We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont arrive at night!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aston Shores at Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
836 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 424 helpful votes
“Dont arrive at night!”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights. Its amazingly well appointed (apart from A/C).
The rooms were very spacious the bathroom huge and well laid out. If I were to offer any comment it would be do not under any circunstances arrive there at night the road signs are appalling and the location isnt easy to find (even with Sat Nav) The pool was timy but did have a "spa" bubble supply which was nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoppityskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    82
    22
    15
    5
See reviews for
98
83
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
kenwood
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We loved this top floor room because it felt quite private and the building is very close to the barbeques. The lanai had really comfortable (new) furniture. We swam in the pool, worked in the gym and played tennis almost every day. All of those facilities were maintained excellently. We enjoyed the women in the front office....they were always helpful and smiling. We liked being close to the beach and having the King and Queen's shopping centers within walking distance (maybe a mile). The bed was perfect and the condo was clean! We're planning to go again this year and we will rent the same condo.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank connie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eltham, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

A three day stay in a ground floor unit overlooking lawn and pond was a most enjoyable experience. Being fully self catering, one can either stay in, or eat out at the Kings or Queens marketplaces, a short drive or walk away. A walk to the nearby Hilton at Waikoloa was an amazing experience in itself. Naturally a car is essential. Make sure your car hire company allows you to drive on the Saddle road so you can visit Hilo or the volcano without going around the northern/coastal route. Most of the saddle road is fully upgraded so the only thing to watch out for is fog/rain. We stayed at Kona after this but the stay at Waikoloa was the most relaxing time. The pool and spa are another bonus.

Room Tip: Ground floor is easier to enter/exit and gives you more outdoor space but you might prefer an upstai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoddaSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We stayed for two weeks at the Aston Shores in March 2012 and we had a great trip. The location could only be better if it were located closer to the beach. But hey, the beach and area is super beautiful throughout and very little can be complained about. The suites are very large, as well as the lanai. It has everything you need for sure and the staff are sincere and accomodating. For those of you planning to stay at the super busy Hilton (right across the street):

I suppose if you want a holiday where you go to stay in one location and want to be waited on, go to the Hilton. If you want to spend money on being nickel and dimed for every little service, go to the Hilton. If you want a huge pool, want to swim with the dolphins and have the activities practically being thrown at you for the entire two weeks, go to the Hilton. I will tell you one thing though... You are missing the point of visiting this beautiful island! The beauty of this island is not located in a super-resort! It is out there and you need to find it, which makes this island so awesome!! Many people who pay many hundreds of dollars per night for the Hilton are not seeing past the walls of this beautiful resort and are truely missing the best parts of Hawaii. I have a great alternative: Instead of paying these extremely high prices for a tiny suite, stay at the Aston Shores! The location is almost as good (not on the oceanfront mind you) and your suite is three times the size. Our family did this, went to Costco and cooked all the food in the full sized kitchen (also with the Weber barbaques) and saved a tonne of cash. We went out and saw the gorgeous island every day and had this beautiful condo as our home away from home. Then on our last day (sad day) we had check out at noon, we went to the Hilton, paid their fee for a family room plus pool for the one day and enjoyed ourselves until 6 pm that night when we left for the airport. As we were leaving the Hilton we all agreed that having all the Glitz and glam is totally unnecessary for a holiday like this. What you need is a home location and the Aston Shores does this beautifully! Save your money and have a great place, you do have a choice!

Room Tip: We asked for the top floor and got it. This offered great views and was very quiet throughout our st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dennis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennyBT, Front Office Manager at Aston Shores at Waikoloa, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Aloha from the Big Island!

I wanted to take this time to thank you for posting your wonderful review about The Shores on TripAdvisor! You have like many of our repeat guests found the hidden gem of the area. It is becoming more popular for guests to choose condominiums during their vacations. During a 2 week stay in Hawaii, a full kitchen and a separate living room space is a wonderful thing!

I want to thank you for your support and hope that we will be able to host you on a return visit! When you are ready please do not hesitate to call on me directly and I will be happy to assist you.

Mahalo Nui Loa
(Thank you Very much!)
Jenny Tolentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathedral City, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We were lucky to have a top floor unit that had been recently refurbished. The kitchen provided everything you needed. The L-shaped lanai was the largest I have ever experienced and fully furnished as well. We felt so at home here it was difficult to get up and leave to sightsee in the morning. I wanted to move right in! The staff is top notch - sincerely friendly and eager to accommodate any need you might have. Close to everything and walkable to both the Kings Shops and Queen's Marketplace. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sunseeker69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennyBT, Front Office Manager at Aston Shores at Waikoloa, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Aloha to Our Wonderful and Relaxed Guests!

Thank you very much for writing your review on TripAdvisor! It is always great to hear when we have met your expectations and maybe a little more. Most of the staff here have been here for quite some time and we welcome everyone as we would in our own homes for the time that you stay with us! Yes, the lanais are quite large and great for relaxing during your downtime with cocktail in hand...I am very glad that you have posted about it!

Thank you again for writing this review! Please do not hesitate to call on me when you or your family/friends would like to visit our property again or for the first time.

Mahalo Nui Loa
(Thank you very much!)
Jenny Tolentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketchikan, Alaska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We just stayed this winter in The Shores Waikoloa 121 and this one bedroom unit is amazing. Totally been updated and fully loaded. The owner has really taken care of everything...even a waffle iron. This is a beautiful garden unit right by the bbq's so just walk out your back door and cook away. Convenient to walk the shops and beach. I found this unit on VRBO at a great rate. We would recommend this unit to any couple or two people that want a beautiful place at a great rate.

Room Tip: Shores 121 or 125 are the BEST deals in the whole place. Waikoloa Shores 125 is a two bedroom and W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mkbigisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We stayed at Aston Shores during Thanksgiving week 2011 with (4) adults, a one-year old and a seven year-old. Traveling with children can be uncomfortable at some nice places; not here. The units and staff were very low-key, friendly to the children and helpful to us. From the moment we arrived Danette and Char at the front desk remembered our names, suggested activities for the kids and were accommodating in all our requests. The pool was rarely filled with more than 6 or 8 people and the deck chairs were always available. The pool itself was warm, something our seven year-old appreciated after we ended the trip with 3 nights at the Hilton Waikoloa where the pools were relatively cold and the rooms noisy. The decks attached to our upper floor unit were spacious, although we never seemed to have time to use them. The second bedroom was a little small, but worked fine for two people. We cooked Thanksgiving dinner in the unit, turkey and all. It was great!
If you want a more exciting environment go to the Hilton nearby. If you want a restful vacation give this a try.

Room Tip: We stayed in an upper unit near the clubhouse and tennis court. It was quiet and secluded, yet close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennyBT, Front Office Manager at Aston Shores at Waikoloa, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Aloha from the Big Island!

Thank you very much for posting your review on TripAdvisor! I know it has been a little while for this response, but it is never too late for me to say Thank You to our customers. You have met my wonderful team members. They have been employed here for a while and are very good at making everyone feel right at home including children! Thank you for spending your Thanksgiving holiday with us! We love when people come here for special occasions....warms our hearts to know that you and your family have chosen to spend it at The Shores.

When you are ready to return to The Shores please do not hesitate to call on me or any of my team members. We will be very happy to assist you or your family/friends with any future accommodations here.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
(Thank you very much!)
Jenny Tolentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
20.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
0.5 mi away
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
2.5 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
22.3 mi away
Aston Kona by the Sea
Aston Kona by the Sea
#3 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Shores at Waikoloa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Shores at Waikoloa

Property: Aston Shores at Waikoloa
Address: 69-1035 Keana Pl, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738 (Formerly ResortQuest Shores at Waikoloa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Shores at Waikoloa 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A view of the golf course can be as exhilarating as a view of the ocean. Located on the sun-drenched Kohala Coast between the King's Course and the Beach Course in Waikoloa Resort, this resort features suites and golf villas with large lanais and full kitchens. Guests have access to the nearby shops, restaurants, and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Vacatia, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Shores at Waikoloa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Shores At Waikoloa Hotel Waikoloa
Resortquest Shores Waikoloa
Shores Waikoloa
Waikoloa Shores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing