We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (9,157)
Filter reviews
9,157 results
Traveler rating
3,575
2,959
1,461
716
446
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,575
2,959
1,461
716
446
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean tower dolphin quest hilton waikoloa kona pool lagoon grill the big island pizza place chinese restaurant kamuela provision company boat ride swim with the dolphins buddha point fish boat service huge resort main lobby dolphin encounter
Filter
Updating list...
5,714 - 5,719 of 9,157 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Property was fabulous, everything you need is on site. If your a light sleeper, you may want to avoid the Ocean Tower, Ocean View. During our stay, sleep was interupted by loud birds squaking early in the morning. Views were amazing.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Ronald Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

First of all, disregard all the reviews from people who complain about the wait times for the tram or boat that take you around the 62 acre resort. These people are obviously NOT on vacation or if they are, need to learn to chill out and relax. I think we "waited" for the tram twice in the 7 days we were there. Also disregard the people who complain about how expensive everything is. Hawaii is expensive folks and yet worth every penny. If you're looking for cheap, go to Mexico. You can save a little money by stopping at Costco/ Walmart/ Safeway to pick up snacks, beverages, water & wine (or sunscreen etc if you forgot it) for the room in Kona before heading north to the resort. There's a mini fridge in the room (2x2x2) but no microwave so keep that in mind.
The two pool areas were always impeccably clean and attended to and not overly crowded which is important to me.
This place is truly a gem. I saw tropical fish I've only seen in aquariums freely swimming in the onsite water features and birds I've only seen in cages and zoos freely walking and flying about. Ditto on the dolphins.
As for dining, I cannot recommend Roy's at the Kings Shops on Waikoloa Beach Dr enough. Best food & service I've had in years. The food at Merriman's was delicious too.
I would definitely recommend Waikoloa and this hotel.

Date of stay: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LizKeepsitReal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a village in itself. Take time to explore the hotel when there. The pools, lagoon, and especially the art are things to spend time on. It's a museum and theme park rolled into one. Wish the Dolphin experience and some of the services were more value priced, but you can't beat the overall stay

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Kalyan T R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

First off, I found the hotel to be extremely disconnected. It takes for ever to get from place to place. Even when using the Tram. I ordered Kung Pao Chicken at their restaurant. It was $18. What's amazing is that meal didn't include RICE! That was another $16...not a resort I would frequent again for sure!

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonWaikoloa, General Manager at Hilton Waikoloa Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We regret we were not able to provide you with the dining experience you expected during your stay with us. We will pass your comments to the team at Kirin Chinese Restaurant. As a note for other guests who may dine with Kirin, regular Jasmine rice is $3 per person and family-sized fried rice dishes begin at $16 currently. Thank you again for your review and we hope you will consider giving us a second chance the next time you are in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Recently stayed at this property and was extremely disappointed. This was our third and final stop on what was, to that point, a delightful trip to Hawaii. Upon arrival were we're herded like cattle, and waited to check in. This was a slow time of year, so said a manager later on, so it made no sense for the long check in, except they were understaffed. No warm Hawaii greeting from any staff. Given totally wrong information at check in about the resort. Took almost an hour to get our bags. No apology. Couldn't connect to wifi..no apology. Concierge was not around to assist with dining options. Manager on duty had few menus outside of the few very overpriced choices in the hotel. There were almost no choices to eat out outside of the hotel. And to make matters worse, our Lagoon Tower room, which was recently renovated,,had mold in the shower. Management didn't seem to care. You are a number at this place, like cattle. Do yourself a favor and stay closer to Kona, where all the restaurants and shops are. This place was the pits.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HonestOpinion19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonWaikoloa, General Manager at Hilton Waikoloa Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

We are sorry that you had a disappointing experience during your stay with us. At Hilton, we always aim to ensure every guest feels cared for, valued and respected. Your feedback will help us deliver this brand promise. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. We will be addressing the concerns you mentioned regarding check in, bathroom condition and all other items. Our hotel here in Waikoloa holds weekly Quality Team meetings where various department representatives meet to discuss such things and we will share your review with the team. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews