We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For those looking for suite info...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“For those looking for suite info...”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The property itself is beautiful! My husband and I were there with our kids (17 & 14). I will give specifics about the presidential suite that we stayed in, because I couldn't find any info/pics before we went. We were in the Palace Tower (6th floor). First of all, this room is HUGE - 2 BR, 2 1/2 bath, dining table for 8, living area, kitchen (which is actually a separate room), 2 saunas, dressing area off master, office area w/desk. The lanai itself is also large. It had a full table with 4 chairs, and 4 loungers. Like I mentioned before, the kitchenette is a separate room. There is a fridge - not full-sized, but plenty big to hold drinks, fruit, snacks. microwave, toaster, full-sized coffee pot with coffee replenished the entire week we were there. Also, a small sink, and cabinets that were mostly empty, although there were also wine glasses, juice glasses, about 4 plates, 4 bowls. No silverware. It was nice to have a place to store snacks, etc. Birds can be heard, but really only in the living area. Bedrooms are extremely quiet and I slept very well. The room was clean, but it is definitely outdated and would benefit from a remodel. Yes, the resort food is expensive, but we found the portions to be pretty large, and we almost always had leftovers, or were able to share a meal and have plenty. Valet parking - DEFINTELY worth it! I will post pics of our suite as well if anyone is interested.

Room Tip: The location of this room is decent, but if I had a choice I would have picked the Lagoon tower. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cookiecrumbmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,903
    2,497
    1,131
    574
    324
See reviews for
2,853
2,773
131
621
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,849)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

All in all this is a good property. Lots to do for all ages both of my boys really liked it, (7&14). Very much family and kid centric. Not the place for a romantic or adult getaway.
PROS:
Lagoon pool /beach. All the fun of going to the beach but with towel service, food & drink. Also the lagoon pool is subject to tide swings has fish for snorkeling but best of all lots of turtles to swim with. No extra cost for this
Dolphin Quest was a great experience for the boys. They got a lot of time in the water with the Dolphins. Was much better than the Sea World Dolphin experience.
Lots of restaurants trending towards casual as this is clearly a family place
PS3 in room was great for kids
Good selection of free movie and game rentals

CONS:
Nothing is cheap here. $800+ for Dolphin Quest for 3. Pool drinks are $12+. $5.00 for a cup of coffee and refills were $4.69. ( free coffee in room). Dinner for four is an easy $100 for kids meal tacos burgers and a couple of beers.

This is a big property and to get from one side to other you need to use tram or boat both of which are slow.

My suggestion is use the resort as a base from which to explore the big island. Go to Wiemea, Volcanoes National Park, Kona and the many beaches. We chartered a fishing boat out of the Marina in Kona and had a great morning even though nothing was biting.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mrjimcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is an expensive resort. The maid service is iffy, and the rooms are small. Tea cups were removed and not replaced in the room. Nor were the tea or coffee restocked. One day, only my shampoo was replaced. And the towels are not particularly large or thick, and there are only two supplied in the room. My requests for more were never filled.
Even as a Diamond member, I was treated pretty poorly. You are given vouchers for food at the restaurants in $10 certificates, which means that getting a continental breakfast will still cost you tax and tip. Plus, the restaurants and coffee shops do not open until 7 and close by 10. If you want to get out early, you can't use them.
You either must pay to park, or walk uphill from the far side of the entry area. In the heat, it's a very long walk.
There is a train to get you around the resort. It only runs certain hours, and takes about twenty minutes to loop around. The alternative is to walk (It's flat) along their covered walkway which is filled with lovely pieces of art. unfortunately, few people seemed to be taking advantage of looking at them.
Since TV is limited, you can get free DVDs to play...if they are available in your building. You can't borrow them from any of the other buildings, and there is a limited selection unless you are into family films.
This resort was overpriced and unimpressive (except for the art). It's not worth the money you pay.

Room Tip: Go down to the ABC store in the village. Better prices and they have a huge amount of food availabl...
See more room tips
Green Features: Couldn't tell you. It sounds nice, but I didn't note anything other than they wouldn't change the sheets or towels unless you request it.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arts123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

It is a huge property! You definitely have to be on island time when getting back and forth on foot, in the tram or by boat. But it is absolutely paradise. We had an ocean view room in the tower farthest from the lobby. The view was great. I walk every day and there are infinite places to walk on the property and down the beach. The food we had there was good. My wife likes a good cup of coffee in the morning, and we found that at a coffee stand adjacent to the room. We were only there for 2 days, and I wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Get the ocean view in the far tower...it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, IL (Chicagoland)
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The 62 acres are really beautiful here. There is lagoon where you can snorkel or rent a kayak. There is an area where you can swim with dolphins (at a cost of course). There is a large pool area with a slide and waterfalls. There is a tram and boat that takes you from one end to another, or if you have the time and energy, you can walk and enjoy the scenery. Enjoyable stay, just wish the $25 resort fee also included parking in it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori_Ling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
154 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed in this resort for one night after arriving and before moving on to a weeklong stay in a condo. We chose this resort as we were familiar with it from a previous visit and it was near the area we were staying for the rest of the trip.

Our stay was not 'bad', but also, not 'good'. With the benefit of hindsight, we might have chosen another hotel. This may be due to our preference for a bit more 'hotel' and bit less 'resort'.

Starting with arrival at the nominated checkin time, we went from a long overseas journey (3 flights over 20 hours) straight to the resort after arriving on the big island. After the valet took our car, we joined a lengthy queue of folks waiting to check in. At the time we joined the que, there was only one person working the front desk and about 8-9 parties waiting to check in. Even as other staff came on to help clear the backlog, the wait was considerable. Rather than a simple process of handing over a reservation confirmation and collecting a key, the staff were keen to *explain everything* about the resort...perhaps added value for some, but for us and others waiting in the queue, it was tiresome. In the end, 25 minutes wait to check in and the mood was definitely sour. This was followed by a 5 minute wait for the train to take us to our tower...in the end, the time between arriving and actually setting foot in the room was probably nearing 40 minutes.

the room was good, if a bit strange in terms of layout...it was almost a mini-suite, with a large bathroom/bar area and big walk in closet...the main sleeping area was spacious, but the bed was aligned to look out the window...interesting, nice...but an odd configuration...all up decent, clean, pleasant...a big comfy bed and no complaints about the room in general. Nice views. We slept well, despite a bit of jet lag.

As others have said, its a big place. We found the logistics irritating. The tram is available, or you can walk. We didn't mind either option, but simply found the time required to get from A to B *within* the resort was inconvenient. We strolled to breakfast, probably 10-15 minutes from our room to the restaurant. Need a cold drink? The bar is 10-15 minutes walk away? Want to do some shopping (in house)? Wait for the train for 5 minutes and then ride over for 5minutes. Want to go elsewhere to shop? First, budget 10+ minutes to get back to the lobby so you can collect your car, then drive to wherever you'd like to go... In the end, I felt a bit at the mercy of the layout: 'trapped' within a massive sprawling complex, which, while lovely, didn't offer the sort of experience i/we were after.

On a more positive note, we did enjoy drinks at one of the bars overlooking the dolphin area...good local beer and burgers..and the staff through out the resort were very friendly. We also enjoyed walking through the resort to view the various museum pieces from around the pacific that are displayed in the various parts of the this *large* hotel complex. Checkout, unlike checkin, was VERY quick and painless...and the valet had our car ready very quickly despite me forgetting the claim check in the room.

All up, a mixed experience, but we're not likely to return. We love Hiltons throughout the world in city locations, but this sort of massive resort is not really our thing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janenbenNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familylovestotravel
Level Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Yes it is large, I didn't think the walking would bother me but by the end of the week I was very tired of all the walking. Stay in the lagoon tower, closer to the pool and lagoon. Plenty of restaurant choices but you will pay resort prices. Plenty of chairs around the pool and lagoon but not enough shade. They need more covered areas, I cannot be in the sun for long periods of time. loved all the fish and turtles in the lagoon. Really enjoyed our time here but it is a long drive to get to other parts of the island. If I had it to do again I would stay here for a few days for the resort experience and then stay on the other side of the island for visiting Hilo and the volcano. About those birds, they are loud and if you are a light sleeper you are going to need ear plugs. This is truly a resort experience enjoy it but get out and see the island.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank famllylovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
1.4 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
6.5 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
20.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
2.6 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
9.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Waikoloa Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Waikoloa Village

Property: Hilton Waikoloa Village
Address: 69-425 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Waikoloa Village 4*
Number of rooms: 1240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the aloha spirit wash over you in one of the world's largest and most beautiful resorts: Hilton Waikoloa Village. Experience the magic of Hawaii at our hotel, an oasis dotted with lagoons, pools, water slides, a wide variety of restaurants and bars, and staffed by a team of accommodating hospitality professionals who are here to make sure you're enjoying your island time. Settle into your well-appointed guest room, explore all that we have to offer, and soak up the Hawaiian sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Waikoloa Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waikoloa Village Hotel Waikoloa
Hawaii Hilton Waikoloa Village
Hilton Village Hotel Waikoloa
Hilton Village Waikoloa
Waikoloa Hilton
Hilton Waikoloa Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing