We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I Could Live There All Year Long”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aston Shores at Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Beautiful grounds and comfortable condo living for a few days. I was in Waikoloa for a work conference, but the hotel the conference was at was booked. Aston Shores is about a 20 minutes walk to the Marriott and shopping center on a paved sidewalk. It's quiet, safe, and has some light along the sidewalk. Bring a flashlight!

The staff at Aston were so nice and professional. Danette at the front desk was very helpful with some questions I had about the area. She's a sweetheart! The room was affordable, clean and very spacious. The full kitchen was equipped with the essentials like plates, utensils, pots, etc. The washer and dryer came in handy as I did a load of laundry before heading over the Maui for a few days.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 248 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

Our trip with a little vacation a little business. We decided to stay in a condo instead of one of the resorts near by so we can have more flexibility. It was a great choice. As previously mentioned the condo was a little dated but served our purpose well. We had two bed rooms, two baths, fully equipped kitchen, balcony with a nice view and wonderful ocean breeze. The location was central to two diverse shopping areas, King Shops (high end) Queens court (moderate prices), beaches, snorkeling and much more.

Room Tip: we were on the third floor which worked out well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

We had a wonderful time. Staff was always cheerful and very helpful. It was wonderful when they offered to take care of some outgoing mail we had. Groundskeeping was wonderful housekeeping did a fantastic job Keeping our room clean and supplied with fresh towels. Emi At the front desk was always quite cheerful very very helpful for us after we need something As was the rest of the staff that was there.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dunnkinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Sept.16 – Sept.30, 2012
AirCanada/United: TO/LAX/KONA & return

Departure from TO was @ 12:40 p.m. and our flight landed in Kona International Airport @ approx.7:30 p.m. local time. After collecting our luggage and getting the shuttle to take us to Budget Rental we were finally on the way to Aston Shores. Even though this was our 4th visit to the Big Island I programmed my GPS making Shores our “home” and this was actually very helpful as the drive on Hwy 19 is dark. It is about 16 miles to the turn off to Waikoloa Beach Drive. Reception was still open (8:50 p.m.) but they close at 9:00 p.m. (it’s a good idea to email your arrival time for late check-in information). The next morning we continued our check-in procedure. All the staff were always very helpful and friendly. Mahalo lui loa.

Our condo was #238, Bo Tree Tower, 1 bedroom, 1-1/2 bath. Large windows with verticals, living/small dining room & kitchen with bar and stools, huge L-shaped lanai with chaise, circular glass-top table, 4 chairs and 1 small round table. Bedroom with king size bed, bedside tables with drawers, huge window with verticals, credenza with lots of drawers, closets and a safe. Bathroom with double sinks and cupboards. The only negative aspect was the tub which could be unsafe getting in and out as there are no bars on the walls.

Full sized kitchen with convention oven/microwave, dishwasher (noisy and outdated and we turned it on only just before we would leave, double sink with garberator, toaster, coffee maker, dishes, cutlery and cooking utensils. At one end of the kitchen there is a piggy back washer/dryer – soap not provided.

Rona Lee, very friendly and helpful, took care of the condo. She kept the condo clean and spotless and removed the garbage every day.

There are BBQs, tennis courts, pool and spa on the property and from what we saw, these were all in good condition.

Not far from the Shores on Waikoloa Beach Rd are the Queen’s Marketplace and King’s Marketplace with boutique shops, tourist information, restaurants and grocery store. Pickup the weekly activities page. Our first morning we did drive into Kona to go to Wal Mart and Target but found it too far and decided to rather drive to The Shops at Mauna Lani and go to Foodlands for just about everything that we needed and the odd time we went to Queen’s Marketplace. Costco in Kona for wine and gas if you need these.

Our favorite beaches were Hapuna, Mauna Kea and Spencer. At Hapuna you can rent beach chairs, umbrellas, etc. for $10.00 each. We checked out Anaeho’omalu A/Bay Beach but weren’t too impressed. The State Beach to avoid is Kekaha Kai – 4-wheel drive is recommended as the roads are unimproved which we discovered after about 50 yards but decided to continue on but once we got to the beach promptly drove back in our compact car. Not worth it.

Take a drive up to Kawaikae and visit the Macadamia Nut Factory – you will not come out empty-handed! Many selections.

RESTAURANTS: At the Hilton, we took the boat to go to Kirin Chinese Restaurant which is between the Palace Tower and the Ocean Tower. The meal was good and more than we could eat. The Restaurant overlooks the lagoon. By the way, parking at the Hilton is expensive, but if you’re lucky you might find a spot on the street. You can walk but take a flashlight.

Sansei at Queen’s Marketplace serves sushi as well as other meals. The sushi was good but my Ahi was on the warm rather than hot side. If you get there between 5:30-6:00 p.m. there is a 25% discount.

Parking in Kona can be a problem. We parked at Hilo Hattie’s and walked along Alii Dr.

Huggos in Kona overlooks the ocean, reservations needed, and is a great place for dinner and if you want to have lunch there is the Rocks next door.

Bubba Gumps also overlooks the ocean and a fun place. Very reasonable.

SIGHTSEEING: Akaka Falls on the Hilo Side is worth a visit as well as Laupahoehoe Point Park, the site of a 1946 tsumami/tidal wave; Waipi’o Valley for scenery; the Petroglyphs at Puako and the ones just at King’s Marketplace. Mauna Kea if you have 4-wheel drive (check your rental car conditions) or take a tour.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank mjlori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We absolutely enjoyed our 10 day stay at the Aston Shores at Waikoloa. The rooms were so large and well appointed. Complete kitchen, with all the necessary items . It was unit 327 in the Banyan Tower and not near the pool, spa or pond pumps. I would guess the total square footage was near 900 for the unit. The pool was just about 50 feet away and we loved the spa. The area was so relaxing and quiet at night. With an L-shaped lanai and small wet bar, we liked sitting outside looking at the golf course in the distance. We could see the town of Waikoloa Village all lit up at night. Our walk to "A" beach was around 10 to 15 minutes, depending on how fast we wanted to walk and we had 2 picnic lunches there. Aston Shores is about a 5-10 minute walk to Kings Shops and Queens Marketplace, where we had a few meals and that worked out fine. I would say we will probably be back to the Shores and recommend it to travelers. Remember to map out where the Kailua-Kona Walmart is and shop there before going to check in at the Aston Shores, but be prepared; that Walmart has next to no produce. We went over the Waikoloa Village Market to get produce.(only an 8 mile drive). There is also Foodland at Waimea. As soon as we came into our unit at Aston Shores, I personally "claimed " the living room comfortable chaise lounge as my own and loved every minute of relaxing there. We will hope to be back . Mahalo to Jenny and everyone at Aston.

Room Tip: We had no insect problem on the 3rd floor. Room 327 was a corner unit with L-shaped lanai.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seat31323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennyBT, Front Office Manager at Aston Shores at Waikoloa, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Aloha from the Big Island of Hawaii!

Thank you very much for posting this review on TripAdvisor! We appreciate all of the wonderful comments you had to say about our property and it's a good feeling to be recognized for our service. We do try our best to help our guests with their requests. I will be sure to let the owners of 327 know that you enjoyed spending your vacation in their room.

When you are ready to return to Hawaii again please do not hesitate to call us directly for personal assistance.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
(Thank you very much)
Jenny Tolentino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was probably a great place, 30 years ago. It looks as though it has not been updated since the 80s. We found 30 yr old appliances, what had to be a 1st-gen microwave oven, a 25" standard def TV, and a VHS VCR. The carpet was medium brown and obviously stained. The sofas were so dirty that I didn't even want to touch them. And would it kill them to take a pressure washer to the exterior walkways and stairs? It also had a tiny, dimly lit elevator get get to upper level rooms. They have a workout room, but it isn't kept cooled. Imagine working out in a 90-degree room!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAstonWCV, General Manager at Aston Shores at Waikoloa, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Aloha Tery R,

Thank you for your business. I am so sorry about the experience you had with us. And I apologize for getting back to you so long after your visit.

The units here at The Shores were built about 30 years ago. Some have not been upgraded. We would not put you in a unit where something did not work and there are so few units that have not been upgraded - I apologize. The worst part for me is that you said it was dirty. We clean the carpets and furniture all of the time - sometimes the stains just come back. I apologzie and will check every unit in the next week to make sure we do not have the cleanliness issue anywhere.

Every unit is individually owned - we cannot demand that the owner make any upgrades but we do not rent any units like that - if we can avoid it. And if we have to rent an older unit - we put special attention into the cleaning. It is not like our team to have made such a horrible error - I am truly very sorry.

We'd like another chance. And if you decide to give us one - make sure you call me direct. I'd love to show you what we are really about.

Thank you once again and I do apologize.

Gregory Koestering
General Manager
Aston Shores at Waikoloa
(808) 886-5001

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We decided to try out renting a condo for the first leg of our honeymoon on Hawaii. We wanted low-key and no crowds. Plus we felt we could save a few dollars by utilizing a full kitchen and bbq's on site. When we arrived at the Shores we were amazed at how beautiful the grounds were kept. Both the Queens and Kings marketplace offered a variety of shopping and restaurants as all were less than a mile away from the Shores. The Shores is located behind a golf course and adjacent to the Hilton, but it is absolutely tucked away. Instead of doing any shopping at the KIngs/Queens markets (very good but very overpriced) we found a Walmart, a Target and a large grocery store about 45 minutes away where we did some grocery shopping.

Our condo was 337 in the Bo Tree Tower. It overlooked the golf course and had great sunset views from the huge balcony. It was extremely spacious and had two bathrooms with three sinks. It was furnished with mostly wicker furniture and the appliances were a tad outdated but they more than sufficed for our trip. Also included were a washer and dryer. We ended up eating in for breakfast before venturing out to the nearby beaches everyday. There's a Walmart, Target and large grocery store located by the Kona Airport so the prices are much cheaper as opposed to the Queens Marketplace grocery. The pool and hottub were very private and clean. A few of the tiles in the pool need to be replaced but its hardly an eyesoar.

Overall, if you are looking for a great bargain getaway you will absolutely get your money's worth here at Aston Shores. Another bonus, the staff is extremely friendly and knowledgable.

Room Tip: Shop at the Walmart or grocery store by the airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gerard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
1.2 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
6.4 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
6.2 mi away
Paniolo Greens Resort
Paniolo Greens Resort
#2 of 13 in Waikoloa
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Shores at Waikoloa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Shores at Waikoloa

Address: 69-1035 Keana Pl, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5737 (Formerly ResortQuest Shores at Waikoloa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Waikoloa
Price Range: $218 - $487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Shores at Waikoloa 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A view of the golf course can be as exhilarating as a view of the ocean. Located on the sun-drenched Kohala Coast between the King's Course and the Beach Course in Waikoloa Resort, this resort features suites and golf villas with large lanais and full kitchens. Guests have access to the nearby shops, restaurants, and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Shores at Waikoloa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Shores At Waikoloa Hotel Waikoloa
Resortquest Shores Waikoloa
Shores Waikoloa
Waikoloa Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing