We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8,991)
Filter reviews
8,991 results
Traveler rating
3,508
2,923
1,426
699
435
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,508
2,923
1,426
699
435
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean towerdolphin questhilton waikoloakona poollagoon grillthe big islandpizza placechinese restaurantkamuela provision companybuddha pointboat rideswim with the dolphinsfishhuge resortboat servicemain lobbydolphin encounter
Filter
Updating list...
5,573 - 5,578 of 8,991 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was our second time to this resort. Beautiful and very big.
We stayed in the ocean towers. It was quite a distance from the room to pools and the main lobby or queer parking. For those who plan to stay at the resort the whole time this may be ok. I was very disappointed in the tennis. There were no events other than paying for lessons or clinics. I left the director several messages to try and set up a match for me and never got a call back. I was hoping to play a few times and never ended up playing. Disappointing! Overal this is a very nice resort but the rooms are dated

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LKtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

If you never want to leave the hotel but still want plenty to do this is a great place to stay. The parking is fairly expensive $17/day for self park and the cost of dinning is fairly expensive as well. If you want to go out and explore the island the hotel is hard to leave. There is the train ride to the lobby and then a nice walk to the care. If you forget anything and have to go back you can easily waste 30 minutes. The amenities at the hotel are very nice and I have zero complaints about the hotel pools and lagoon. If you want to snorkel the lagoon get there early because as more people show up the visibility really decreases.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Had awesome experience staying at this hotel. An A1 hotel, would come back again if given a choice. The location of the hotel, the quality of the rooms, the service of the helpful staff and facilities inside the resort were just awesome. And the overall ambience inside the resort was as though we are in a miniatured version of paradise. Frankly speaking after a long while had a real experience of relaxing vacation. Much of that I would attribute to our stay at Hilton, Waikoloa Village, HI.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Debsubhra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I rented a car at the Kona airport (KOA) and drove to this hotel for a 5-night stay. The hotel is very nice, but its HUGE, and really spread out. There's a little tram that takes you from one side of the resort to the other, which is about a 15-20 minute walk. The tram sometimes takes longer than walking.

They have a bunch of pools. The food is okay, but not great. The menu's are very limited at the restaurants but they have restaurants themed in different cuisines. A lot of tourist activities are not a far drive from the hotel.

The rooms are a bit outdated and there is no beach adjacent to hotel. you have to go offsite for beach access.

We had a room with a view of the sunset, and I also managed to get some nice night photos from my balcony.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the sunset.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HershalP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed at the Palace and booked three rooms as was traveling with a family of 10 people ranging in ages from 7 to 73. All rooms were very comfortable, clean, and safe. Rooms were kept nice and cool and not like the weather outside being hot and humid. There was one day we noticed the bathtub was a bit clogged. The next day it was remedied and we had not said anything. Bravo to the cleaning staff who just took that extra step with checking everything right down to a simple drain in the tub.

The family enjoyed swimming in pools and the fresh saltwater lagoon, water slides, snorkeling, fishing, and hiking nearby. Not too sure if fishing was actually allowed on the premises but we found a local fisherman late one evening who let us join him. It was a lovely experience to share with him in and this was one of the highlights of the trip for the kids. At night the young adults relaxed playing pool in the lounge while some with young kids were able to watch a movie in the room we rented for free from the DVD machine.

Additional activities, which include a cost, include the luau, dolphin quest, water sports, biking, golfing, tennis, spa and more off premise activities which can be easily booked.

The hotel has a Big Island Breakfast worth an honorable mention. The highlight was the chef who worked the omelet station. The perfect made order omelet made by a genuinely nice guy who will talk to you if you initiate a conversation. My kids would ask him one question a day and it fascinated them with his always-friendly personal response.

There was an incident at the buffet where someone accidentally took a cup holding my daughters special and very expensive dental mouthpiece. Staffs were more than helpful and did find the piece a few hours later. I personally thank the Manager, Ronald, who did not give up looking for the piece. We did offer a $100 cash reward upfront and afterward, which he kindly declined. This was another example of the extra effort by staff just because of their good nature. Did wish he would have taken the reward though.

Other authentic cuisines we tried included Japanese, Mexican, Chinese, and good old fashion American. Albeit a bit expensive, the food and especially the service were all very good - add 18% gratuity on meals for our large party of 10 people.

The only two occasions that missed the mark. First, there was a Jack-in-the-Box conference that happened the tail end of our stay. There were some areas attendees were set up for dining, etc. When making efforts to gain access to the pool, which was still posted as accessible, two different people told us to go another way. When I asked if they were hotel staff, they did say they were not but were the vendor staff coordinating the event. Although friendly, really felt awkward. We ended up leaving back to the room with difficulty finding a route back wearing only our bathing suits and having to bump into the coordinators again. Second, the last day of our stay there was pest control between the hours of 10am to 3pm in our section of the hotel. We originally were going to have a late checkout to enjoy another swim after breakfast but with the spray decided to check out prior to the 10am start time.

Overall, I would recommend the Hilton Waikoloa to family and friends because of its overall genuine friendly staff complemented by the well-rounded venue it offers. The staff is what made the stay most welcome!

Room Tip: I would recommend staying in the Palace section in one of the upper floors. Our room facing the golf course ran warm and hot water in the taps. Our other rooms facing the lagoon ran clearly cold and hot. Still, no complaints on the water temperature overall but in case it is important to you. The Ocean portion of the hotel can face the luau which can be quite noisy based on how loud the performance can be facing that portion of the hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews