We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hawaii Disney style”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 17, 2011

If you don't have schoolage kids, don't even think of reading this review! But, if you have younger ones, and you're headed to the Big Island, the Hilton is your best bet. Couples, honeymooners, seniors, etc - stay away, or you might feel disappointment. For the people reading this with little ones, we LOVE this hotel - everything from taking a boat or monorail to get to your room (you can also walk, but the novelty of the ride is so much more entertaining) to the dolphins, bay, multiple swiming pools, mini golf course - the list goes on. There is so much to do and something to please every little heart. Hotel restaurants were marginal, however, there are many other options in the area including the little mall accross the street, or restaurants at neighboring hotels. Rooms were OK, very standard (maybe a little sub-standard), but who cares - you are not there to hang in your room. 4 stars becasue as a whole this is the best place on this Island with kids for less than $400/night. It is not as luxurious as some other options, like the Orchid, but there is much more to do - your kids will love it! If you have the extra $ ($700+/night), go to the Four Seasons at Hualalai instead and your kids will have a lovely expereince also - not as "fun," but classy and more upscale in every way. But, remember, little kids don't know the difference between luxury & fun, so save the $ while they are young and take them to this Hilton for a "Disney" like experience in Hawaii, but for much less cost. Yes, of course things do cost extra (Dolphins, boat rentals on the bay, etc) but that is par for the course anywhere in Hawaii. Last, be weary of rooms in the tower above the dolphins. They offer amazing views, however, there are these crazy birds that start making insane noises every morning at 5am - we had to switch rooms (hotel was OK with this, no problems). Apparently, it's a well known problem. Maybe they will take care of the birds byt he time we return. Also, the dolphins make some noises (not nearly as bad as the birds) that can be heard during the night in the neighboring rooms. There are also rooms spread across the property, creating long walking distances to the main lobby. Not a problem for us, but some families may feel inconvenienced, so make sure you ask the front desk your options and look at a map before settling on a room assignment. The property is huge - maybe the largest hotel I have ever visited, so there are plenty of choices.

Room Tip: see comments at end of my review - lots of notes about room options
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Love2TravelLuxfromCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,950)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Waikoloa Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,902 - 5,908 of 7,952 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2011

What a perfect hotel, absolutely gorgeous grounds and the staff were more than friendly. We stayed here for a week for our honeymoon after being in Orlando for ten days and I can't help but disagree with the comments about it being like Disney - yes it's big and over the top but people would moan if it wasnt saying that they expected more from a Hilton!! There are 18000 pieces are artwork around the grounds and this makes it lovely to walk round. Yes the three hotel room blocks are spaced out but this means that it doesnt feel like a busy city when. You're walking around. If they are closer together it would feel like you never got any time to yourself.
The tram is slow (the boat was under maintenance when we were there) but we only used this when we arrived to get our cases to the room. Bell boys are available but I'm capable of wheeling my case so did. If you are able to walk then I wouldn't suggest taking the tram arou d the hotel, there is p,entry to look at around the hotel so why bother.
You could always get sun beds at the pools and lagoon so no issues there, they also provide towels and give you a wrist band. At the lagoon, which is where we spent most of our time, you can ren body boards, pedalos and snorkelling gear but this is quite pricey. There are turtles and fish in the lagoon to swim with which was lovely.
Food is expensive but we knew this before we left as I'm sure everyone else did who chose to stay here. We ate at the Chinese and Italian which were lovely, The breakfast can be expensive eat all you want is $30 each we ate a few times from the cereal place but seriously they offer to put sweets like skittles and mnms on your cereal????!!! I don't get that at all. People expect to be tipped a lot, I don't mind tipping for dinner service but I'm not tipping someone to pour me and orange juice!
We went to the Lual which was great I would recommend the upgrade for the drinks, cocktails are $11 each so it's worth it. The food is lovely and the dancing was great, the lady serving us was so friendly I wanted to bring her home!!
Someone before mentioned having a small room, we stayed in the ocean tower and I've never known a room so big, we had a queen size bed, nice balcony, bathroom, separate sink, mini walk in wardrobe, safety depsit box, hair dryer, fridge and coffee maker.
The front desk also ordered my taxi back to the airport. No complaint I would definitely return to hawii and this hotel, I wish more English would make the trip, we saw nine whilst we were there and they're missing out!!

Room Tip: I emailed the hotel before I left with a query and they were great with efficient communication and...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Leanne111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for a week. The hotel is huge. We had to take a tram or a boat to get to the lobby. The rooms were nice and clean. The staff was very friendly. Although the hotel is not on a beach, it is next to the water and they do have a beach nearby with free transportation. Also, the hotel has a fake beach with real ocean water/ ocean life coming in, which was great for snorkeling. Unfortunately due to the amount of sunblock/ tanning lotion in the water, the water was very dirty and oily, as there was no current to clear the water. On the plus side, we did get to see a lot of fish, turtles and a stingray while snorkeling on the hotel "beach."

The location of the hotel was nice. They have a few restaurants and shops in the village next to the hotel, as well as a grocery store. The food was pretty good at these restaurants as well as in the hotel.

Everything within the hotel was pretty expensive so I recommend getting a few items in the grocery store for the room (beer, snack, etc.). Also, there isn't much to do after 10 pm. There is no real nightlife in the resort nor in the village.

Overall, we had a great time. The hotel was very comfortable and hospitable.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank IRELI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

The ideal resort for couples who appreciate history and art, as the entire hotel walkways are filled with interesting pieces. The landscaping is beautiful and the pools/lagoon offers different activities for families as well. They also have a Dolphin Quest program that allows guests to swim with the dolphins..of course with a fee.

There are many eating places near by, both fast foods and fine dining that give families a choice. My favorite was Roy's at Waikoloa in the King Shopping center.

Room Tip: If you have young children and want to spend a lot of time at the pool, request the Lagoon Towers...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank HiloAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed here for just one night in August and absolutely loved it. Everything you could want or need is right there. Even if you don't stay there you need to go visit the grounds,it is open to the public with the exception of the pools. Our view was spectacular as was the service and food. The rooms were spotless and had everything we needed. We always stay in a condo so we can prepare our own meals but for the person that does not intend to cook, it is a great place to stay. The dolphins at Dolphin quest are so enchanting, I could sit and watch them for hours. The food is a bit expensive but it's a short drive to more food opportunities.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank AlohaCheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Stayed three times at the HGVC Waikoloa Beach Resort in a 2 Bedroom Premier. Very nice, high quality furnishings in units. The body showers in the master bath were great! The location is good since there are several restaurants/stores nearby and the Hilton offers free shuttle service around the immediate area and to the Hilton Waikoloa Hotel. Outstanding service from friendly staff. Would definitely return to stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed at the Hilton Waikoloa for our Honeymoon. Although the view was amazing, the hotel grounds enchanting, I left knowing I probably wouldn't recommend the place for Honeymooners. The hotel reminded me of Disneyland. I think it is probably one of the BEST hotels for familes but not necessarily for a romantic Honeymoon. The rooms were clean but nothing special. If you stay, be aware the food is outrageously priced at all the restaurants without any superb food. Also, avoid the tram unless you catch it perfectly. Bring your walking shoes instead!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank megs0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
6.5 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
1.4 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
6.9 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
2.5 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
0.5 mi away
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Waikoloa Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Waikoloa Village

Address: 69-425 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range: $248 - $663 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Waikoloa Village 4*
Number of rooms: 1240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the aloha spirit wash over you in one of the world's most beautiful resorts: Hilton Waikoloa Village - Lagoon Tower and Palace Tower. Experience the magic of Hawaii at our hotel, an oasis dotted with lagoons, pools, water slides, a wide variety of restaurants and bars, and staffed by a team of accommodating hospitality professionals who are here to make sure you're enjoying your island time. Settle into your well-appointed guest room, explore all that we have to offer, and soak up the Hawaiian sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Waikoloa Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waikoloa Village Hotel Waikoloa
Hawaii Hilton Waikoloa Village
Hilton Village Hotel Waikoloa
Hilton Village Waikoloa
Waikoloa Hilton
Hilton Waikoloa Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing