We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“must have dinner at KPC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The evening we were there (in February) the whales were delightfully entertaining, the food good and the sunset magnificent. Don't miss this place for dinner. Have the coconut creme brulee for dessert. Yum!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2722_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,223 - 5,229 of 8,119 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Waikaloa Village for spring break in March of 2012 with our two kids. We also traveled with two other families and their children. The hotel was beautiful and the tram system made it easy to get around since the resort is so large. Our room was nice and had a great view of the lagoon and the dolphins with a balcony. There was a really great breakfast buffet every morning, it got pretty busy the later you got there so if you want to beat the crowds get their before 8 or 8:30am. We are early risers so wasn't a problem for us. There were plenty of things to do for both adults and kids. It felt like a nice safe place and our kids had a sense of freedom being able to roam around as they pleased as long as they were checking in frequently. (Our kids are 11 and 13). I would highly recommend this Waikaloa Villvage, much more lush than a lot of the island, the village itself had great restaurants, grocery stores, etc. we had a wonderful time and will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that overlooks the lagoon....nice view with the ocean out in the background.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Corinne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights as part of our honeymoon.
This hotel is big, very big. They actually have a Japanese styled 'tram' which looks quite space age and a river system with boat launches which is used for transporting guests around the property.
The hotel is located just north of the airport and takes approximately 20-30 minutes to drive to.
We found it with no problems and were able to park our car with no issues.
We found it strange that the hotel didn't really have a main lobby and reception area where people would mingle but this didn't really bother us as we don't normally spend much time at the hotel reception!
Our room was located in the Ocean Tower building which is easiest to get to using the tram, a 10 minute walk from reception if you chose.
Our room was large, clean and had a great view out over the golf course and to the ocean but the room felt slightly dated and the bathroom was very small, especially by American standards.
The pools and surrounding areas are immaculate and are very well maintained but we noticed that the pools were absolutely freezing cold and not too many people were actually in them.
The poolside bars were expensive, a small can of miller lite will set you back $6 and a non- alcoholic 'mocktail' is $6!
We had breakfast one morning at the cost of $30 per head which seemed a little steep considering the quality and variety of foods on offer.
We the at a couple of the hotel restaurants but found them to be nothing special and heavily over priced so after a few days we started eating our and stocked up on food and drink in our fridge.
Kona is roughly 30 minutes away to the south and has an abundance of great restaurants and bars, we visited kona for 3 evenings and enjoyed each night there with a great meal and a lovely setting.
My advice would be don't get ripped off by the hotel restaurant and bar prices, get out and enjoy some of the local areas but chose this hotel if you want a quality place to stay with lots to do.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vandango86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed at this resort the week before Christmas and had a wonderful time. I read all the reviews on this site before hand and I have to say that some people just like to complain. Yes, you have to walk alot, but it's Hawaii and 80 degrees out. Get the exercise and enjoy the warm weather. The pools are cold, but again, my kids could of cared less... We're in Hawaii!! Food was slightly expensive, but you have to expect it. It was all very delicious so we enjoyed it. We had a pedicure at the spa, this was the best pedicure I've had so... well worth the money and experience. We stayed in the Ocean Towers and the rooms were huge, clean and quiet. Loved the flowers on the pillows that we found after housekeeping cleaned. Try a snorkel cruise out of Kona, what a nice day trip. Go for breakfast at Dave's Plate and Coffee Shack. Yummy!!!

This was just an amazing trip and miss it every day since we've been back. Thank you Hilton Waikoloa Village for everything!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had a great time! Looking forward to another trip in our future. The facility was clean, well kept and always being groomed. The staff was courteous and upbeat. We felt like we were royalty. They treated us with the greatest respect.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harleycinderella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Aloha! My wife and I were at this property Jan. 29, 2013 for a few weeks. The resort is huge! There is so much to see, you won't have time to see it all. Super clean, and staff are friendly to the extreme. Now, just some points that were not show stoppers, but I had to take notice. At the Big Island Breakfast Buffet, at $30 per person, they do not serve fresh squeezed juice...........really...in Hawaii...at at 7 point Hh resort! It's all out of a can... that surprised me. Also, be prepared to make a run to the local Costco, as everything at this resort is premium expensive. Bar drinks at $13 and meals will run you $30 a plate. There are some good alternatives "off resort" that offer great food and good value. Try the Queens market shopping deli for snacks and meals to go. The fish and chips at the take out window in the Kings mall across the street. Also, walking is the norm so if you have a disability you may want to rent a mobility scooter from Big Island Medical. They deliver right to the valet parking for you. Overall a good property, but I'd do it much differently next time. Mahalo

Room Tip: Tell them you want a view of the Budda
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ken2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

This is an exceptionally beautiful property with everything: weather, pool, beach, snorkeling, whales, dolphinarium, garden, art, restaurants, sunsets, etc. very expensive parking which is annoying. Try to get it waived. Other than that, paradise

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EileenSirkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
1.4 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
6.4 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
6.9 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
0.7 mi away
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Waikoloa Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Waikoloa Village

Address: 69-425 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5799
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range: $250 - $460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Waikoloa Village 4*
Number of rooms: 1113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the aloha spirit wash over you in one of the world's most beautiful resorts: Hilton Waikoloa Village - Lagoon Tower and Palace Tower. Experience the magic of Hawaii at our hotel, an oasis dotted with lagoons, pools, water slides, a wide variety of restaurants and bars, and staffed by a team of accommodating hospitality professionals who are here to make sure you're enjoying your island time. Settle into your well-appointed guest room, explore all that we have to offer, and soak up the Hawaiian sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Waikoloa Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waikoloa Village Hotel Waikoloa
Hawaii Hilton Waikoloa Village
Hilton Village Hotel Waikoloa
Hilton Village Waikoloa
Waikoloa Hilton
Hilton Waikoloa Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing