We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Showing a little age, but still awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Bay Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury Park, CA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Showing a little age, but still awesome!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2010

We love the Bay Club, and this was our third time there. We stayed on the 3rd floor of building 1, and had an unobstructed view to the ocean (although from afar). The 2 bedroom floorplan is huge, and the wraparound deck is enormous! We ate all our meals outside on the deck, enjoying that fragrant Hawaiian air! I was a little sad to see the units had shown some wear since our last visit, and the kitchen is in need of refurbishment - especially the cubpoards. But everything was clean and in good working condition. The kitchens are all being remodeled as we speak, so there was some construction going on in the area of building 5.
We especially enjoy the Waikoloa Village area, and we love to stroll the Hilton Hotel property, which is exquisite. The Bay Club does not have swimming privileges at the Hilton Hotel property, so we swam at the HGVC pool, which my 8 and 10 yr old boys really liked. Most days we spent snorkeling at the nearby beaches, then returned to the Bay Club at dinnertime.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vaykayfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    253
    45
    19
    13
See reviews for
384
332
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2010

We are Hilton Grand vacation Club owners who used club points to stay at the Bay Club this summer. This is the thrid time we have stayed at the Bay Club and I have nothing bad to say about it. They are in the process of completely remodeling the units and have closed down I think from Bldg. 5 on up. I saw pictures of what the remodeled units and once done you really won't be able to get any better.

I toured the new Kings Land property up the street and have also seen the Kohala Resort, which is basically the same property. Both are newer but have much smaller units. The lanai's at the Bay Club are huge. They have redone the pool and the snack bar by the pool is open again. All the pool lounges have pads on them and there are plenty of umbrellas.

We were in unit 235, which was on the 3rd floor, facing the golf course and ocean in the distance. Our in-laws were in 234, right next door. We checked in first and asked nicely if they could put us together and the woman at the desk, who was very friendly, worked it out perfectly. If you are in Bldg. 1, 2 or 3, your closer to the hotel across the street and the Kings and Queens shops. The gym has also been expanded as well.

On the Big Island, I won't stay anywhere else unless I want a hotel room instead of a condo.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cabjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2010

This was our first time at a timeshare. I was worried after reading the reviews that it was a poor choice for our vacation, but I was pleasantly surprised.
What I liked about this unit:
> Spacious! Two separate bedrooms with their own en suite bathrooms and TVs! (Hello adult time!) Big patio with table and chairs and big indoor dining space (in case it's too windy to eat outside). Nice living room area with couch and two chairs.
> Quiet A/C and lots of ceiling fans.
> Great kitchen! Big double-door fridge/freezer, microwave, oven, stove, new-looking pots and pans (thankfully, I didn't have to use them!), a variety of dishes, utensils - even Tupperware containers and a rice cooker! This was a great asset as we didn't have to eat out every meal. (Gets to be a big waste of time, money and calories.)
> For $80/family you can use the pools & slides at the big Hilton resort which is 1/3 mile away. It's a cheaper way to enjoy a $500/night resort. There are three pools at the Bay Club that you can use. The one at the lobby has fountains and a slide for the kids. Pool side drinks and entertainment at two of the pools.
>I found the staff to be very welcoming, friendly and helpful. My husband had the odd conversation with an uninformed concierge, but all my interactions with the staff were great.
>Free WiFi (Tip: it seems like the cookie expires everyday, so you need to open a new browser and sign-on anew.)
>Newly renovated fitness center with new looking treadmills, a bike, a cross trainer, weights, towels, water and wipes.
>Business center with two computers and a printer - helpful for printing boarding passes, etc. (As always, be careful about logins and passwords on a shared computer!)
They were renovating the tennis courts while we were here. I don't play tennis, but the new courts look great.
You have to know that these units are older - if you need new cabinets in order to enjoy your vacation, you should stay elsewhere. That said, they are quite clean, and the paint, furniture, etc is updated. You should also know that they currently are renovating these units - expected to be complete in "early 2011". So new cabinets and flat screens are on their way. They are renovating one building at a time so that people don't have to stay in a building where there is construction. I wasn't bothered by the construction noise, although if you're in your unit all day, you'd hear the beeping of tractors backing up. This morning I noticed that they were busy at 7:00am. I suppose it depends on how sensitive you are - in the unit you have the windows closed for the A/C and probably wouldn't hear them.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SDYoungFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Level Contributor
119 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2010

The Hilton Bay Club Resort is well maintained and clean. BUT... it is a bit worn. According to our "Welcoming packet", the entire place is going to be renovated in 2011 and 2012. Our third floor 2bed 2bath condo was quite large and clean. It showed wear in certain areas. The furniture was somewhat worn. The lanai-patio was very nice. An outside wet bar was included with a table with 4 chairs, 2 lounges with side tables, etc. The main living room had a seating area with a large glass top table for dining. The kitchen was well stocked and modern appliances.
The beds were comfortable and in the master bedroom there was no door to the bathroom. This means there was no way to have any privacy in the master bathroom. There were two doors to the lanai, one from the living room area and one from the master bedroom.
We stayed in building number 4, directly across from the Bay Club Cafe and pool. There are three pools on the property. One is at the main office area, another between buildings 7 and 8, and the third across from building 4.
The cafe is supposed to be open from 9:30 to 5:30, Tues. through Saturday. They have special entertainment on Fridays from 3 until 5 with $4 Mai Tais which are normally $8.50. They were supposed to have Hawaiian pupus for snacking but when we were there, they had not decided on the menu. Nothing was available to go with drinks except chips in a bag.
The office called every day for the first three days to get us to take the 90 minute tour of King's Land, the newest Hilton timeshare resort about half a mile down the road. They left messages on our phone every morning. By taking the tour and sales presentation, they offered a Hulu Hulu card which gave substantial discounts on activities all over the island. This included large discounts on helicopter tours, etc. We drove to the King's Land resort and determined it is primarily for golf enthusiasts.
Although this is a Hilton resort, they do NOT have any connection to the Hilton Hotel across the road. We drove to the hotel, parked, and had drinks near their Dolphin tank. At this point, we found that parking at the hotel, even for guests at the HILTON Bay Club Resort, would cost $15. We were then told that our parking would be validated if we purchased food or other items at the hotel. After ordering our drinks and snacks, we were told that we would have to spend $50 to get the parking for free!!!! OOPS!!!
If you want to go to the beach, the Bay Club is not the place. In order to get to the coast, you have to park at a lot and walk between the hotels for more than half a mile to get to a rocky beach in front of the Hilton or Marriott hotels. It would be impossible to swim here. You do NOT have access to any facilities at the Hilton Hotel although the staff at the Bay Club will tell you to quietly go there on your own.
There is a shuttle that stops at various locations at the Bay Club and takes you to the two main shopping areas in Waikoloa Beach Resort. It also goes to the Hilton Hotel and the new King's Land Resort. It does NOT go to any other resorts or hotels in the area.
In conclusion, this is a nice resort... if you like golfing and like to drive. It is 20 miles to the Kona airport and 7 miles past that to the town of Kialua Kona. Everything is expensive in the resort area. Many flights into Kona arrive late in the day. We arrived after dark from LAX. Because of the telescopes on Mauna Kea, street lighting is kept to a minimum to help the star gazing. This makes finding things in the dark resort area a bit more complicated at night!!!! It is a nice resort... but not for us. We traded our regular week in Waikiki for a week here. We will go back to Waikiki next year.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChinoSJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2010

We stayed in two large units with 1 king, two full, and 1 pullout. It is billed as sleeping six but sleeps 8 in a pinch. Units were larger then expected although the kitchen was a galley type that didn't really allow for more then one person to prepare food comfortably. On the surface the units appear fine but upon closer inspection minor maintenance issues abound. Loud bathroom fans past their useful life. Toilets that wont flush without holding the the handle continuously for 10 seconds. More then one staffer was senselessly rude. Especially Enoch at the front desk. I can't imagine how someone so ill mannered can keep a service job in this economy.

This resort development sits on a vast black lava field which at first glance is very bleak and not at all what we were expecting from Hawaii. The resort itself is landscaped but much of it is just long dry grass. It really needs more green plants to compensate for the drabness of this side of the island. It was also terribly windy during our entire stay which I suppose is normal for an area with no natural vegetation. This kept us off the beach and at the main pool instead.

I came to appreciate the beauty of the lava fields and enjoyed the lack of rain. I would not let it prevent me from returning to Kona. But be emotionally prepared for your landing on "the rock"(Kona) as we called it, especially after connecting through lush Honolulu. You will be wondering how the brochures tricked you in to visiting this lifeless place. But there are many sides to this beautiful island that you can enjoy if you have a car and don't mind driving.

The resort was very quite(which I like), and it seemed like it couldn't possibly be even 1/3rd full. Free guava juice by the pool was watered down at least 50% which seems to sum up the way this place is run.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BirdmanWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2010

We stayed at the Bay Club on a recent trip to the Big Island. It is park of the Hilton vacation club time shares but infrastructure wise is a little below the typical standards. The rooms have seen better days, but are huge. In fact the whole condo was bigger than my aparment. The pools are small but they tend not to attract too many people. Its close to Hapuna beach, Waikola beach and Kona. If you're taking interisland flights I would highly recommend not flying back to Oahu on the same day as final flight leaving the state as the interisland flights are somewhat unreliable and getting flights out of Honolulu can be tricky.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zero_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2010

The units are very big, especially the two bedrooms. My only complaint is that I still can't believe there were no coffee filters or salt & pepper in the kitchen. The resort itself is 15 + miles from the airport and several miles from any towns. The restaurants at the Hilton are very nice, but pricey so prepare to spend plenty for dining out. The only grocery stores in the immediate area are very very pricey so buy anything you need in town before you get to the Bay Club. There is a COSTCO in Kona and a Safeway, WalMart, Target, etc. There is a beach less than a mile away and the shuttle to take you to the Hilton where you can walk to the shore for awesome sunsets. The current construction is a pain, but progress is messy and noisy. Just be prepared for that.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EGAD34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
1.1 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
6.2 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
6.7 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
0.3 mi away
Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations
1.8 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort

Property: The Bay Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort
Address: 69-450 Waikoloa Beach Dr, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5706
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bay Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort is a spectacular hotel on the Big Island of Hawaii and is designed to be an ideal Hawaiian haven in the heart of Waikoloa. Superbly situated adjacent to championship golf courses, the premier location of the Bay Club resort provides an unsurpassed vacation setting. Hawaii visitors staying at the Bay Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort will enjoy spacious one- and two-bedroom suites which incorporate a casually elegant tropical style and feature a superb variety of upscale amenities and furnishings. The suites offer all of the convenience of home including separate living and dining areas, a fully-equipped kitchen, washer and dryer and private lanai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Travelocity and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your The Bay Club at Waikoloa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Club At Waikoloa Beach Hotel Waikoloa
Bay Club Waikoloa Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing