We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is a very large hotel complex which you never need to leave unless you choose. Everything is there! I loved the lagoon where you can swim, snorkel, kayak and paddleboard. You can see turtles, fish even some eels all within this lagoon. There is artwork all through the property and I would recommend a nice walk to enjoy it all. There is a little something for everyone here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryofMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,810 - 4,816 of 8,182 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

Property was fabulous, everything you need is on site. If your a light sleeper, you may want to avoid the Ocean Tower, Ocean View. During our stay, sleep was interupted by loud birds squaking early in the morning. Views were amazing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Ronald Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

First of all, disregard all the reviews from people who complain about the wait times for the tram or boat that take you around the 62 acre resort. These people are obviously NOT on vacation or if they are, need to learn to chill out and relax. I think we "waited" for the tram twice in the 7 days we were there. Also disregard the people who complain about how expensive everything is. Hawaii is expensive folks and yet worth every penny. If you're looking for cheap, go to Mexico. You can save a little money by stopping at Costco/ Walmart/ Safeway to pick up snacks, beverages, water & wine (or sunscreen etc if you forgot it) for the room in Kona before heading north to the resort. There's a mini fridge in the room (2x2x2) but no microwave so keep that in mind.
The two pool areas were always impeccably clean and attended to and not overly crowded which is important to me.
This place is truly a gem. I saw tropical fish I've only seen in aquariums freely swimming in the onsite water features and birds I've only seen in cages and zoos freely walking and flying about. Ditto on the dolphins.
As for dining, I cannot recommend Roy's at the Kings Shops on Waikoloa Beach Dr enough. Best food & service I've had in years. The food at Merriman's was delicious too.
I would definitely recommend Waikoloa and this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lizontapps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a village in itself. Take time to explore the hotel when there. The pools, lagoon, and especially the art are things to spend time on. It's a museum and theme park rolled into one. Wish the Dolphin experience and some of the services were more value priced, but you can't beat the overall stay

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Kalyan T R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

First off, I found the hotel to be extremely disconnected. It takes for ever to get from place to place. Even when using the Tram. I ordered Kung Pao Chicken at their restaurant. It was $18. What's amazing is that meal didn't include RICE! That was another $16...not a resort I would frequent again for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonWaikoloa, General Manager at Hilton Waikoloa Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We regret we were not able to provide you with the dining experience you expected during your stay with us. We will pass your comments to the team at Kirin Chinese Restaurant. As a note for other guests who may dine with Kirin, regular Jasmine rice is $3 per person and family-sized fried rice dishes begin at $16 currently. Thank you again for your review and we hope you will consider giving us a second chance the next time you are in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Recently stayed at this property and was extremely disappointed. This was our third and final stop on what was, to that point, a delightful trip to Hawaii. Upon arrival were we're herded like cattle, and waited to check in. This was a slow time of year, so said a manager later on, so it made no sense for the long check in, except they were understaffed. No warm Hawaii greeting from any staff. Given totally wrong information at check in about the resort. Took almost an hour to get our bags. No apology. Couldn't connect to wifi..no apology. Concierge was not around to assist with dining options. Manager on duty had few menus outside of the few very overpriced choices in the hotel. There were almost no choices to eat out outside of the hotel. And to make matters worse, our Lagoon Tower room, which was recently renovated,,had mold in the shower. Management didn't seem to care. You are a number at this place, like cattle. Do yourself a favor and stay closer to Kona, where all the restaurants and shops are. This place was the pits.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HonestOpinion19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonWaikoloa, General Manager at Hilton Waikoloa Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

We are sorry that you had a disappointing experience during your stay with us. At Hilton, we always aim to ensure every guest feels cared for, valued and respected. Your feedback will help us deliver this brand promise. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. We will be addressing the concerns you mentioned regarding check in, bathroom condition and all other items. Our hotel here in Waikoloa holds weekly Quality Team meetings where various department representatives meet to discuss such things and we will share your review with the team. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I have stayed literally 40 nites at this hotel since Hilton took over from Hyatt, half the time business and years ago with my kids, and this week with my wife for 49th wedding anniversary. This time most disappointing, but still is a v good family option...We stayed on Ocean Tower, 3rd fl ocean view...I'm Hyatt gold so some amenities included, Internet, DVD rentals, etc. rooms need remodeling, though spacious, dead flowers left in room behind bed, not spotless (needed to plug in equipment by bed, no plugs unless you pull mattress from wall and crawl under wood headboard and shelf...should have been Easter, there were so many dust bunnies). Air vents especially air returns on first floor hall ways alarmingly filthy, the floor used for grounds access. Needs reprinting too.

Amenities: You either walk 7 minutes to lobby to get car, or wait for monorail like tram or boats. Boats run only part of day, tram at night requires 10 minute wait. No beach, artificial lagoon, nice but very crowded and noisy with kids. All pools noisy except the adult pool, which is open only from 10-5pm and has no hot tub. The only hot tub is at Lagoon tower a 15 minute walk. So the adult pool has very limited hours and no hot tub. Restaurants good, resort level expensive, best places to eat and beaches are outside of resort...plan not to stay put...so not a relaxing escape for adults.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrugDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
1.4 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
6.4 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
21 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
2.5 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
0.7 mi away
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Waikoloa Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Waikoloa Village

Address: 69-425 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5799
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range: $263 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Waikoloa Village 4*
Number of rooms: 1113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the aloha spirit wash over you in one of the world's most beautiful resorts: Hilton Waikoloa Village - Lagoon Tower and Palace Tower. Experience the magic of Hawaii at our hotel, an oasis dotted with lagoons, pools, water slides, a wide variety of restaurants and bars, and staffed by a team of accommodating hospitality professionals who are here to make sure you're enjoying your island time. Settle into your well-appointed guest room, explore all that we have to offer, and soak up the Hawaiian sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Waikoloa Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waikoloa Village Hotel Waikoloa
Hawaii Hilton Waikoloa Village
Hilton Village Hotel Waikoloa
Hilton Village Waikoloa
Waikoloa Hilton
Hilton Waikoloa Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing