikoloa Village
Hilton Village Hotel Waikoloa
Hilton Village Waikoloa
Waikoloa Hilton
Hilton Waikoloa Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing