We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing facilities, extras are very costly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“amazing facilities, extras are very costly”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Beautiful place, lagoon ideal for kids. No real beach. Insanely expensive food, drinks. Want wi-fi? Ten dollars each day, or $25 for week. Want a Margarita? 20 bucks. To be fair, the staff are helpful and polite, grounds are immaculate. But the costs were disturbing. Birds by rooms are louder than chainsaw. I know, that statement sounds ridiculous but its true!

Room Tip: Get room facing lagoon area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaughLove1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,950
    2,523
    1,156
    577
    330
See reviews for
2,900
2,816
133
626
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,877)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

we have stayed a few of times before, had great times, some things are expensive, but overall we really feel its great value, best time to go is not peak times, but go off peak, then you get really good value. Try to get inclusive breakfast, or early birds.(not the tweeting one,s some complain about)staff are great, and really helpful. hotel is not for everyone, but for our family, it is what we like. see the dolphins if you can. any problems , the staff are there to help, food is priced high, but its great, kids enjoy it, and they will do a deal for you, for the kids,. give the hotel a try, and you,ll be back, saunders family, ps get hilton credit card,well worth the price.

Room Tip: call the hotel a few days prior o your visit, and tell them what you want, and ask them to recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hondis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Last month I completed my sixth vacation stay at the Hilton Waikoloa Village on the Big Island. Our family stayed seven nights this year. We stayed on points accumulated with my stays and AMEX affinity card points.

The property is 30 minutes north of the Kona Airport, luckily car rentals are cheaper on this island than Maui, so be sure to have a car to drive the mile to the King's and Queen's shops and the 10 minutes to Waikoloa Village, where reasonable groceries can be purchased.

The property is huge! There are three towers, all connected by a monorail and motor boats, much like the "Jungle Cruise" at Disneyland.

Hilton recently renovated the Lagoon Tower rooms, and the rooms are beautiful! They appear to have done a major refit, changing the close, bathroom layout, wall coverings, etc. The rooms now have double vanities, a great closet as you enter the room and a larger bathtub and beautiful touches with a very subdued "Hawaiian" feel. The bedroom now has an outlet-friendly desk and an HDTV with a wide array of HD programming. All of the furniture is in a beautiful dark wood with a “Hawaiian” touch.

As a “Diamond”-level HHonors member for the past seven years, they’ve upgraded me to this tower with a “Dolphin Quest” view for four straight years. Thank you! This year I was on the fifth floor, and you can really see over the palm trees for an amazing ocean view!

As a “Diamond”-level HHonors guest, they provide you with two $10 vouchers per day to use at any restaurant. Although I sorely miss the Diamond Concierge Lounge which closed in 2008, the coupons are actually more versatile. We used them primarily for lunch, with having breakfast off-property at the Starbucks in the Queen’s Marketplace a mile away. They also sell a 7-day coupon for $30 with two $10 vouchers, making the net $10. It also provides a 10% discount on all food. I found their IT lacking as over 50% of the time they took off the vouchers before applying the discount. Luckily the front desk was able to adjust these each time. By the way, they offer a free meal to children 4 and under with a corresponding adult meal purchase.

During this stay we were told the hotel was at 50% capacity, and it was wonderful!! Even when full on the last day there are always plenty of pool chairs to go around. I never felt any lines anywhere. They finally dropped their silly towel check-out, and now just provide pool towels by telling them your room number. Our favorite spot is the lagoon, a somewhat natural ocean-fed lagoon that is perfectly flat for our 4-year-old daughter to swim and use or rent water toys. We rented kayaks twice during the trip. As usual, the sea turtles were busy swimming the length of the lagoon.

We did splurge one evening at the Kamuela Provision Company restaurant. This is the place to be for sunset. Even though they try to sell you a guaranteed patio package, we didn’t have any problem to be seated on water’s edge as the sun went down. They have rebranded their Boat Landing restaurant as a Cantina, and it was nice. The “make at your table” guacamole dip is fantastic. We were disappointed with the food and service at the Dona and Toni’s Pizza Restaurant. This is the third different theme in this spot along the boat waterway. The menu is confusing. I feel I was overcharged, but let it slide.
They have a new Sundry Shop in the Lagoon Tower, but still everything is overpriced. I saw a really “cool” Hilton Waikoloa-branded cap on display but they wanted $32 for it. The Marriott in Maui had a Marriott property-branded similar cap in their sundry shop for $18.50. I almost bought it in spite. I don’t think they get the idea of “Free Advertising”.

Speaking of “Free Advertising”, stop by the Welcome Desk and pick up the free Hilton Grand Vacations tote. Ask for the green one! We use them for groceries here in California every week.This year we wasted 90 minutes to take the Timeshare tour, but when they got down to their “So what do you spend per year on vacation accommodations?” pitch, they can’t compete with ZERO as an answer. Thank you HHonors AMEX and hotel stays.

If you really want to learn about the property, spend time talking to the boat operators. They are really the “Ambassadors” for the property. Not only do we remember them from year-to-year, they remember us too (it helps having out blonde daughter in tow). By far the best employee on the property is Boat Operator Kim. She really remembered us from our many stays and is the warmest, friendliest and most knowledgeable hotel employee you will ever encounter. I recommend killing an hour in the early evening just riding the full loop on the boat river. Make sure you wait for the convertible boats, if running.

Other than lacking more “Hawaiiana” atmosphere, the Hilton Waikoloa Village is where I’d recommend anyone to bank every HHonors point they earn for an unforgettable vacation of a lifetime, or for me an annual pilgrimage.

Room Tip: With the recent renovation, the Lagoon Tower is the only place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fly4points
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The wife and I visited in mid-September. No kids, no crowds, kinda of a dead time, which created the stage for an absolute great time for us. The resort is HUGE with pretty much everything you would need. It's only 20 minutes or so from the airport, a few more minutes from downtown Kona where all the action is on 'that' side of the island. The place is an architectural masterpiece. The way they engineered the lagoons, the lansdscape... the way the ocean feeds into their lagoons, with the fish, and the turtles, it's just mind-blowing. It DOES kinda reminds me of Vegas, but that's not a negative to me. The only downside, there isn't a real beach. So if you're looking for a hotel/resort with long stretches of sandy beach area, this is not the one for you. But overall, we enjoyed it very much and plan on taking the kids and grandkids next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATraversLeMonde_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Millions of birds woke me up this morning at 5 AM. (Sunrise and sunset) We are currently staying in the Lagoon tower room 5353! Dont know if we can change towers or if the problem is there as well. Reading these comments I suppose the birds are going to do this for the entire stay of my vacation! Do not stay here! This is the hotel from hell!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cepb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonWaikoloa, General Manager at Hilton Waikoloa Village, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Aloha. I sincerely apologize for the noise issue encountered during your stay. Your comfort and safety is my number one concern so I appreciate you bringing this to my attention and your review will assist in correcting issues in the future. The local bird population enjoys the lush vegetation we have established as part of our resort landscaping. We have attempted various solutions to deal with the noise they generate, particularly during the dawn and dusk times as you noted, and will continue to search for solutions, including modifying the landscaping and using noise-dampening construction. We attempted to contact you during your stay to consider alternative room locations in quieter areas, as the noise is limited to certain portions of the resort. We hope that the rest of your stay was enjoyable. In the future, we hope to have a better noise solution in place and that if you are in the area you will consider staying at our resort again. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Valley, New York
Level Contributor
114 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

A massive hotel (think Vegas meets Hawaii) with everything youu could want except no beach and poor service. They try and cater to conventions and families, but the intoxicated conventioners drinking alchohol by the pool (remember no beach - that is 15 minutes by foot a the Marriott) do not mix well with the families playing games. Restaurants are grossly overpriced ($14.95 for a tuna sandwich at a cafeteria style restaurant by the pool) and understaffed (people working an entire Jpanese restaurant with only 1 sushi chef). No safes in the rooms which are spartan (circa late 1980s). Overpriced spa which is not cleaned regularly by the attendants and has a shortage of towels in the locker room. Fitness center was stuck into 2 small rooms as an afterthought.Much better places to stay on the big island. Avoid this one.

Room Tip: lagoon tower is closest to spa and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank verycritical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princes Risborough, UK
Level Contributor
190 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is a very large hotel spread over a vast area, this is a train and boat service betwen the various buildings which is efficient and necessary. We did a great deal research and booked in the Lagoon Tower with a dolphin view room, we were pleased we did, we had rooms right over the dolphins pools and could watch them whenever we wished, a baby was born during our stay which was a real bonus.
Reception is businesslike but was not friendly and welcoming, with the size of the hotel this is not surprising but a smile and welcome to the hotel would be pleasant. We met people who were staying in Ocean Towers and they described the rooms as very tired and it was a long walk to the rest of the hotel, main pool, restaurants etc. The rooms in the Lagoon Tower are first class with excellent views on the ocean side.
We ate at Kamuela Provision, Imari and the Chinese restaurant in the hotel, all were excellent particularly the Kamuela where we ate outdoors in a wonderful setting. All the restaurants and bars are expensive by American standards, the buffet breakfast is a standard $30 plus tax.
We like to sit in the shade but not many options at the main pool, not much in the way of beach but there is an excellent beach next to the Marriott which is about a 10 minute walk or catch the shuttle to the local shopping centre and walk the rest. There are 2 small shopping centres a short distance away by hotel ferry for which the cahrge is $2 each way per person, there are also some good resturants in these centres..
We hired a car and drove to the volcano are about 20 miles from Hilo, it took 3 hours each way but they are spectascular and well worth the visit

Room Tip: Stay in Logaoon Tower with dolphin view, they are better rooms with great views. take ear plugs to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
1.4 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
6.5 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
20.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
2.6 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
9.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Waikoloa Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Waikoloa Village

Property: Hilton Waikoloa Village
Address: 69-425 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Waikoloa Village 4*
Number of rooms: 1240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the aloha spirit wash over you in one of the world's largest and most beautiful resorts: Hilton Waikoloa Village. Experience the magic of Hawaii at our hotel, an oasis dotted with lagoons, pools, water slides, a wide variety of restaurants and bars, and staffed by a team of accommodating hospitality professionals who are here to make sure you're enjoying your island time. Settle into your well-appointed guest room, explore all that we have to offer, and soak up the Hawaiian sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Waikoloa Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waikoloa Village Hotel Waikoloa
Hawaii Hilton Waikoloa Village
Hilton Village Hotel Waikoloa
Hilton Village Waikoloa
Waikoloa Hilton
Hilton Waikoloa Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing