We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel/Resort, Bad Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Reservation experience was horrible. Asked to stay in a specific tower, was told that 'yes, you will be staying in the tower you have requested' only to find that i wasn't. Called again to change, and no rooms were available anymore, so i asked for another tower, which again i was promised. Then at check-in i find out that i am not in that tower either. I was given attitude when told that they do not guarantee room location. Should have made that clear the first time. Other than that, the hotel is beautiful, the pools and lagoon were awesome. The bar service at the pools were great. And of course the ocean view is amazing!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Makena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,023)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,860 - 4,866 of 8,023 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

Very disappointed. Service and attitude of employees was terrible. No one offered to help with luggage or directions of locating room on the complex. Breakfast was average. No Beach access and everything is overpriced (you even have to rent a lounge chair!). Found so much more service from other resorts in the area with better quality service, rooms, and food. If you want to attend a DisneyLand type facility this is as close as it gets with a lot of pools for the kids, but if you want to relax on the beach on your Hawaiian get away with hotel service, search one of the other local beachside resorts. You'll get much more for you money and be able to relax. Finally, if you have a family emergency and have no choice to check out early, forget getting a refund or voucher for a later stay. I was transferred to some person in India and told it would never happen. Thoroughly disappointed with Hilton after reading such good reviews.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Amazing village resort on Hawaii, the big Island of Hawaii, we were on the Island for 1 week, and spend 2 nights here. It is so beautiful, and you have to experience this wonderland, you arrive and get on a little boat that takes you to the area where your room is located, the area you pass is amazing. It got beaches, pools, waterslides, dolphins to swim with, you name it, anything you would want, it is perfect for children. :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We have stayed at the Hilton Waikoloa 3 times and it it is a beautiful property. As is to be expected everthing has a price and is generally overpriced (beer is $7-$9, small burger with literally nothing else on the plate $13, Real burgers from $18-$32) for what you get, but you have to accept that when you go there, which is why we only go for a few nights of a 2 week stay. The food there is pathetic and way over priced. Everytime we go, we get lazy and eat on the property only to be dismally dissapointed and vow to never eat there again. We did it again ($170 dinner for pizza and spagetti, 5 beers) and thee next night we scoped out a new restaurant in Kings Market just down the street. I was skeptical that a place called "3 Fat pigs a gastropub" could possibly be good. It was fantastic!!!! a $300 dinner for 5 and worth every penny! Eppy (sp?) the Food Network chef is fantastic and we told him so. He says you either love it or hate his food. We loved it, but you have to like and value ecclectic food and dramatic flavors. I have never had carmelized onions like his. He says he starts the carmelizaton process with no butter or sugar and cooks in from 9 am until dinner. The retaurant is only a month old but he sure deserves the attention if you like well prepared and flavorfull food. His Ribeye was $36 for a 14oz vs $58 for a 10 oz on the property.

Room Tip: Limit your dining on the property and make the trek a few times to get a decent meal.When checking i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nacho1Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Outstanding property, can see why it is rated so high.

Pros: Exquisite gardens, views, dolphins, snorkel pools with fish and turtles, excellent facilities. Plants maintained so well they look artificial. Nice walkways, fish and birdlife everywhere. Nice boat taxis for leisurely transport to the different buildings, in stead of the 8km/h (5mph) tram service.
If you don't have a rental car there is a shuttle bus at $2 each way to the shopping centre 1km away, as well as close beaches.

Cons: $25.00 per day service fee on top of room rate - why not include in room rate? Makes a mockery of internet pricing comparisons.
Parking $17.00 per day - seriously? After renting a car at $30/day plus $20/day for insurance, another $17/day? Come on!
Breakfast at $30 pp - ridiculous.
We had no trouble with bird noises, but the tram crossing warning signals outside our room every 10 minutes was quite irritating - ocean view (extra of course) should not have this problem.

The place is a must-see, but be prepared for the hidden extras.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HendrikBerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Excellent hotel boasting all the luxuries you could possibly want. My daughter loved riding the tram and the boat around the resort. Her favourite experience was swimming with the dolphins and playing with the parrots. Staff very well trained and make you feel welcome. A wonderful family vacation spot.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Melinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

To begin, valet parking is $22 versus self parking $17. The valets are super fast, very courteous. In fact we learned from the valet supervisor since there are no designated handicapper parking spots the hotel offers FREE valet parking for disabled. Great service.

To follow, check in is somewhat sluggish. Only twice as we passed the front desk area was the Hilton Honors desk staffed for Elite members. For those who usually experience expedited service, do not expect a quick check in. Anticipate a little wait. Maybe 10 to 15 minutes on average.

Next, food is just stupid expensive. $16.95 for a hamburger (Without fries or drink), $5 for a soft drink, $13.00 for a mini pizza. The kids menu is equally ridiculously priced with poor quality. There was a small hotel fridge in our room (Dolphin Tower). Call ahead for info if your room will have one. If not you will find buying a foam ice chest at KMart a brilliant choice for your stay. Grab drinks, milk, juice at Safeway for a cost savings. P B & I is a filling choice for lunch by the lagoons. There is a $4 garden salad at, The Orchid Marketplace on site (Not really a market like suggested. No groceries just $14 sandwiches, $5.00 corn dogs) but the $4 salad will get you some greens which is the only bargain we found at all of the food vendors on property. AN ADDED more, each Diamond members room receives 2- $10.00, meal vouchers pet day, pet room. ASK for them during check in.

Best TIP for the LOVE OF YOUR FAMILY, DO NOT, REPEAT DO NOT, sign up for the timeshare orientation. There is an offer for a hundred dollar resort (Not good on room rates) voucher or 22,000 points if you attended a 90 minute (3 hours in real time ) sales pitch. You get shuttled off property. You are taken far enough away walking back is a hot mess and walking back is your only option FYI if you do not buy or refuse to be bullied for hours. We were in fact interested in learning of timeshare opportunities. We went willingly for actual interest. We were told we not allowed to leave the grounds until we spoke to a manager after we told the sales agent we were going for a couple hours for lunch and to review his offer we picked up and left. Ha, that was not the conclusion though. Our room was repeatedly called, every few minutes asking for us to return to the lower lobby for a shuttle to bring us back to finish our tour. A condition we were advised must be met or our certificate we were given for $100 would be charged to our credit card.

BUGS. All of Hawaii is infested. It is an island. The cockroaches are enormous. We killed a three inch bugs in the bathroom this morning after one heck of a battle. Our only concern is the ones we saw at Hilton seemed well feed.

Pools are dirty by evening yet again they are well used. They are fresh by morning. Staff of the grounds certainly look busy keeping up with guests. No litter (Except wet towels everywhere). Housekeepers are lacking. We found leftovers from others in our room that should not have been missed during maid service.

The number one thing to know, well 1 & 2 are you can be within 2 feet of the dolphins either on the bridge or a few feet more sitting on the lawn without any obstructed views. They are always in their pens jumping, splashing, playing. You cannot touch them without paying $200 plus for a shared 30 minute meet and greet. Your family would enjoy more a $129 for adults, $75 for kids, $29 for little kids, four hour snorkel/swim with dolphins at the Captain Cook Monument. You also get breakfast and a barbeque lunch for that price. Waaaaaay better deal. There are several your guides. Look them up first. Hilton sells yours yet only certain companies who give them commission. They might not be the best choice. Reservations are pretty simple to do on your own

Lastly, the resort few gets you an old PS box, a few movies and free lemon water in the lobby. The fun classes are extra, about $10 a person. The Hilton does offer daycare at their kids club which might be priceless for some. Otherwise, the entire Hilton Village, including dolphins, lagoons, pools (Even though staff said they are excluded from all access, they are not. The total grounds are open, no gates, keys, or bracelets distinguish guests). Anyone can walk the beautiful paths, watch magnificent sunsets, swim with turtles. I think access to beach fronts is a Hawaiian law. Hotel employees said Hilton offers access as a courteous.

The only reason I would not stay again at this Hilton is it is so nice, comfortable, enjoyable, pricey that you do not want to leave the resort. There is an entire island of adventures you miss out on staying in such a wonderf

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KimberlyAHazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
6.5 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
1.4 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
6.9 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
2.5 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
0.5 mi away
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Waikoloa Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Waikoloa Village

Address: 69-425 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range: $271 - $694 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Waikoloa Village 4*
Number of rooms: 1240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the aloha spirit wash over you in one of the world's most beautiful resorts: Hilton Waikoloa Village - Lagoon Tower and Palace Tower. Experience the magic of Hawaii at our hotel, an oasis dotted with lagoons, pools, water slides, a wide variety of restaurants and bars, and staffed by a team of accommodating hospitality professionals who are here to make sure you're enjoying your island time. Settle into your well-appointed guest room, explore all that we have to offer, and soak up the Hawaiian sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Waikoloa Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waikoloa Village Hotel Waikoloa
Hawaii Hilton Waikoloa Village
Hilton Village Hotel Waikoloa
Hilton Village Waikoloa
Waikoloa Hilton
Hilton Waikoloa Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing