We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice, especially for price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston Shores at Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I were looking for someplace near the great beaches of Kohala to spend our second week on the island. We were able to get into the Shores on a timeshare exchange.

We had a one bedroom unit. The unit is good sized, although the kitchen layout was very odd. Only one person at a time could get into or out of it. The appliances were new and in good shape, The unit was clean, and the bed was pretty comfortable, although the pillows were terrible. After the first night, we ended up going and buying cheap pillows at Walmart and those were much better. The shower was great, and was probably the largest walk in shower of any unit we have ever rented.

The pool and spa were well maintained. There wasn't much shade around the pool, but we were there for the sun. A-bay beach, which is the nearest beach isvery nice for hanging out at and spending the day. The public access area is better than farther down at the Marriot, Thee are palm trees to provide some shade and fewer people. If you want to do paddle boarding, or kayaking, the shop in front of the marriott is very helpful and average price. To the left of the public access and the lava lava club is a good area for snorkeling. Turtles also seem to haul up on the beach there also, we saw 4-5 each day we walked down there.

A better beach for boogie boarding is Hapuna beach about 10 miles up the coast through.

Overall, it was a good place to stay, and we would go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scott-in-Alaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAstonWCV, General Manager at Aston Shores at Waikoloa, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Aloha Scott in Alaska,

I hear it is Hawaii like temperatures in your State right now! Have a good time - we know that is an anomaly.

Thank you for your business and kind review.

I love Hapuna Beach and it's sister beach Mauna Kea. These are those picture perfect beaches that inspire people to return year after year to boogie board and "bake"!

We appreciate your recommendation and hope you return. We know the normal temps are returning to Alaska soon... and we will be here with the sunny skies and blue water whenever you are ready.

With Aloha,

Gregory Koestering
General manager
Aston Shores at Waikoloa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 254 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

One cannot eat at restaurants all the time, particularly if staying a long time. Here, they have kitchens with stoves and microwaves and an abundance of grills. Be very careful of this place when checking in after 9pm. The front desk leaves at 9pm. If you come in after 9pm, you must rely on their expertise in having a key for you in a lock box. If they say they have put your key in the box and have not (which happened to an Owner I was told yesterday), you are stuck sleeping on the beach or in your car until they arrive at 7am. So, Aston Shores: bone up on your duties after 9pm or face utter embarassment and shame. Otherwise, this is a great place and it beats a hotel...unless you like resorts and their activities.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimo688889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAstonWCV, General Manager at Aston Shores at Waikoloa, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Aloha Kimo 688889,

Thank you for your business. Thank you for the review - I appreciate that you brought an issue to light that can be confusing.

If you arrive after 9PM - you push one button at the gate and get a live person. If there are any problems I show up in about 5 minutes and make it all better. You may have spoken to an owner that did not have keys to his own unit but EVERY Aston guest gets taken care of. In over 2.5 years we have never had anyone sleep on the beach. We do thousands of late check-ins a year - 99% go without a hitch. The 1% where there is a hitch gets resolved quickly.

We are a good value and the kitchen does really help defray the biggest costs when on The Big Island (food and beverage).

Hope you will return.

Gregory A. Koestering
General Manager
Aston Shores at Waikoloa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Our reservation was for 4 adults and 2 children for a 2B/2B yet when we checked in they put us in a condo with 2 bedrooms - one with 2 twins and 1 with a king, no sofa bed. We immediately called the front desk and after 20 minutes they put us in a different condo. This one had the same 2 twins and 1 king but did have the sofa bed. My parents took the two twins and were fine with that.

The condo was dated and the dining chairs were extremely dirty and spotted as was the carpet. The first condo was much nicer but having my kids sleep on the floor wasn't an option.

We checked in fairly late after a flight from Oahu so I didn't pay a lot of attention to details that night. However, the next morning when my husband, two tween/teen daughters needed to take showers we quickly realized there was no bathroom door. This made it extremely difficult to get ready since we couldn't go in the bedroom or use the mirror to put on makeup/shave/blow dry hair, etc while some one was in the shower. The toilet was behind a door but offered very little privacy. We didn't even ask to move rooms because we didn't want to move again. Luckily we were only here for three days.

My husband hated all the ferral cats running around. It didn't bother me but I didn't want the kids by them - you never know what they may be carrying.

The good: The complex was very nice. There was an ABC store with groceries which made it easy to pick up a few items. There was a ton of shopping between the Kings and Queens shopping complexes if this is what you came to Hawaii to do. Most of the shopping at the Kings was high end. The Queens had the ABC store. We didn't use the pool but from a distance it looked nice.

I might stay here again if I could choose which condo I was in. The first one updated, clean and for sale. The one we were in was not very nice.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room before you unpack the car. Some are nicer than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAstonWCV, General Manager at Aston Shores at Waikoloa, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Aloha Donna M,

Thank you so much for your business. Thank you for the review. I apologize for the problems you had.

I am from Detroit Michigan and I am so sorry we did not get a chance to talk and get you in an appropriate unit. I am so surprsed by your review - that there was no door on the bathroom. I will get with my Manintenance Manager in the morning to check our inventory - every room (because what you experienced is inappropriate) because we have never had a complaint like this. I am not sure with our new Propery Management System I'll be able to "locate" what room you were in. If you can see your way to give me a call I'd really appreciate it.

The units are all different, owned by diferent people. Some are better than other and we only have a few difficult units left. One is putting $25,000 in it this month so that lessens the cahnce you'll get anything that will not work. Most are updated/upgraded and we do our best to present a clean unit every time.

I hope you'll return. We are working every day to improve the product and the service. maybe you will try us again and be totally satisfied.

I know it's been a mild winter in Michigan. I love Troy - a very nice place where I have several friends. But I like this place better!!!

Thank you again for everything.

Gregory A. Koestering
General Manager
Aston Shores at Waikoloa
(808) 886-5001

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The Aston Shores is a solid choice. It is close to many things, and the pool is fine. You absolutely need a rental car to stay here, which are expensive in Hawaii, but if you make a trip to Costco early on, the price of lodging/car/food/island activities can even out a bit more.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NatterTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Beautiful grounds and comfortable condo living for a few days. I was in Waikoloa for a work conference, but the hotel the conference was at was booked. Aston Shores is about a 20 minutes walk to the Marriott and shopping center on a paved sidewalk. It's quiet, safe, and has some light along the sidewalk. Bring a flashlight!

The staff at Aston were so nice and professional. Danette at the front desk was very helpful with some questions I had about the area. She's a sweetheart! The room was affordable, clean and very spacious. The full kitchen was equipped with the essentials like plates, utensils, pots, etc. The washer and dryer came in handy as I did a load of laundry before heading over the Maui for a few days.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Our trip with a little vacation a little business. We decided to stay in a condo instead of one of the resorts near by so we can have more flexibility. It was a great choice. As previously mentioned the condo was a little dated but served our purpose well. We had two bed rooms, two baths, fully equipped kitchen, balcony with a nice view and wonderful ocean breeze. The location was central to two diverse shopping areas, King Shops (high end) Queens court (moderate prices), beaches, snorkeling and much more.

Room Tip: we were on the third floor which worked out well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

We had a wonderful time. Staff was always cheerful and very helpful. It was wonderful when they offered to take care of some outgoing mail we had. Groundskeeping was wonderful housekeeping did a fantastic job Keeping our room clean and supplied with fresh towels. Emi At the front desk was always quite cheerful very very helpful for us after we need something As was the rest of the staff that was there.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dunnkinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
1.2 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
6.4 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
6.2 mi away
Paniolo Greens Resort
Paniolo Greens Resort
#2 of 13 in Waikoloa
843 reviews
2.5 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Shores at Waikoloa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Shores at Waikoloa

Address: 69-1035 Keana Pl, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5737 (Formerly ResortQuest Shores at Waikoloa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Waikoloa
Price Range: $223 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Shores at Waikoloa 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A view of the golf course can be as exhilarating as a view of the ocean. Located on the sun-drenched Kohala Coast between the King's Course and the Beach Course in Waikoloa Resort, this resort features suites and golf villas with large lanais and full kitchens. Guests have access to the nearby shops, restaurants, and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Aston Shores at Waikoloa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Shores At Waikoloa Hotel Waikoloa
Resortquest Shores Waikoloa
Shores Waikoloa
Waikoloa Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing